We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Ferreol
Ranked #41 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good value, good location”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I found this hotel to be comfortable and welcoming, and definitely good value. It has a great location, very near the Vieux Port and Le Canebière, but on a small side street that isn't very noisy. The double-paned windows offer pretty good sound insulation as well, sufficient even during the Fête de la Musique. The standard room, while not huge, was larger than I'd expect for a French hotel at this price, and the shower would accommodate someone up to ~6'4" without problems (not always the case in France).

The staff were all welcoming, and kindly allowed me to use my mediocre French during my entire stay. (I did see one of the two primary mangers speaking with another guest in English, so I know he at least spoke good English.) The hotel does follow the annoying (but common in France) custom of making you drop off your key at reception any time you leave, but reception is staffed 24/7 (impressive for such a small hotel), so this isn't really a limitation. I didn't feel unsafe at night in this area, but obviously you'll want to take normal precautions for a big city.

The breakfast is nothing extraordinary, but is perfectly good: usual selection of hot drinks, bread, croissants, yogurt, cereal, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. I found it worth taking most days, and it's nice that they serve it for so long (7-11am), allowing an early start for a Calanques hike, or a lazy morning after a night out. One warning: if you make a reservation for a room including breakfast, they will charge you for breakfast every day, even if you don't take it. This was not made clear to me ahead of time.

WiFi reception was great in my room, and though there was a minor annoyance in having to get a new password for it every day, it worked fine, with good download speeds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G6p6742m11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
75
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Hotel situated right in the middle of the shopping district and a short 5 minute walk to the port. The hotel is clean and central, the staff friendly and the rooms are quaint with character.
The only negative would be the very small television which made it hard to watch the tennis and the lack of free wifi in the room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and speak good english.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jebaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Overall I m happy with the hotel,but I would not stay there again unless the rate goes down. I think 95 EUR per night without breakfast is way too much for what you get. (For example we stayed in better hotels in France (including Paris and Nice) for less). Our room in Saint Ferreol was tiny, you could not swing a cat there. Not a very large double bed took almost all room space. The bed itself was not particularly comfortable. After few days I wanted at least 1 towel to be changed and I left it on the floor. To my surprise it was picked up and put back on the rail. I think that was mean. Later I saw a sign asking to put the towels into bathtub when you want them changed. Ah, ok. Still, not impressed.
On a positive side - staff is a real asset of this place. They were efficient, professional and helpful. The room and bathroom were very clean and all equipment was working. Double glazed windows prevented all the street noise from breaking into the room from a busy shopping street. The location was just superb, few steps away from the Old Port.
Breakfast was disappointing though. Tasty and fresh, but again no value here. For 10 EUR you get a small glass of orange juice, coffee, a pastry, some cereals, yoghurt and boiled eggs. It would be nice to see perhaps some cold cuts, a slice of ham or a sausage, a slice of cheese and some fresh fruits and/or vegetables (it s summer and French markets are full with strawberries, cherries, apples and vegetables of all kind!). Almost the same breakfast (juice + pastry + coffee) is available in any street cafe for about 4.50 EUR and fresh fruits can be purchased at a fruit market located just around the corner from the hotel.
To summarise: the hotel is not bad, but I would not stay there again for the same rate. If there is shortage of rooms in Marseille in high season, hotels perhaps can command the higher rates. My advice - shop around before you pay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Saint Ferreol on a January weekend. The staff were excellent: professional, friendly and very helpful. As warned in other reviews, there are some steep stairs at the entrance and of course the elevator follows the typical French small hotel standard, it is tiny!
The rooms, as described in some other reviews, are very basic and a bit aged. This is not the place to stay if you're looking for luxury. Nothing terrible but nothing great either. It was actually, surprisingly, quieter than other hotels I've visited in other parts of France. There was no street noise and very little noise from other guests, but I was there in a low season and the hotel did not seem full at all.
I really appreciate the free wireless connection in the room, easy to connect and surprisingly good speed.
The location is fantastic, just off the main shopping area and very close to the Vieux Port.
I had a special rate of 60 EUR per night, including breakfast. At this rate the hotel was a very good value. Based on the age and decor, I don't think it would have been a good value at a higher rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is a very nice hotel -- reasonably priced and in a great location. The rooms were very nice, but best of all the staff was very accommodating -- they kindly arranged for cabs and went out of their way to make my stay very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngchgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and found this 3 star hotel to be convenient to all the tourist sights in Marseille. Rooms were fitted out well and comfortably. Hotel was very clean and welcoming and the staff was friendly and made some excellent tourist and dining recommendations. And it's just 30 feet from the pedestrian/shopping street. I would definitely stay here again on another visit to the port city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DontPanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

... then this is to be recommended. Otherwise don't choose this hotel. Rooms are very small, the hotel and the room interior are rather old, superficially clean but it does not feel like it. Worst aspect: we were woken half a dozen times during one night there by motorbikes, drinks and reving-up cars just meters from our bedroom window. Now on the positive side: friendly staff. But at €100 we wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brotherdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#91 of 131 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Opéra
Hotel du Sud
Hotel du Sud
#87 of 131 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Hotel Vieux Port
#30 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
#31 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Ferreol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Ferreol

Property: Hotel Saint Ferreol
Address: 19 rue Pisancon, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Ferreol 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint Ferreol hotel is situated in the very heart of Marseille, in the pedestrian street Saint Ferreol, close to the old port and nearby numerous shops.Central location for business trip : "Parc Chanot” convention center is very accessible either on foot or by bus (n°21) and underground ( Noailles line 2). “Palais du Pharo” convention center can be reached either on foot or by bus (n°83). You will be welcomed in our 19 recently renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Saint Ferreol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Ferreol Hotel
Saint Ferreol Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing