We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”
Review of Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a room with a terrace with an amazing view over the old port. The room was very clean and tidy. It was split up like a small apartment: entrance door and then separate doors into the bedroom, toilet and bathroom. The breakfast was ok, but everything you wanted: coffee, fresh orange juice, croissants, baguette, ham, cheese, cake, yoghurts. The breakfast was an additional 8 Euros. The hotel is rated as 2-star but definitely deserves 3 stars!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    153
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
150
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night.parked in nearby parking garage. Excellent location close to waterfront restaurants and attractions. Very friendly staff. Excellent room. Breakfast was great. We ate on roofttop patio with an amazing view of port. Room was small but clean and had very modern furniture and comfy bed. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of port
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was clean, silent and big enough for us. This is actually my first recommendation to Tripadvisor and I made it because the "Value for Your Money Index" was so good. In the middle of high season 92 € per night with this location and service level was a bit surprising :) Visit here, they earn it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muurikainen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recently renovated, spotlessly clean, great location bu Le vieux port, top roof terrace, and great staff. Yes, the rooms are a bit on the small side, but why would you want to sit in tour room with so much to see and do so close?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel has a top location directly at the vieux port (old port) in marseille!
It looks nicely and the rooms are clean, not too big but big enough. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean! The staff is very nice and helpful!
The best thing is the huge terrace the hotel has, accessable for every guest, with chears, tables and sunbeds. The view from there over the old port is amazing!!!
The value is great, as this area is rather expensive regarding hotels!!
They also offer breakfast buffet for 9€ per person ( we did not use it).
We had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginaba1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Marseille for three nights during the first weekend of May. Being Americans, we forgot at the the start of our trip planning that this would be a rather expensive time to stay in the south of France because of all the French holidays clustered around this weekend.

So we were very happy to find this more-reasonably priced hotel in such a prime location. Sure, the rooms are small. But they are clean, and there are extra blankets and pillows. There's daily maid service.

The clerks are very polite and helpful. Of course, English is not their first language, so it's helpful to try some phrasebook French. But they handled our reservation email correspondance well and I found their website to be informative enough that we could easily navigate to it ourselves from the airport (we took the Navette and then the Metro).

This place is in a prime location, right on the old port. It has fantastic views, and the rooftop balcony is a lovely space. It has a 10 euro/per person breakfast available, which we didn't take advantage of because of jet lag and because we thought this was pretty expensive... But after two weeks in the region we realized this is a fairly standard rate.

You can walk everywhere from this location; we discovered several funky neighborhoods just a few blocks in either directions. Plus there are tons of food options along the port (which get a bit less expensive if you walk a few streets 'in' from the water). The tourism office is just two blocks away. Also, there's a hop-on-hop-off tourist bus that you can pick up right outside of the hotel.

Some of the reviews which are from summer 2012 and earlier mention that the port area is under construction and may not be safe. I'd like to state that it is a lovely area now, and that Marseille has done a great job renovating itself ahead of being the 2013 Cultural Capitol of Europe. The old port is clean, well-lit and has great market stalls set up.

I can't think of why the cost-conscious first-time tourist in Marseille would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rizosrubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently went down to Marseille for the UK Bank Holiday weekend and stayed at the Hermes. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. I arrived around 11am and had 4 hours to kill before I could check in, but it was worth the wait. Helpful staff, lovely interior of the hotel and brand new extremely modern facilities. The room was on the 4th floor with the window overlooking Le Vieux Port and if I stuck my head out the window I could see up high the Notre Dame de la Garde watching down over Marseille.

The room itself was a touch small but very manageable, although I noticed the walls are only made from gyprock/plasterboard and could hear the neighbours next door talking and opening doors. This was fine once i got to sleep, but was noticeable. Otherwise I absolutely loved the Hermes, the PARTY PIECE I would have to say is the 6th floor Roof Terrace, which offers simply stunning views of Le Vieux Port and the surrounds. Also a great place to work on the tan and sip some beers or wines depending on your preference. There was a big event on in the port this weekend to celebrate the European Culture Capital of 2013 - Marseille. The port was packed full and treated to a flame display all around the port and on the water, I took refuge up high and watched it all unfold down below from the roof terrace.

The room - great air con, great bathroom/shower, nice flat screen TV on the wall, double glazed windows, comfy bed. Only thing missing is a small fridge in the room. But that is a small issue. For the location you WILL NOT find a better deal in the Vieux Port. Would stay here again, i fell in love with Marseille. Easy to see all the sights from Hermes and to do the boat trips to the Calanques and Chateau d'If the lovely girl on reception gave a card to obtain a 10% discount which was great.

Definitely stay here if you go to Marseille, great hotel, great location and great staff.

Room Tip: If you cant afford a Terrace room ask for a room that has a window facing the Vieux Port when you ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes

Property: Hermes
Address: 2 rue Bonneterie, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#10 Business Hotel in Marseille
#16 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing