We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay, but consider offering free wifi please!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 10, 2010

On a five-day stay here. Very trendy, minimalist decor. Everything works as it should, from the comfortable beds, the bose wave radio, rainforest-head showers to the attentive service. Lovely views from the third floor lobby cafe, but I'm sure if the 20 euro sandwich was worth it. And too bad the weather has been absolutely horrid and we have to walk through the frigid cold across the port to the downtown restaurants. Do check out the spa facilities for a good soak in the sauna.

One grouse: For what we're paying here, the 10 euro/day wifi charge is a CRIME! Why shoot yourself in the foot when other comparable hotels are offering it gratuite?!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitan303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

This was my 2nd. stay at this hotel.
The 1st. time was in January 2009 when they were still renovating all
the public areas, the rooms were already done then.
This time I stayed with my mother @ Sofitel Marseille.
I liked the new lobby and bar area...really stylish!!
The rooms are maybe a bit small but the decor and furniture is great!!
And off course the view is stunning!
We also enjoyed the new swimming pool...not huge but it was good
enough for us!
I think this is the most luxurious hotel in Marseille,quite expensive but
it's worth it!
Friendly and professional staff!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkunkFunk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

would stay here is I wasnt on business! thats a recommendation in itself.

the location is great from a view perspective (you can see the forts) although the surrounding area is not so pretty.

The rooms are very good quality although a bit on the small side.

service was excellent, but you get the sense that they run the hotel on a low number of staff. The Spa was great - just opened and very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAXUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Ultra-moderne and chic, this high-end Sofitel offers great views from half its rooms and its public spaces of Marseille's Vieux Port, but is a bit away from things (a taxi is essential for most things). Superb concierge and generally helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDFinMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel was stunning and despite there being a stuff up with our booking (which, thankfully, was sorted out after quite a bit of angst), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's certainly not a cheap hotel but well worth splashing out for a special time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katinahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We recently returned from an autumn visit to the Mediterranean city of Marseille, France. Our visit there was enhanced by our stay at the Sofitel Vieuw Port Hotel. Perched on one corner of the famous Vieuw Port, adjacent to the ancient gateway to the harbor, we enjoyed impressive views of this historic city; plush accommodations in our spacious, ultra modern king room; close proximity to major sites; delicious full buffet breakfasts daily; and a welcoming and attentive staff. The expansive pool area and full-service spa (with fitness gym) were also ammenities unmatched elswhere in Marseille. We emphatically recommend this property to those wanting an affordable and truly elegant urban Mediterranean splurge. Marseille is a city long underrated. It offers a vibrant, unique, exciting and youthful style and culture of its own. ....Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

When we showed up in Marseille, the town was grungy and bustling. Then our taxi driver took us to our hotel. As soon as we were dropped off in front of the lobby we knew we were about to get what we paid for. The service was excellent from the drop-off area to our check-in, to our stay. The hotel was beautiful, classy, and modern. We had about 5 minutes to settle into our room, when someone came to our room with 2 glasses and a bottle of champagne. The bed was feathery and wonderful, the shower was like taking a bath under a waterfall and our view was absolutely amazing. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiian1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#9 of 132 in Marseille
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#2 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Family Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $214 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing