We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facade, but not as inspiring as many other cathedrals on the inside”

Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.79*
and up
Marseille Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Small Group Tour of Marseille
More Info
$113.70*
and up
Small-Group Day Tour from Marseille to Aix-en-Provence, Cassis and Marseille
More Info
$89.76*
and up
Marseille Shore Excursion: Full Day Tour of Marseille by Electric Bike
Ranked #1 of 251 things to do in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful facade, but not as inspiring as many other cathedrals on the inside”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The trip up the hill is arduous and parking was difficult. Overall, a must see, but felt as if the effort was more than the result.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,414
    2,409
    250
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A beautiful building at a wonderful vantage point overlooking the caost line at Marseille. If you are feeling energetic it can be walked but there are other options

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The highest point of the city”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is on the highest point of the city, so basically you could see the golden statue of the Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde from everywhere in Marseille. In order to have a close-up view of the church and see the interior, my hubby and I decided to walked straight from the old port to the church that windy morning. We walked through many small streets and bending roads of the Marseille city and kept going uphill. It’s not really tiring, but the wind was so strong that it kept blowing my long hair from one side to the other. For about an hour, we reached the church. It has a magnificent view of the whole Marseille city. Besides going inside the church, we stayed quite a while outside looking at the city from different angles despite of the windy and rainy weather. It is a nice sight-seeing spot which should not be missed when you visit Marseille. The local people told me that they see Notre-Dame de la Garde as the guardian and protector of the city. How amazing!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be prepared to hike”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We didn't realize how high the attraction was on a hill, OR that you could actually drive or take a bus up there! A little winded when we reached the top, but the view was completely worth it. An overlook of Marseille and the clear, blue Mediterranean coast. Absolutely beautiful inside, as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A must see in Marseille: Do not miss at all!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thank Goodness I went up the Hill to see this place! It is worth a thousand visits and more!! I got dropped off at The Panier in Marseille, where almost everyone goes to! From a distance, a magnificent looking Palace over towered the entire city, this was something I had to see. So I took the train from The Panier, costs around 8 Euros for a 1.15 hrs ride along the city of Marseille to the Noctre Dame Basilique. This toy train is a fantastic ride, with guided tours in French, English and Spanish as we cross by the city. The views are gorgeous and one can actually get to savor the city.
The Basilique de Noctre Dame is perched on top of one of Marseille's tallest Hills and sits perfectly perched to offer panoramic views of the city from all sides. The Dome is made of 30,000 gold leaves and shines away in glory from far away. As you approach the building, it strikes you at once with its grandeur and architecture.

Inside, you can go and see the Church, The Basilique and an extraordinary calmness as people from around the world pay homage by lighting candles. The domes inside the Basilique are exquisite and you can spend hours just marveling at its richness, detailing and history. The walls have history of bygone eras and one can actually spend an entire day marveling at its past. Once outside, the entire city of Marseille comes to life...with its 360 degree views, this place is worth every visit.
The place is very well maintained and it has a Cafetaria, well maintained toilets and the trains and buses ply every 20 minutes back to the city. There is no entrance fee for this place....so savor the richness of France in every way! Fantastic place for photography and history buffs!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Basilique Notre Dame de la Garde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing