We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #101 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Short stay, 1 night but I would not stay here again. It sucked that there was construction EVERYWHERE which probably took away from the beauty of it, but Marseilles in general is very ghetto.

The hall smelled weird, the hotel room AC was NOT cold or strong, so we basically sweat the entire night which made it uncomfortable. The hotel tried to move us which is why I bumped it to 3* rating, but the room they tried to move us to was even hotter.

It is close to restaurants etc, but the reception guy told us not to go out too late bc the city is just completely ghetto and we could get mugged.

All in all, I think there are better finds if you are looking to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 481 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Despite looking a little dated from the outside, the hotel is well worth a stay. Great location (once the outside road works are completed), and lovely view if you go for a harbour view room. The rooms are modern, bathrooms spotless and free wifi. All they need to do is put in tea/coffee in the rooms ! Would definitely stay again. Parking is not available, but there is a public carpark near by at a very reasonable daily rate. (there is no swimming pool)

Room Tip: harbour view rooms are good (not noisy at all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have had a short but very nice stay in Marseille. Good hotel with good lokalisation. We will come back anotheer time to spend more time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank moodyblueMarseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been nicely renovated while keeping the outside facade. I had a room overlooking the port but there was no noise at all from the busy traffic and building happening outside. Friendly and helpful receptionist. A great location especially when the Vieux Port upgrade is complete. Great restaurants in the back streets - 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank kathyliuwang
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night in March. The location was perfect, right in front of the port where you can get the ferry to the If Island. Staff held our bags as we arrived early and then again the next day after we checked out. The room was good sized with a great modern bathroom, everything was very clean. It is a little loud as you are in the center of town, and the rooms were hot with no working air conditioning so opening the windows was a necessity, but this was the only issue. Breakfast was not included, but there are tons of restaurants all around the port.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kath91982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is directly located at the Vieux Port of Marseille and has nice rooms overlooking the old harbor. In front of the hotel, there's a ferry station where boats bring you to the historical Chateau d'If. We had breakfast at the hotel which we found well-varied. The rooms are large, well equipped and well isolated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Maison Montgrand Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 43 quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $81 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the HEART of Marseille, on the Old Port, the Grand Tonic Hotel proposes to welcome you in 56 design rooms equipped with high-tech equipment: flat-faced screen LCD, Wi-Fi access, individual safe deposit box, mini bar, air-conditioning. In each bathroom, a whirlpool bath-tub invites you to the relaxation. In 16 of these rooms, with view, you can add the old port blue to the screen. You have also at your disposal at the Tonic Hotel 2 rooms of seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing