We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Rome et St Pierre
Ranked #122 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated close to the Canebière; the Old Port and the Marseille Tourist Office.
The Reception staff were helpful with directions to restaurants and local attractions.
The check in and check out were very efficient.

The bed was comfortable.

The bathroom has a sit in tub, with a shower extension, but no shower curtain.
Not easy to have a shower standing up without soaking the bathroom floor...

The room looked over the interior yard, and so there was no traffic noise.
As it was cold outside, we weren't bothered by the restaurant extraction smells or the view of the inside yard which has been used as a dumping ground for the last few years.
The windows were single glazed and, because they are at least 50 years old; warped and a little difficult to close.
The last time that any major decoration was made to the hotel must be back in the 60's or 70's.

There was a certain character to the hotel;
The rabbit warren mixture of staircases and passageways between the different buildings;
The tiny lift for one person somehow squeezed into one of the stairwells;
The shabby chic of the solid wood, almost antique, bedroom furniture that looked like it had been bought at many different house clearance auctions.

One surprise was the stink of cigarettes which permeated the place during the day.
This came from what we suppose was the Manager's office just next to the Reception.
Aren't all smokers supposed to smoke outside nowadays?
Isn't there the possibility of being fined for not respecting the no smoking laws, or even having the establisment closed down?
The stench of cigarettes was not so obvious at night, when we came back from dinner. The air always smelled of anti-smoke air freshner....

You get what you pay for:
We wanted somewhere quiet to sleep that was close to the centre and not too expensive.
That's what we got, as well as the character of the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishmaninParis129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    27
    32
    24
    49
See reviews for
8
45
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel has an excellent website, but as soon as you walk in - Rude Awakening!!! The rooms are very dirty and in a terrible condition. The sheets are not changed, and if they are, they have stains on them. There are no shower cabins in the bathrooms. We asked for a different room, however, after being offered 2 different rooms, we realized that each room we saw was worse than the previous ones. We couldn't stay even for one night - left immediately and found a different hotel in the vicinity. The smell was unbearable as well; the hotel needs major renovation and cleaning. And of course, we had to pay for it anyway. Coming into such hotel after an 8 hour flight is just extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sevim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

A really old hotel and the condition was not great... bathroom was old but the bedroom decent...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannakis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I did not actually choose this hotel myself ... someone must have had it in for me. The "Rome" part of the hotel must refer to Julius Caesar - he left his bed behind when he left here two thousand years ago! They still have it - and his pillows too! Careful with this bed - this relic does not attach to the headboard and will bang about it you lean back on it - you will have to jump out of the bed to switch off the TV as the remote control does not work. But dont turn off the TV - as then you will hear the overflow running outside your window all night onto a tin roof below! Strange toilet in one room and the wash-hand basin in another. The shower unit itself was much in need of updating - just one step up from a hose on a tap. Needless to say come 8am I was out of there - did not stick around for breakfast - found a much nicer 2 Star Hotel just round the corner from the Tourist Office - which was fantastic. Enough said. The decor in Pierre and Paul was just horrible - it was like a Scottish "doss" house - I wouldnt have put my hamster in it. But just loved the orange dayglo cushion on the old chair.. It wasnt shabby chic - it was just horrible... breakfast I couldnt comment on that - I was long down the road with my suitcase... and bliss in a cheaper 2 star hotel... with free internet access, power showers, a comfy bed and cool modern styling.. Take a tip just check out that nice wee hotel just around the corner from the Tourist Office near the Old Port Harbour...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeBasilRathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Booked this hotel for £53/night from hotels.com. I was looking for somewhere cheap and close to Saint Charles station to sleep only. The hotel is a ten min walk from the main train station just off the main La Canebiere street. The walk from the station was fine and well lit, as was the area where the hotel is located. I felt safe during the walk at 11.30pm. The hotel room was a little larger than average but the bathroom was a bit tired looking. The windows were open and there was a lot of noise from the street. When I shut the windows, I heard nearly nothing from the street as it had secondary glazing. The website states the rooms were renovated two years ago. I don't think this was the case as the decor looked quite old. However, this place was perfect for the night and in a good location and I would stay here again at the price I paid.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank po2tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Easy walk from St. Charles train station in Marseille. It was in a bad part of Marseille. If you go to the hotel, STAY THERE. I was pick pocketed even being careful - stick your wallet IN your pants! The reception desk is one flight up, so don't take too much luggage! The staff was very nice. The room was small with two twin beds. There was a 13" TV, which was fine. The bathroom had a sink and a shower (that was small!) The toilet was in a separate closet, and there are plumbing issues at the hotel - you have to flush 5 or 6 times... The air conditioning was fine, but you'd better be tall to be able to turn it on! The view out the window was scary and looked into an alley. The hotel was noisy with doors slamming, people chattering, etc. I cannot recommed it because of the location.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NASCARFLASH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

I was there for my job, so I did not choose or pay directly my room.
I was in room 412 : 2 single beds on 4th floor.

Goods :
- a nice decoration : old style furniture, not fake
- large room
- hotel located in center town : very convenient
- quiet good view : I could see a bit of "La Bonne Mère" church

Bads :
- the elevator is not available from the entrance of the building : you have to go 1st floor with your lugages. And this elevator is working about 50% of the time : so if you are at 4th floor with heavy lugages, forget about it !
- bad sonic isolation between rooms
- bad smell in bathroom sometimes
- 1st nights were very cold : the old-style radiator was not on yet in the building. The wool covers I used were very thin and very... old... When I asked the manager about the radiator, he said : it is not "on" yet, not even apologizing
- some members of the staff are very friendly, some other less
- WIFI is ultra expensive : don't pay for this !
- breakfast is very expensive for what is served, which is minimal and of not high quality
- my single bed was not that confortable
- big troubles of pressure and hot water in bathroom ! hard to even take a simple shower

I guess that for this hotel, it kinda depends on which room you have. I was a member of a group of people staying there, some of my colleagues had very noisy or dark rooms, they had to change. Some had bigger rooms, more confortable.

But all in all, for the price asked, which is more like 84 euros for 1 double bedroom, I could not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ikatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#37 of 131 in Marseille
170 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#92 of 131 in Marseille
64 reviews
Opéra
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#74 of 131 in Marseille
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 131 in Marseille
432 reviews
Opéra
Hotel du Sud
Hotel du Sud
#81 of 131 in Marseille
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome et St Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome et St Pierre

Property: Hotel de Rome et St Pierre
Address: 7 cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Rome et St Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Rome et St Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing