We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, modern room in top location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Simple, modern room in top location”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed here after Christmas 2010. The hotel is located at the very center of the city. We had a little balcony with a great view of the harbour and La Cannebiere shopping street, no noise inside. Room was modern and simple, bathroom very small but clean.
Breakfast buffet was good and not expensive compared to outside alternatives.
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuppyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    433
    64
    7
    10
See reviews for
128
470
49
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aquitaine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille. The rooms are ample and incredibly clean, recently renovated, quite contemporary. The service could not be better, so kind and helpful....exceptional. The location is perfect at the corner of the Canebière, near the harbour, all restaurants, shopping - all the good brands - around the corner in the Rue Paradis. The metro is and the tourist office are across from the hotel. The beaches are at hand with bus 83, which makes a beautiful tour along the breathtaking coast for only 1euro50. There are some good restaurants like Michel and Miramar for bouillabaise, a steak/ fries could not be better than at the l'Entrecote du Port and for the coquillage I would go to 'Chez Roger'. Breakfast in the hotel was great and well supervised to make sure that we were not short of anything. Thank you so much people of Escale Oceania, one cannot expect more of a hotel. WE WILL RETURN.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montagnac-sur-Lede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Hotel situated in prime position right outside Vieux Port.
Perfect for everything
Rooms well furnished, modern bathroom etc
Ony gripe was I requested double bed but got two singles

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank cfcglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Loved this hotel. Modern, spotless, great location, good price.

We stayed here for a night in September in a superior room for 119 eu a night. The room was a good size, had modern decor and was very clean. It was so clean that the toilet brush was clean and the underside of the tub drain cover (which I knocked) was clean. The bed was big and comfortable. It's well laid out and very practical in terms of where to put your suitcase, your clothes, a desk, etc. Flat screen TV with lots of channels, BBC1&2, etc. It's in a great location, right at the harbour. We had a corner room with two big French windows that looked over the street and the Bourse and when they were closed you couldn't hear any noise. We didn't notice any noise from the hallway. There was free wi-fi in the room. Breakfast wasn't included so we didn't have that. The bathroom was modern and the shower was good. The people on the front desk weren't exceptionally friendly but were nice and helped us to get a taxi to the ferry port.

We had a car and parking was easy, behind the hotel there is an underground car park for the shopping centre. I think it cost about 11 eu for a night.

The only negatives I would say are that there was no fridge in the room and also no safe, which is unusual.

There is no sign of the construction that other reviews mention. This must be finished.

We were only there for a night but what we saw of Marseille we really liked. Attractive buildings, clean, lively, lots of nice bars and restaurants on the harbour and elsewhere. We had a nice lunch of bouillabaisse at Oscar on the harbour. Nice shops. The train station is very cool and worth a look, if only to get a view of the rest of the city from it.

I'm sure we will be back for a longer stay in Marseille and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debi.in.london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Oceania for 2 nights. It's centrally located right in the middle of the port and off the busiest street in Marseille. Because of that it is very loud! We had a room facing the Port (which was a nice view) but very loud and we had to use ear plugs to sleep. Also, they were doing construction on the building so it was very ugly and dusty. You cuold barely hear the noise and it was only during the day, so that was helpful.

Pros: Great location, nice view from room, front desk friendly and spoke english, CHEAP, clean, seperate toilet and shower area, decent toiletries, good AC in room

Cons: LOUD!, NO safe in room!, small room (even with the deluxe room), breakfast not included, ugly construction going on

Overall, it's a decent hotel if you only need to stay for a day or two. I would only recomend it if you are there for a short visit. Give up the view for a quiet insdie room. I think I would stay elsewhere if I ever returned to Marseille, which I highly doubt since I did not care for the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilove-europ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction
You will have safe in superior room yet !
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Had booked two nights in May. On arrival in Marseille, the old port area was completely closed off for a number of hours. Was unable to get anywhere near the hotel. On phoning the hotel I was told to leave my car on the road, grab all my luggage and use the Metro to get to the hotel. Not on for a 72 year old. After more phone calls to the hotel I eventually had to cancel my booking and depart Marseille. The hotel had known of the closure for some time. After a long battle, the hotel will not give me a refund on the money paid in advance. What a miserable hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigtravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Responsable réception at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
I'm sorry you did not understand that when you book through a travel agency, you must cancel, modify or get a refund from the travel agency and not the hotel ...
greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

The service was very good, staff helpful and pleasant. The room we had was quite small which really surprised me, I was expecting it to be bigger from the photos. However everything was kept clean & the quality of everything in the room was very good. I particularly liked the shower. Also we would have liked a complimenery tea/coffee tray in the room. On the negative side we were very disappointed to see the building (bank) below the hotel being demolished, it looked just awful. No mention of this on their website; having said this we were not disturbed by any noise during our three night stay, but it did nothing for the appearance of the hotel & therefore would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escale13, Direction at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction
Now the refurbishment of the bank is finished and the front of the hotel is bright
Looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Mama Shelter Marseille
#12 of 131 in Marseille
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Property: Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing