We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, nearly 10:00 at night after 25 hours of travel, we were graciously greeted in English and when we asked if any restaurant nearby was still serving dinner, the staff immediately pulled out a map and directed us to a wonderful brasserie about 30 meters away. They provided information about what to see and what was happening around town. The room was clean, the shower fantastic, and free Wi-Fi which worked flawlessly. A great value for the money.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the port, but are slightly nosier due to traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel and know that we did not do what we do best, welcome you.
Looking forward to welcoming you at Escale Oceania during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 998 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel Escale Oceania on May 12, 2013. Just got in from a long flight from Chicago to Amesterdam, Amesterdam to Marseille France. My sister and I have been traveling since May 11, 2013 from Chicago. By the time we arrived we were exhausted. To my surprise after retreiving our luggage we found out the train went within steps of the hotel. This saved us over $50.00 euros. Once we arrived at Oceania, our rooms were ready. We had a room with a terrific view and a balcony (was not charged extra for it). Very clean and a abundance of towels. The hotel is located steps away from the train station, and right in the middle of town. Oceania is close to clothing shops and multiple cafes are all within a 5 minute walking distance. There is even a currency exchange (for exchanging currency from dollars to euros) right down the street. Across the street from port. You can see various yachts and boats that are docked and the locals who are just chilling out. I do not think this hotel would be good for children, I did not notice any pool. The hotel does offer breakfast. I thought it was a little pricey, but they do offer you a good selection and variety. This would be a perfect hotel for couples or in town for business. Only drawback, the television does not offer an english option. All shows were in French. But you could say hey you were not coming to France to look at television anyway. One other thing, the staff was very accomodating and spoke various languages including english. I would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for giving your opinions on our business and we are happy that your stay has brought you satisfaction.
We have many TV channels in English including BBC World and BBC 1, but there were some problems with reception in May that are now resolved. We also have Russian channels, German, Italian, Spanish etc. ...
Looking forward to welcoming you at Escale Oceania during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is around 5m walk to the Vieux Port walkway. The room was of a high standard, and immaculate. It was cleaned every day, and we had no problems with the quality of cleanliness. The staff were also very attentive, and answered our questions about the port plus surrounding areas. It made for a fantastic base for which to explore the surrounding areas. It was a little noisy at night, however with the windows closed the noise was barely noticeable. The lift was a little small, however my wife and I had no problem negotiating the stairs (there are only 6 floors in total). It is right opposite the Marseille metro system, only two stops away from the main train station. The hotel is literally opposite the Metro entrance. There are lots of restaurants in the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room facing the Vieux Port for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for giving us your review and are happy that your stay in our hotel was pleasant.
Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here in April and found it to be very comfortable and clean. The staff spoke English and were very accommodating, even letting us check in a few hours early when we arrived sooner than expected. A great option which was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yerong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for giving us your review and are happy that your stay in our hotel was pleasant.
Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Escale Oceania Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent five days in Marseilles staying at this hotel while visiting our daughter who is studying there. The hotel is well situated on the front at the old port in a busy area. Although it gets busy we found there was not a lot of noise . The hotel is soundproofed, to limit the sound of traffic outside. Ideally situated across from the blue metro allows easy access throughout the city. We travelled to Castellane on the metro and then jumped on the bus which took us direcly to our daughters residence. We were impressed by the frequency of both the metro and buses and by how easy they were to use. If you intend to use these forms of transport while you are there look at the different passes you can buy eg unlimited use of all transport for three consecutive days is about ten euros! A 24hr pass is 5 euros etc.
On arriving at the airport there is a bus which runs every fifteen minutes to St Charles station and from here the metro accesses the rest of the city. The cost of the bus is about 8 euros.
At the hotel we were greeted by friendly helpful staff who spoke English and put our poor knowledge of French to shame.The reception is on the first floor while the rooms are situated from the third floor up and can be accessed by the small lift or if you feel fit the stairs. Not sure if this is suitable for whealchair access as the corridors are narrow , however contact thehotel to check this.Our first impression of our room was the size it was on the small side.However it was a base and was very clean, warm and very comfortable.There were two tiny balconys which you could stand on but not sit out on.For those looking for a sea view I think you would have to ask to ensure this as we looked into the street and to be perfectly honest we didnt mind this.
We didnt use the restaurant in the hotel, my husband didnt realise he had booked room only, but out in the port there are plenty of eating places where you can get breakfast, or for about 11 euros you can have breakfast in the hotel.
The hotel provides free wi-fi which is easy to access and having read a prior review regarding tv channels there is BBC1 and 2 in English.
A word of warning take good care of you handbags and money etc as there seems to be a problem with pickpockets but we had no problems whatsoever.
I would definetly go back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScotlandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for giving your opinion on the hotel and the city of Marseille.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay at the Escale Oceania.
See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Highly recommendable hotel, excellent beds, right in the center of the town. Good amenities (only shower, no bathtub). 15min from Gare Saint-Charles. Very nice and friendly hotel staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supersane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for giving your opinion on the hotel and the city of Marseille.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay at the stopover Oceania.
Some rooms had bath tub just ask for it at the booking if they are available
See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My fiancé booked this hotel for a 3 day break in Marseille and I was pleasantly surprised,the location was fantastic for everything from bars,shops,restaurants etc.We both loved the hotel from top to bottom,the staff were very helpful and friendly,the rooms are very clean and tidy,and the bed was very comfortable.From the balcony you can look left down the main strip and look right to the harbour,at night this looked amazing with all the lights.
Heres the small moan,if you have a bit of spare time before you go out,dont expect to watch the TV in English,you have channels in French,Italian,Spanish,Russian(yes your reading right lol),Arabic,and south American..
I would highly recommended the Oceania and would love to go back there when the weather was warmer as for another stay..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leigh1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Directeur at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for giving your opinion on the hotel and the city of Marseille.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay at the Escale Oceania.
Don't worry we have several english channels to like BBC but perhaps when you came
there was a diffusion problem.
See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $92 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing