We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille
Ranked #46 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Clean, in a good location near metro station and Parc Chanot. However, if you are arriving outside of the opening hours of reception it is quite annoying to check in. We had a mix-up wth keys due to this system. Staff were helpful in fixing this. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Citadines Marseille Prado Chanot is very convenient for attending conferences at the Le Parc Chanot/Palais de Congres complex, which are less than 700 m from the hotel. There's a firestation and a hospital across the street but noise was never an issue (except the one night that someone in the hotel had a party on their balcony). The staff is efficient and friendly.

As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are quite basic, not fancy but functional. It's great to have a kitchenette, with fridge, stove, and small dishwasher. There are lovely boulangeries, supermarkets (e.g., Monoprix), and restaurants/cafes on the nearby Rue de Rouet and Ave de Prado and plenty of shops further afield. One feels like one is in a typical Marseille neighborhood; the downtown Vieux Port is only a short metro ride away (Metro stops Percier & Rond Point du Prado are each
about 700 m from the hotel) and the Prado beach with Le Parc Borely is only a short bus ride away (or a longish walk, about 2.5 km).

The one negative issue: upon arrival, there was an (undated) note near the elevator stating the air-conditioning was broken and would be fixed tomorrow. Over the course of 1.5 (very hot!) weeks, the air-conditioning - at least that in the the apartments themselves - was never fixed (it did appear to be working ok in the lobby area). The weather was, according to the locals, unseasonably hot at the time but that unfortunately that just made the unair-conditioned hotel rooms seem that much more uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyMollyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

The Citadines is hands-down the worst hotel experience of my entire life. I am here in France for summer school and the hotel was booked by one of the professors at the school in Marseille. Upon arriving, I quickly realized that the room which they said fit 3 people, did not, in fact, fit 3 people. It was tiny. I asked if they had another room and said that I was willing to pay for it. They said there were no more rooms. It turns out that one room reserved for two schoolmates that weren't coming was available, so I asked if I could have it. The girl at the front desk said she would have to check with her manager (?) and that if I came back the next day she would let me know. I made it VERY clear that I wanted the room and wanted her to reserve it for me. She said it would be fine. The next day I came back and she seemed to not know who I was, and said that they booked the room because the people who had reserved it didn't show up. The manager came out and blamed me for not being there first thing in the morning to ask about the room even though I had specifically told them I wouldn't be here in the morning and they said the afternoon would be fine.

Not only that, but they only gave us 2 keys to the room of 3 people, and since the elevator was broken you had to have a key to climb up the stairs and get into the building. Turns out they had a 3rd key but didn't give it to us until we asked another front desk girl a week later. The elevator has been broken the entire time I've been here, even though they said it would be fixed the "next day" which was 2 weeks ago. Our room is on the 7th floor. The air conditioning has also been broken since I've been here and they keep saying it will be fixed "tomorrow", which I guess is French for "never". In order to attempt (and I do mean attempt) to keep the room from feeling like an oven we have to open the patio door (which locks on you if you close it from the outside, btw) and the front door. Well, the security guard just came by and told me we have to keep the door shut. I was just sitting her silently and apparently that is a security issue. So now I have to sit in a hot room with no air conditioning and the door closed.

The management has been rude and unhelpful, everything in the hotel is broken, and nobody seems to care. I'm stuck here for another 9 days to finish school and since they forced us to pay in full up front, I have no choice but to stay. I sincerely hope someone considering staying here will read this and change their mind. At least then something good will have come from this horrible experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank savagemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We have stayed at Citadines aparthotels before, together in Paris (Montmartre… very nice place, see our review) and one of us has stayed at one in London, so we booked this with no hesitation, the pictures of the building with balconies giving onto a grass garden looked good (same pictures as on this site).

Location was awful: in between 2 metro stations, far from the old port and from the beaches, we made good use of the 3-day transport passes we bought. The area is not interesting, just a couple of cafés/restaurants. The street it's on is grubby and also includes a hospital, a fire station and an unemployment office. Fortunately, neither ambulances nor fire engines made too much of a noise.

We had asked for a 2-room apartment with balcony, garden side. Although we did get the apartment, the view was of the parking, some abandoned warehouses and construction sites. In the far background, we did see some nice mountains which provided a suitable Provence sunset view.

The reception area is clean and cool. Breakfast is available, but we didn't try it. Reception is closed at night.

The apartment itself was small, the décor uninspiring at best. There was a sitting area and a separate bedroom, an entrance/kitchen, a bathroom, a separate toilet and a balcony and the air-conditioning worked, even with the full sun and heat of the day.

The furniture and decor had seen better days, in particular the sofa in the living room, which was covered in brown leather-look plastic which was torn. The double bed was not comfortable and made my back ache in the mornings.

Flooring was lino… I have not seen flooring like that in a 3* hotel before. The loo looked terrible. The balcony was grubby and small with ugly plastic furniture. The common areas were … common.

All in all, it was sort of OK… we ate there a few times, on the balcony, slept there, but the longer we stayed away from it the better we felt. In a better location, we may not have been so critical of the place, but a 3* it is not.

TV channels... only BBC World and CNN in English.

There are much better located places to stay in Marseille… We will not go back to this place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ET_n_Mungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hegarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
priscillapons, Front Office Manager at Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Notre chambre avait la vue sur les immeubles ...
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stéph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine G, Directeur général at Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Nicodestras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludivine G, Directeur général at Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Castellane
Citadines Castellane Marseille
ResidHotel Grand Prado
#95 of 131 in Marseille
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Giniez
B&B Hotel Marseille Prado Velodrome
Seven Urban Suites Prado
#64 of 131 in Marseille
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille

Address: 9 boulevard de Louvain, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $70 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing