We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
eDreams
$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com$215
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,137)
Filter reviews
3,137 results
Traveler rating
1,838
779
324
115
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,838
779
324
115
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar swimming pool turn down service large terrace old harbour breakfast buffet is valet parking concierge port luxury france euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 3,137 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2019

If I could, I would have given this hotel, 2 1/2 stars, but I rounded up. The location was good, the food was okay but very expensive, the view, if you have one of the old fort and the harbor was spectacular, the service was very lacking. Everyone was very nice, but they never followed through with requests. We were there 5 days and after depleting our in room coffee on the first day we asked every day for it to be replenished and it never was. Our mini bar was not replenished, the shower had black hairs in it and mold in the ceiling. The concierge Veronique was very good and pointed us in a couple great directions for dinner. The pool was extremely crowded and service once again was slow. The breakfast upstairs in the morning was fairly good but not even close to worth what they charged. We are on a 3 week vacation and don't mind spending the money for what we expect to be a great experience. In this case, we spent the money, but the experience was mediocre at best.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Court C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Dear Mr Court,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion after your stay with us, and have wanted to discover our hotel.

We are very sorry to read that your experience in our hotel was not up to your expectations and we apologize for the unfortunate inconvenience encountered during your stay that are in no way representative of the quality of service we strive to offer to our customers and which made our reputation.
Finally, be sure that your feedback regarding your experience was considered with the greatest attention with our direction.

The satisfaction and the well-being of our guests is the most important for us, be sure that it is a huge disappointment to read that you could not enjoy the exceptional experience that we work every day to offer to the guests who give us the honour of staying with us.
We look forward to have the pleasure to see you back soon for a new experience at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port.

Best Regards,
Nassima.A
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Everything was perfect, the room, the staff, the breakfast, the view from the rooftop....

All you can expect from a Sofitel can be provided by the Vieux port hôtel. It will be our choice of destination if we come back again to Marseille.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 852didierr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Dear Client,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt looked after.
Your satisfaction is by far, our priority and nothing could make us happier than a satisfied customer.
I will be very happy to share your comment with all your team.


We sincerly hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in Marseille.

Best regards,
Nassima.A
Room Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

We stayed at this hotel in July, very nice hotel, spacious and elegant rooms, nice terraces but some traces of rust probably because close to the sea,
the breakfast is extraordinary because really complete,
the small problem is the size of the pool compared to the number of rooms, pool really ridiculous for a hotel of this standard,
pity

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

Stayed here in a nice terrace room for the Bastille day weekend, the room phone did not work and could not be fixed over the weekend, the communications regarding the weekend travel disruption were extremely poor and access to the pool (owned by the Novotel) was blocked necessitating a journey via the basement, the road, and car park to get there.the attitude to these problems was dismissive for a hotel of this price (the concierge said, 'we are not 5 star only 4 star')

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank johnm986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Dear JohnM,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share with us you experience at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port.

We are very sorry to read about your experience with us and find out we did not answer to all of your needs. Your feedback is very important to us and gives us the opportunity to become better.
Please rest assured that your comment has been shared within our team and we are taking all the measures necessary to improve the points mentionned.

We hope that it did not affect your entire stay and that you will have another opportunity to stay with us again in the future, in order to offer you a better experience.

Kind regards,
Nassima A, Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

A big thank you to the concierge Veronique who recommended us on both evenings great restaurants within walking distance. The first one spoilt us with a stunnning view over Marseille‘s old harbor, very charming staff and delicious fish menus. The second one was well hidden in a small garden with a very relaxed atmosphere and great local cuisine.
Besides that we slept - as always - heavenly well in our Sofitel bed and enjoyed very friendly staff everywhere in the hotel. Despite the fact that the hotel is a bit outdated compared to other Sofitels we‘ve been to, it is perfectly located.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ClaudeFabien
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Dear ClaudeFabien,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and particulary to Veronique our concierge. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Nassima A, Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews