We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great value,dreadful service”
Review of L'Esquinade

L'Esquinade
Ranked #1,601 of 2,194 Restaurants in Marseille
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great value,dreadful service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We went there on 9 April also had awful service. Not so much getting served but being able to leave. The €15.00 menu was excellent, the boulabaisse almost as good as Le Miramar at €59.00. However our waiter was run off his feet while 3 barmen had a laugh and joke begins the bar. We waited longer to pay than have a 3 course meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buster205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    100
    77
    68
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appalling service!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Though the €15 menu seems like a good deal, the terrible service was enough to make me wish I'd paid full price elsewhere. Upon arrival, the older man hosting was rude to us when we asked about the ingredients in the bouillabaisse (we speak French fluently so the stereotypical distaste for English-speaking tourists demanding English responses was not to blame here).

Our actual waiter was nice enough but very unattentive. He did not come around at all to check on our mains (a friend's tuna steak was very overcooked and she ended up just leaving it because no one came around). If that wasn't enough, we waited more than 45 minutes after our meal to order sub-par dessert, after being passed many times by several staff members (including the rude host who stared blatantly at our empty plates and came over instead take a wine stand that had been there since we'd arrived). When our waiter finally came, he had to return 10 minutes later because he'd forgotten our order.

It was especially disappointing because our starters were delicious and we were expecting much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate here on our first night out in Marseille after spending lots of time walking around trying to find somewhere which looked nice and had a nice looking menu. We entered the restaurant where the staff greeted us and were very friendly and attentive they could tell we where English after my poor attempt at French and was looked after by the waiter who spoke very good English and assisted us with interpretation of the menu.

I had a bouillabaisse which was on the 15 euro menu which was tasty and the fish very fresh, my partner had a white fish which was delicious followed by an apple tart and sorbet, the menu was great for what we paid and would recommend this place and as the evening went on a lot of the locals ate here which is always a good sign, total bill for 3 courses each and beer £40.

I can see that people complained about the service however it was a laid back atmosphere chill out and get into the Mediterranean groove and stop being so English and savour the food and your holiday if your that bothered go to a fast food place!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyG741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food ok, service terrible”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to this place for dinner and at first the waiter was quite attentive (the restaurant was still empty). We got our order in and the food didn't take too long to come out. We got fish and fish soup which both was ok but certainly nothing to rave about. The fish, even though filleted still had a fair few bones in them. While we were eating the restaurant filled up and that's when the service team started to lose it. Our plates were not taken off the table and neither were we asked if we wanted desert or coffee. We requested the bill multiple times without anyone making an effort to actually bring it to the table. After more than half an hour we ended up going inside to pay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, Mediocre Food.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

There were only 3 Servers handling the main dining room, the patio and an upstairs room. We only saw our Server 3 times - when he took our order, when he asked if we wanted dessert and coffee, and when we had to flag him down to get the check. I ordered the sliced roasted breast of duck. I thought breast meat was lean? There was a strip of fat on each slice which accounted for almost half the meat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Esquinade also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Esquinade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing