We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sightseeing, architecturally impressive.”

Cathedrale de la Major
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.56*
and up
Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If
Ranked #14 of 229 things to do in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,491 reviews
1,977 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,284 helpful votes
“Wonderful sightseeing, architecturally impressive.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Walking through the streets of the historic center of Marseille and not so far from the "Vieux Port" I came across by chance in front of this impressive architectural work, I was not totally aware of it and I can admit that at the first sight I was astonished.
The exterior of this impressive church is nice and spacious it is also close to the sea and you can enjoy a fantastic view, you can visit the wonderful interior as well.
I don't know if I was lucky that day, but during my visit I've seen just a small group of tourists, this means that this place is not frequented by mass tourism, much better so at least you can enjoy this spectacle quietly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    598
    158
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mediterranean church”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

While this may not impress you if you have seen many churches in Spain or in Italy, the richly decorated Cathedrale de la Major is still worth a detour, with many interesting architectural details. From the outside it is imposing and has an oriental touch (so to speak) that makes it stand out among french cathedrals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eelstork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“de la Major”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Old restored portside cathedral is massive and impressive...one of the largest in France, and convenient to visit along with the new port museums

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charmless and kitsch”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Grand from the outside, decayed on the inside. Little charm, lots of litter and really nothing to see. There appears to be many empty spaces that need filling with something, but they just don't know what. If you like kitsch and tat, a 'model village' of what I guess is supposed to be Bethlehem has been purpose-built to fill a gaping space to the left of the altar. The Virgin Mary and Joseph are simply deliciously bad taste and cheap with their necks wrenched by a stable door. In all, a good clean and a sense of purpose would benefit this place, which may happen once the new shopping centre next to the cathedral throws open its doors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank odeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took a bus from the cruise port to the city (#35 - 1.80 euros) and short walk after, we found ourselves in front of this marvelous church. The outside is very impressive, but the inside is even better. Wonderful frescoes on the walls and roof, quite interesting setting. You can walk for a good hour inside just admiring the details.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank farrierjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedrale de la Major also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Cathedrale de la Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing