We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel directly at the Vieux Port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #100 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is directly located at the Vieux Port of Marseille and has nice rooms overlooking the old harbor. In front of the hotel, there's a ferry station where boats bring you to the historical Chateau d'If. We had breakfast at the hotel which we found well-varied. The rooms are large, well equipped and well isolated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 490 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel since I stayed at another hotel from the same chain in Paris a couple of days before. The hotel is conveniently located at the View Port (Old harbor) of Marseille. A metro station is just around the corner as well as the big avenue "La Canebiere". Here you can shop, have lunch, get a drink or just enjoy the city vibe.
The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean, spacious and the ones facing the Viex Port have sound-proof mirrors. I advise to pay the extra fee to get a room with a view on the old harbor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were looking for a hotel close to restaurants and shopping and this location on Le Vieux Port was excellent. We found a great deal online for our trip to Marseille in February. All the staff were friendly and helpful and gave us great tips for nearby restaurants. They also have a restaurant next door that is quite good. We ate there one night. The buffet breakfast is expensive and although it was great and had everything from bread and pastries to eggs and ham it was more than we wanted in the morning so we went to one of the many nearby cafes for coffee and a croissant.

The rooms were well heated with adjustable temperature controls. I would have liked more than a thin blanket and half coverlet for the bed in the winter though it would be perfect for summer. The rooms were fairly quiet with double windows but it is a busy area so some sounds did come through but not unbearably so. One complaint though is all the lighting was rather dim due to the heavy decorative shades on all the lamps. I like to read before bed and we ended up removing the shade to get enough light.

I would stay there again if I could find a room for a comparable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nice location in front of vieux port (old port) of Marseille, normal room for France (but not very small) but good bathroom, quiet location (on a side street), practically no lobby at all, a PC is available free of charge for guests, avoid the breakfast (about 16 E/per person) which is served in the tiny restaurant of the hotel and is of poor quality- even the croissants are cold and stale, a second cup of coffee was extra charged.It's better to try having breakfast at one of the cafes across the street-one capucino, one fresh croissant around 6 E/per person.Location near a big parking place, the fish market,the flower market and little train station. Also near Gallery Lafayette and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela12G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Excellent location (le Vieux Port), reasonably quiet, very good service, well appointed room, modern bathroom, many good restaurants close by, ...
Don't believe the outrageous price posted at the reception desk: book through the Internet and enjoy a very comfortable stay for a very reasonable price.
The only minus point concerns the breakfast buffet, which is OK, but nothing to write home about (don't even try the scrambled eggs, though: neither look, nor feel, nor taste will remind you of the real thing).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street (rue Glandeves ?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Tonic (odd name!) is on the corner of the Old Port at Marseille, and extends for four floors above the McDonalds and Smoothy drinks outlets at ground level. A two minute walk behind the hotel brings you straight into the restaurant quarter with, as you would expect, specialising in the days fish catches. There is also underground parking withing a 4 minute walk as the hotel has none itself. 24 hours parking costs 10 euros - not unreasonably in the centre of such a large city. The hotel has a small ground floor reception, and the staff were helpful enough. The rooms are adequate and the bathrooms. although small, are very well equiped. Ours had two types of showers to choose from, marble surfaces, copious soaps and shampoo, and plenty of hot water. The Hotel was warm but we could not get the A/C to cool the room, and the hallways seemd to smell slighly musty - possibly because they are so airless these days. The beds have blankets / sheets and not duvets - perhaps a little old fashioned these days? The breakfast was priced at 16 euors per person, so nigh on £30 for two seemd a little expensive and we gave it a miss - there are plenty of delightful coffee shops all around the hotel to have a classic french coffee and croisant. Summing up - an inexpensive hotel right in the centre of Marseille and an ideal base from which to explore the city.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back and very quiet. Those at the front will have a wonderful view - but might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PyttsPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We arrived late for a two night stay in mid November. The weather for warm for this time of the year. Very pleasant service was my first impression. We were hungry and the hotel restaurant was not open, but we were guided to a very reasonably priced three course meal for 17 Euro - very acceptable by Danish restuarant prices.
Our room was sound-proof and the seaview of the habour was excellent. The breakfast in the morning was surprisingly very disappointing, but the service was good. I would recommend the hotel and it location for a busuness trip or romantic stay.

Room Tip: All location, close to the Metro and easy get from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonicParis, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Guests,
We thank you very much for your customer review. It always helps us improve our quality and our services.
We remain at your disposal and look froward the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Tonic Hotel Marseille
Very Truly Yours
The General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Maison Montgrand Vieux Port
Best Western La Joliette
#37 of 132 in Marseille
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 43 quai des Belges, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the HEART of Marseille, on the Old Port, the Grand Tonic Hotel proposes to welcome you in 56 design rooms equipped with high-tech equipment: flat-faced screen LCD, Wi-Fi access, individual safe deposit box, mini bar, air-conditioning. In each bathroom, a whirlpool bath-tub invites you to the relaxation. In 16 of these rooms, with view, you can add the old port blue to the screen. You have also at your disposal at the Tonic Hotel 2 rooms of seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing