We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
68
170
153
94
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
170
153
94
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location vieux port noise insulation located hotel fish market nice hotel huge bathroom great city clean bathroom the air conditioning stayed here for one night restaurants and bars late at night short stay buffet breakfast glazing stops
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 556 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

First visit to Marseilles and booked a one night's stay at the Grand Tonic Hotel -it was so very disappointing. Room was advertised as "superior" however on arrival we were shown to a very small back room which was anything but "superior". Small, shabby, dark and dingy are the adjectives that spring to mind.
When we complained the receptionist said that had we wanted a better room we should have asked for a "privileged" room and not "superior" !.
Room was supposed to be suitable for disabled access - however the bathroom was so small I would be most surprised if you could manage to move a wheelchair around.
Hotel is situated at an excellent location at the Vieux port - but for the price they charged and the room/outlook we got - for me it was not value for money.
Breakfast was reasonable but staff seemed a bit over-worked.
Would definitely not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: At this hotel - Superior rooms actually mean basic - Privileged must mean slightly better ??
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeolus-chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in April 2013. We paid for a superior room, but the room was extremely small and 'tired'. Finish on furniture was chipped and burn marked and there was biro/pencil scrawl on the wallpaper above the bed. There were also fitments on the toilet seat missing. No problem with the staff, they were very pleasant and helpful and the cleanliness was fine. For a four star hotel, however, we felt that it did not come up to standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location couldn't be better. It is at the Vieux Port, within walking distance to a lot of restaurant and bar, old town area and more. The bus up to NotreDam de la garde is around the corner from the hotel.

The hotel is not huge, My room is nicely renovated, good size and comfortable. No noise even is near main thoroughfare. I did not experience the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is well located as just on the "Vieux port" of Marseille but once you get in, it looks a bit shaggy. Rooms are nice if you manage to get the view on the portyard, otherwise it is a little gloomy. The staff is ok but was surprized to see a waiter cutting his nales on the terrace where people have breakfast!Not professionnal at all!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank john_south2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location is excellent. It overlooks the vieux port which is wonderful. Just minutes away from great restaurants and the main shopping streets. The room felt a bit cold at times and unfortunately it was not possible to increase the heating. Room was spacious but the windows on the top floor are quite small.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors have much larger windows thus giving a nicer view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews