We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My GOD”

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.44*
and up
Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Small Group Tour of Marseille
More Info
$111.77*
and up
Small-Group Day Tour from Marseille to Aix-en-Provence, Cassis and Marseille
More Info
$88.24*
and up
Marseille Shore Excursion: Full Day Tour of Marseille by Electric Bike
Ranked #1 of 237 things to do in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My GOD”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We did not get the chance to walk inside the Basillica like i would like as we got there when they where celebrating mass and we did not have much time left to spend so only took a quick look inside .

View from the Basillica at the city Marseille is outstanding as you probably get the best view of Marseille from the top of the hill ...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,202
    2,318
    243
    30
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Go by petit train”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I took the Notre Dame de la Garde sightseeing tour on the petit train for 8 Euros. Whilst there is a commentary and a number of things to see on the way the highlight of this trip is Notre Dame de la Garde. The views are fabulous, but so is the cathedral, particularly inside. It is reminiscent of the mosque in Cordova with its red and white theme, but far more decorative in between the red and white. It is the best thing I have seen in Marseille after 3 days here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing Basilica with fabulous views over Marseille”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived in Marseille by Holland America Cruise Ship and choose "Marseille Highlights Tour". Part of the tour was to visit this Basilica which we could see on the top of the hill from the harbour. We were not disappointed with our tour and enjoyed our visit to the Basilica which was one of the most beautiful I have seen. There are many steps to climb at the site but well worth it to also see the most beautiful views over Marseille, the coast line and the islands just off the coast. You would be crazy not to visit this place!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryll M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Perfect view of Marseille”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the best spot to view Chateau d'If, an island fortress made famous by A. Dumas' famous novel, The Count Of Monte Cristo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank YeDimapilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The views of Marseille and surrounding area are spectacular from this point. A visit to Marseille would not be complete without coming to this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing