We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week stay at the Escale Oceania hotel in the Vieux Port and can only say that it's ideally located. Metro stop is right opposite the hotel. Staff were helpful especially the young man on night duty when we arrived late at night. He still took time to point out to us various exhibitions being held and their location and how to get there. Rooms are kept very clean and breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 998 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very friendly welcome and advice on the local area. Good sized rooms with nice ensuites - we were on the 6th floor and it was ok - though not a lot of natural light! The vieux port is a busy and bustling area so help navigating your way through it all is really useful! Greeted warmly by reception when entering and exiting the hotel. Good location - but do get out past the vieux port to the JFK rd to see the beaches, le panier and the cathedral.

We wanted to find more authentic restaurant / attraction choices and found these through here and lonely planet. We also did a day trip to provance that picked up near the hotel which was one reason for booking this venue. Best to avoid area south west of the St Charles station and use the metro to get instead (although I had no major issues when I walked that area on arriving - it was uncomfortable) as there were large numbers of 'unsavoury' people gathered / approaching me for spare change etc. which can be slightly intimidating if you're a tourist, especially in the evening. We did not have breakfast - there are other options in the area. On the whole pleased with the hotel choice and would recommend.

Room Tip: I thought 6th floor was ok - but was using hotel as a base rather than spending large amounts of tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dst103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

When rating this hotel, you need to remember that it is 3 stars and relatively inexpensive. What makes it good value for money is: Location, Location, Location…

The reasons it is a good place to stay are:

- Location: It is right on the port (30 seconds walk), and close to Metro and 2 major car parks
- All the basics are provided (no luxuries)
- Very Clean
- Helpful staff
- Has a 20% discount deal with 2 nearby car parks (Euro 16 per day)
- Price – for its location it is reasonably inexpensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have spent 3 nights in this hotel. the location is so convenient, so close to the vieux port, tours starts, restaurants, museum, supermarket, tourist office, even the train station. The personnel was great, always looking to help. In our case, we asked for a calm room, without the view on Notre Dame de la Garde, but it was so nice, big room, 5th floor, in the shade, air conditioning important in July and not available in all hotels, with a view on the port.
The only remark we have is about breakfast, even if it was not a surprise, we have to pay an extra 11 euros for it, why don't we have all included?
Please keep your prices, if we have another opportunity to visit Marseille, for sure will make a reservation at the Oceania.
A couple from Switzerland

Room Tip: Some rooms without the view on Notre Dame de la Garde, are bigger, calm and in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaaaaazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel offers good value if you are in Marseille for a short stay. It is located right near the city port for easy access to all the bars and restaurants you could wish for. There is no car parking so park in one of the car-parks near the Port and walk to the hotel to save a lot of stress as the roads and traffic around the port are very busy.

The room was spacious and cool, very quite given the location with access to free wi-fi. It reminded me of a Premier Inn. Basic but a great bed and shower which is all you need if you plan to spend little time in your room.

The breakfast is good too, plenty of choice and better than some 4 star hotels I have visited.

Room Tip: Don't try and drive to the hotel door, use one of the nearby car park and walk to the hotel to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnfbobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, over the 14 juillet weekend. The first problem was with the free wifi - it had broken down on the Saturday, and would not be fixed till the Tuesday - hence no wifi for the whole of our stay.

The room was basic but clean - the sound insulation was good, as we couldn't hear any noise from the Breakfast Room, which was directly across the corridor. Breakfast itself was good for a 3star establishment.

We had paid a supplement for a view of the Vieux Port, but it was not explained to us that this was a view sideways from the small balcony (there were no rooms directly overlooking the Port).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear customers, actually there were some concerns wifi during your stay but the IT department was quick to fix them quickly. Our institution has a side view of the harbor from the balcony of the Superior rooms, this is what is actually shown on all internet sites because we do not have a front facade of the harbor, our hotel is on the Canebiere. Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a nice little hotel for bed and breakfast. Don't stay on 6th floor if you want a view of the port though. Nice people, service good. Breakfast very good. Recommend for price and location which is immediately in front of the port, metro and buses. Rooms on small size but updated bathroom and location compensates. Careful about opening windows and the Mosquitos though as they are rife in July

Room Tip: Level 4 or 5 port view or side street ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Manager at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for giving your opinion and look forward to welcoming you again at Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $92 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing