We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, view and great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Perfect spot to start my first visit to Europe. Chose hotel completely based on Trip Advisor, photos and maps, it exceeded all expectations. Had a Superior Room with harbor view, perfect little balcony to enjoy morning coffee. Hotel has been very recently renovated--as has much of the Vieux Port area of Marseille. Extremely clean with very modern bath. Was pleasantly surprised by the large size of the room and how very quiet it was in a very busy area. The breakfast was very well stocked with a large variety of food, highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nomimalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for giving your opinion on our school
and will welcome you during your next visit.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 997 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great modern hotel, LOVED that it had no carpet very hygienic when no carpet. All hotels should be made to remove carpets. Great idea to have toilet and shower in separate rooms. Nice view of the port, was only part view of the port but this was made very clear when room was booked. Still part view was very pleasing. Sound proof rooms couldn't hear a thing from outside or from the breakfast room which was right outside our room. Fabulous selection of items to suit all for breakfast. Public car park just across the street. Ask reception to validate ticket, saves you a few euros. Only negative comment there was no safe in the room however, reception had a safe for us to use.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene_Bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Customer,
we thank you for giving your opinion on our school actually has an excellent location in the heart of the old port of Marseille.
We hope you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. You are right in the middle of everything. The staff was excellent. The room was clean and well kept. Spacious enough for 2 people for a few nights. Small but functional elevators. 20 twenty min. cab ride from the train station (St. Charles). 30 minutes to the cruise terminal. Many restaurants with varied food choices. On weekends during the summer many vendors occupy the port area right outside the hotel. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdole45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Customer,
we thank you for giving your opinion on our hotel
We hope you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel with pleasant and helpful staff and clean rooms. The breakfast provided in the hotel was good value and tasty with a good variety of food. As others have commented it is in a great location for exploring Marseille and only a ten minute walk from the railway and bus station. Aix-en-Provence is a good trip - it took us only about half an hour on the local bus which went every 20 minutes and cost 5 euros single. If you are planning a trip to Cassis by bus please be aware of the odd bus times with no buses either way between midday and 5pm. The trip up to Notra Dame del la garde on the little train is well worth it with spectacular views of the coastline on the way up and at the summit where you can stay if you wish and catch a later train back.

Only one negative - when we went for a meal at Chez Noel (one of the restaurants recommended by the hotel) the food was good but the service was appalling. We were informed by a waitress before we had finished our meal that the table had been reserved and we felt that we had to leave before we were ready to do so and were also charged double the price for the wine before we pointed this out. Do not go to this restaurant!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a side view of the old port from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffBluebird53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Customer,
we thank you for giving your opinion on our hotel
We hope you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff at this hotel were excellent - very friendly and efficient. The hotel was very clean. The hotel is perfectly located steps away from the port, great for our one night stay. We were steps away from the water, craft fair, great restaurants, boat and bus tours. From our balcony were were able to watch bands playing at the port and the stunning view of Notre Dame. Our room was a little cramped for two - but was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was self-service, but they had everything.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetotravelDL92sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Customer,
we thank you for giving your opinion on our hotel
We hope you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Location was very strategic. It is almost the centre of all the action. Almost at the door step there are the vieux-port, subway station, bus stop & shopping. The tourism office is just 1 block away. It was so convenient that we can return to the hotel as we required. The customer service were excellent even before we arrive. We booked the cheaper room but requested for balcony & port view which they immediately replied giving description of the room we booked. Thus we upgraded to superior room- slightly higher rate but we are all satisfied. View of the port from the balcony is nice. Spacious room.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel on room description. They are very responsive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmjayGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Customer,
we thank you for giving your opinion on our hotel
We hope you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in July. The property was quite small, but we are very pleased with our room. It was big, clean and had a nice view of the city. We had a superior room. Breakfast was wonderful- warm
eggs, bacon, coffee, pastries. Location was perfect - in the middle of the city, all walking distance to shopping, port, restaurants and subway just across. While there, check out the Notre Dame Church and best place to eat Le Cafe de la Paix cafe. Check it out!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwright121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Customer,
we thank you for giving your opinion on our hotel
We hope you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $91 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing