We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few hours in Marseille? Linger over lunch and take this train”

Petit Train Marseille
Ranked #27 of 225 things to do in Marseille
Attraction details
San Diego
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Few hours in Marseille? Linger over lunch and take this train”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

95% of why you would take this train is that it’s an easy way to get up the hill to Notre Dame and its great views of Marseilles. There is little to see along the way and the audio soundtrack reflects that. Nonetheless, you do get a sense of part of the city. Unlike some other French tourist trains that keep you aboard for a complete circuit, you are dropped off at Notre Dame. Return trains arrive regularly, so you can spend as little or as much time atop the hill as you want.

Marseilles is an important city for many reasons, but I learned none of them taking this train - perhaps the other train that almost no one recommends covers this. On the other hand, it was an affordable, pleasant trip to the top in a city that seems to have little to offer a tourist with little time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    282
    93
    33
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overview of Marseille”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the best way to get an overview of the city and a bit of the History. Much better value (€7.00) than the hop-on-hop off bus (€18). Good frequency too. Get on outside hotel ville (city hall) in Vieux port. 2 routes available - do both - but if ou have time for oly one do the one that goes up to Notre dame.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janecbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I took this train in Mar. cold but one of the few sunny days. The trip to the Church had spectacular views of the Mediterranean and forts. The view of Marseille from the church was fantastic. The church was beautiful and this was a great way to see the sights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Andalucia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient way to see coastline”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I took this train ride to see Notre Dame de la Garde when I had a time crunch. I enjoyed the train ride and the beautiful views of the coastline on the way up. The tour included a brief audio dialogue in French, English, and Spanish. They played some music as well. We had a 25 min break at the basilica which was good for a brief visit. If you wanted to spend more time there, you could take one of the subsequent trains back down. Very convenient. For the price, I think it was a good value. A simple tour, but good for people short on time and money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Too cold in February”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The sights were breathtaking but when we went in February, the wind was blowing too strongly, which made it harder to fully enjoy the sights. If the train were more closed in (like the one in Toledo) that could have enhanced the experience. The commentary was quite poor too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kartini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Train Marseille also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Petit Train Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing