We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome
Ranked #90 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure Prado on a business trip, and wouldn’t go back. It was a three star at best, and that’s even being a bit generous. The rooms were small and dark, which was a bit depressing, the shower had left a lake of water on the floor after every shower, the headboard was a piece of painted plywood that was screwed to the wall (with the screws still visible), and the breakfast was terrible and €18/pp.

On a positive note it was very clean, he staff was friendly enough and it was an easy walk to the metro station and convention center. The restaurant across the street (Un Jardin de Ville) was also wonderful!

I visited a colleague staying at the InterContinental. If I ever return to Marseille, I’ll definitely being staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear,

By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Marseille Centre Prado.

Yours sincerely,

Stéphanie Grataloup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 359 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I made a reservation using my mobile phone in the morning and i got back a confirmation code by email few minutes after.... very good deal for a last minute booking! Once i get in the hotel around 8 pm they have not let me check in ! because there has been an issue with my credit card ! They did not contact me by phone... and they tried to sell me a higher full price room anyway while i was standing at the desk... and the rooms where still available!!!!! Instead of managing the problem , they did not care about my issues with international sims. I was very shocked also because it is not my first time in a mercure hotel. SO probably the hotel is good and affordable... but the way they haven't manage my problem makes me think they are not pro. And not even serious. I will not stay in a mercure hotel for the rest of my life. I do not trust this company anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carbonarofelice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear,

By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Stéphanie Grataloup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked the hotel via Hotwire at a reasonable rate ($100 per night Canadian). Let me start and end with something positive. The location is good, being a 20 minute slow walk to the beach and perhaps 6 or 7 to the Metro that gives reasonably quick access to the hustle and bustle of the old downtown.

Hotwire described it as 4 star and while I know the rating system, particularly in Europe, is a little liberal, I'm afraid this is one of the few that I have run across that didn't come close to its descriptor. The lobby is somewhat worn as are the rooms. If you are not fond of smoke, this may not be your place. It really permeated the bedding and certainly permeated the air while trying to sleep. For those who care about WiFi...extremely frustrating as it seemed to cut out every 5 minutes.

Perhaps the most disconcerting part of the stay was having my iPad and iPod stolen. Normally I do not leave such things out in the room but in one moment of foolishness did leave them plugged in to be recharged and when we returned in the evening it was gone. The staff determined no one but the cleaners and their supervisor entered the room so i can only deduce that someone waited for the opportune moment for the cleaner to do the washroom and they dashed in and out. Don't get me wrong such a thing could happen anywhere so I not going to be overly critical of the Mecure.

We reported the loss to the manager who was suitably sympathetic but said from the Mecure's point of view there was nothing they could do for us unless we reported the theft to the police. While understandable, this is something I suspect most people would not bother doing given the time and hassle. We did however decide to report it to the Marseille police.

So let me finish with the good. We found the staff to be be friendly and helpful. The Mecure paid our taxi to and from the police station. The Marseille police were very efficient and even with a language barrier did all they could to accommodate us and provide paperwork we could give to the Mecure.

So, having returned home, we wait to see if the Mecure will, act to deal with our loss claim as they have promised. We trust will be the case and will further update this review to let you know what happened.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModestCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear customer,

I thank you for sharing your opinion concerning your last stay in Mercure Marseille Centre Prado..

I am saddened that your stay was soiled by the stole of your IPad and I present you my most sincere excuses.

Your file is treated by our insurance company and we shall return towards you as soon as possible.

I thank you for underlining the sympathy of my team and I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Marseille.

Best regards

Stéphanie Grataloup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elisabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely clean hotel, close to old port. bit disappointed when we visited bar was being refurbished so was not open. Lovely to have coffee making facilities and fridge in room so did compensate for temporary closure. Ideal hotel for short break. Staff helpful, breakfast fab would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 176michellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear customer,

I want to inform you that your comments concern the other Mercure situated on the Vieux Port.

I recommend you to write again for this hotel.

Best regards

Stéphanie Grataloup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had to make a 1 night stay in Marseiile and being the first time to this city, I read about narrow streets and lack of parking space. Given that I came by car, I was browsing for a hotel in the heart of the city with parking space. One of the first choices turned out to be this Mercure. The website to which I am about to complain said that the hotel is in the heart of the town, overlooking the port, has swimming pool and it's own parking. Anyway, it was misleading information and I ended up arriving at an okay hotel 4 km from the main attractions and no own but public parking they work with. which is closed on the weekends. Anyway, I could find another one also next door.

So, hotel has no scenic view, lobby is typical for a budget hotel, no porter of course. The check in though was quick and efficient. The reception lady was very kind and helpful giving me directions how to get downtown.

My room was on the second floor. Poorly painted walls, smelly and stained carpet in the corridor. The room though was a contrast. Very clean sheets, clean bathroom, coffee and tea available. Small tv and limited channels. Next day I checked out.

Free internet is a great plus

Anyway, this is a good hotel for people on budget and who have more time to explore the town. Metro station is 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Perhaps look for higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentBizTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear customer,

I thank you for your comments further to your last stay to the hotel Mercure Marseille Prado.

I am saddened that the website on wich you have made your booking gived you bad information about the hotel.

For any other reservation I recommend you to book on the Mercure’s web sites .
I thank you for your positive comments concerning my reception staff and the cleanliness of the room.


I hope I can receive you very soon in the hotel Mercure Marseille Prado.

Best regards

Stéphanie Grataloup
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The service was impeccable. The receptionist was so kind, as she provided my friend and I (2 students backpacking through Europe) a discounted price and free breakfast. The room was a luxury and the breakfast was phenomenal. If you are planning on staying in Marseille for a few nights, this hotel is perfect for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zogdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieGRATALOUP, Directeur général at Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear customer,

I thank you for taking time to give us your feed back on your last stay in the hotel Mercure Marseille Centre Prado.

It is always a great pleasure and pride for my team and myself to aknowledge such comments, your satisfaction is a reward for us.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon in Marseille.

Best regards
Stéphanie Grataloup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Giniez
AC Hotel Marseille Prado Velodrome
Adagio Marseille Prado Plage
#71 of 131 in Marseille
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Giniez
B&B Hotel Marseille Prado Velodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome

Address: 11 avenue de Mazargues, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Saint-Giniez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $92 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel featuring 100 airconditioned and soundproofed rooms. Ideally located only 200m from the Parc Chanot Conference and Exhibition Centre and the Rond Point du Prado metro station, the hotel is also within walking distance of the Prado beachesand theVelodrome Stadium. Meal service is available in rooms or even on the terrace. Other features include meeting rooms, business centre and indoor public pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Marseille Centre Prado Hotel Velodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Marseille Prado Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Prado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing