We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are on a budget ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Ferreol
Ranked #41 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
bangkok
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you are on a budget ...”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

... then this is to be recommended. Otherwise don't choose this hotel. Rooms are very small, the hotel and the room interior are rather old, superficially clean but it does not feel like it. Worst aspect: we were woken half a dozen times during one night there by motorbikes, drinks and reving-up cars just meters from our bedroom window. Now on the positive side: friendly staff. But at €100 we wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brotherdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
75
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

HOtel St. Ferreol, is very centrally located, 5mins walking to the VIeux Port. It is situted on a narrow street with no parking but two blocks away there is a 5-storey parking, so no problem about where to leave your car.

The entrance is a bit strange. You have to use an electronic door with a camera to get in and there are about 10-15 stairs before getting to the reception. not too comfortable if you are acrrying luggage, but I have to admit that the employer who welcome us was more than eager to carry our bags.


Check-in and check-out was very fast. Our overall impression of the lobby was good. The decoration was up-to-date (IKEA style) but it is true that it was a bit narrow to move.


We got room No 40 at the fourth floor. Its size was ok (not exactly spacious, but still plenty of room to put your luggage.
The bathroom was spacious and clean. IKEA towels positively impressed us!!!

The impressing of the room was its carpet wall (see photos).

We were negatively impressed by the fact that there was no minibar in the room, which meant that you could not drink some cold water in the middle of the night if you got thirsty.

There was no security door (you had to manually lock it) and there was no safety box.

HOwever, the room was very quiet and its lighting very relaxing. Its overall status was modern, positively different and certainly cosy.


Regarding breakfast, it offered a limited choice of things and we found the price for it a bit high (9.5Euros/person).


To conclude with, we would recommend this hotel for short stays of couples who want to be close to the main attractions of Marseille.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thessal0niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed there for two nights on a city break. OK, so it's not the lap of luxury but it's certainly a decent hotel. I thought the reception area and lift were small but perfectly adequate (though large Americans with lots of luggage may struggle to get everything upstairs in one go). The staff were friendly, helpful and present 24 hours. The hotel and rooms were clean. The entrance has a secure entry system which automatically alerts the reception desk when you are there. The hotel is located in the main shopping area not far from the port. The area is well-lit at night and it felt safe enough walking around there both day and night. The free wired internet and their list of recommended bars/restaurants served us well. We visited Chez Toinou (seafood), La Part des Anges (bistro/wine) and Peron (fine dining) and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapperdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Let's start with the good things: although in a busy central thoroughfare the rooms were very well insulated against noise. The owner/manager and staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a good and fresh continental (for which you are charged 20% over the average).
If you look at their website to view the rooms, they meet your expectations for a 3* hotel. Frankly the biggest disappointment was walking into our room - 9 square meters, shabby, tacky decor in '70's style, mini TV box bracketed onto a wall (with minimal channels if that's your thing) and no fridge. The A/c worked well though. The bathroom was equally cramped and sad. A principle light bulb was out for the 3 day duration. A sign exhorting us to save water was stuck above the permanently dripping tap and a basket of foam bath sachets. A large broken clock was screwed to the wall along with a thermometer next to the toilet pedestal - amusingly surreal! Or were they covering cracked tiles?
The room was really a nul ou une étoile. Although little could be done about the size, many small details could offset the cheap aspects.
There are free internet facilities but they were prohibitively slow. The manager was very helpful in diagnostics and said that they would be converting to a better system soon. The general decor outside the rooms reflected the same neglect and threadbare carpets.
Over all, although we were there to be out and about in town, booking an enticing hotel for a special weekend turned out to be rather a letdown mitigated by the staff's helpfulness and charm.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoalfaceFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Very friendly hotel right in the centre of town just a short walk from vieux port. This is the man shopping street and is mostly pedestrian only, with bars and restaurants a short walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful and only too pleased to recommend where to go and what to do. The standard room was a bit small but very clean and not an issue if you're only sleeping there – big proper king bed tho! Marseille is a great place! I don’t know why I haven’t been there before now.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbartley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont,california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We booked one night at the Hotel Saint Ferreol based on the trip advisor comments. Hotel was well located but on the corner of two dirty streets. We had to lug our suitcases up the many steps to the small reception area. The rooms were extremely small and claustrophobic. One of the rooms was adequately appointed; the other had not been renovated in years. There were no smoke alarms and only one staircase. I was concerned about safety if there was a fire. The property was clean but extremely shabby. I wish we had spent 30 or 50 euros more to stay in a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastbaytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Recently stayed in Saint Ferreol hotel..
I would definitely recoomend it, location is excellet especially if you want to shop!!also only short walk from port area where there are plently of restaurants at night..we walked nearly everwhere from this hotel so saved on transport. The rooms are small but ideal. Didnt have much to do wth ethe staff but were very pleasant during our stay.We didnt opt for breakfast which i think is 8 euro extra-cheaper to eat elsewhere. Alsowhere is internet -very handy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#91 of 131 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Opéra
Hotel du Sud
Hotel du Sud
#87 of 131 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Hotel Vieux Port
#30 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
#31 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Ferreol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Ferreol

Property: Hotel Saint Ferreol
Address: 19 rue Pisancon, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Ferreol 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint Ferreol hotel is situated in the very heart of Marseille, in the pedestrian street Saint Ferreol, close to the old port and nearby numerous shops.Central location for business trip : "Parc Chanot” convention center is very accessible either on foot or by bus (n°21) and underground ( Noailles line 2). “Palais du Pharo” convention center can be reached either on foot or by bus (n°83). You will be welcomed in our 19 recently renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Saint Ferreol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Ferreol Hotel
Saint Ferreol Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing