We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Travelocity
Expedia.com
$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Priceline$191
Booking.com$191
Destinia.com$268
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,137)
Filter reviews
3,138 results
Traveler rating
1,839
779
324
115
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,839
779
324
115
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar swimming pool turn down service large terrace old harbour breakfast buffet is valet parking concierge port luxury france euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 3,138 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Hotel situated in quiet street, two streets from harbour, tastefully furnished,. I stayed in a junior suite, which was well equipped, light & airy.. The hotel staff were extremely polite & helpful in guiding me around the city. Highly recommend if you are staying in the city.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank byronblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel for you stay in Marseille.
What can we say except thank you for this wonderful comments shared on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our experience among us! I will share your feedback with all our Ambassadors who have at heart to make every stay unforgettable.
Your satisfaction is our best reward!

We would be delighted to welcome you again for your next stopover in Marseille for another excellent moment.

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

All in all, we were very happy with this hotel. It has the most amazing view from the top floor restaurant, probably one of the best I have ever experienced. Our booking included breakfast so we would start our day with this wonderful view.
There were a couple of small issues, such as our room not being ready on arrival, however they were handled well by the staff.
Its walking distance to all the restaurants, ferries, and the main fort & museum. Also you can walk to the original old part of the city.
Note: the higher floors have been more recently renovated. We asked to be moved from our original room to room with a king size bed, and this turned out to be a much nicer room. Our original room had a queen size bed, and one side of it had a concave area on the mattress.

Room tip: Top floor is best. If you're after a king-size bed, make it clear. We had to wait until the next day to get one.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is precious to us.

We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am glad to read that all the small issues have been effectively solved by our Ambassadors.

We would be delighted to welcome you again for your next stopover in Marseille for another excellent moment.

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We loved this hotel. Everyone says it's the best in Marseille, and I certainly didn't see one that seemed better.
The view from both the splendid rooftop bar and the breakfast room is wonderful. We couldn't get enough of it.
The gym was also pretty good. Those of us who really use hotel gyms appreciate a good one when we get one.
I would agree with some of the other posts that the pool is a disappointment. It's sort of a zoo down there, sharing it with another hotel, and it is most uninviting. We didn't bother. But frankly, I'd rather go to the actual beach, which is not too far away. More of a Marseille experience anyway.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for your confidence and for choosing the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port for your stay in Marseille.

We are delighted to read that you loved our hotel and had a lovely stay among us. The view from the seven floor is one of the best one in Marseille, we are glad to read that you couldn't get enough!
In the same spirit, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the fitness room.

Concerning the pool, Sofitel does not have a swimming-pool but we offer to our guests a totally free access to the Novotel swimming-pool. in fact there are very pleasant beaches not far from the Sofitel.

We look forward to have the pleasure to see you back soon for a new experience at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

The Sofitel hotel in Marseille pretends to be a five-star hotel, but when it comes to hospitality, hygiene and quality it utterly fails. Long story short: we went to the Intercontinental Hotel Dieu which offers magnificent quality and hospitality within the same tariff range. Read on if you want to know why…

We arrived an hour early at the Sofitel and we’re told that the room would be ready at 16.00. So we decided to have a drink at the bar and enjoy some sun. The hospitality of the staff was a sign of things to come, drinks were served late, the coffee was lukewarm, the personnel were wearing dirty clothes and had poor manners.

At 16.00 our room was still not ready, we eventually had to wait for another 50 minutes before we were shown to our room. We received a voucher for a drink per person for this delay as compensation.

Upon entering the room we were shocked: hair was lying on the bathroom floor, puffs of dust were clearly visible on the bed and bed board, the wallpaper was coming off the walls at several places, the carpet had numerous stains and the ceiling showed clear signs of recent water damage. In addition, we had booked a room with a private terrace and view off the old port. We found out that we could see the port in the distance, but in plain sight was the old and stained building of the local rowing club. Not quite an unobstructed view… And we won’t mention the view from the swimming pool area…

We went back to the reception where we stated our findings and disappointment. The deputy manager offered to show us a similar room which was in the exact same state! When we told the deputy manager that this was not an improvement she remained very polity and did not deny our findings! We asked her if anything else was available, otherwise we would cancel and immediately depart the hotel. See called the general manager who told us that she found it regrettable that we did not find the hotel to be to our liking. To their credit, both the general manager and deputy manager remained polite and friendly.

Our stay was cancelled and our car (parked in the garage) would be brought to use as soon as possible. We eventually had to wait for another 15 minutes, after leaving the reception, before we got our car!

All in all, an utter disappointment! The hotel needs an urgent renovation, an inspection by a local hygiene inspector, and the bar staff need a lesson in basic etiquette and hospitality!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

ok.. the view is superbe. but inside the room who was sold as a suite for 570€ everything is and not clean
big stains on the carpet and furnitures . old table and sofa 70's style. the room is not a suite and the bed is too small
view on the next terrasse where you can see all the activites of your neigbouhr
service is tired. no motivation
breakfast is ok

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank BernardL400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion after your stay with us, and have wanted to discover our hotel.

We are very sorry to read that your experience was not up to your expectations and our stars and we apologize for the lack of cleanless and all the other inconvenience encountered during your stay that are in no way representative of the quality of service we strive to offer to our customers.

We will share your comments with our Management Team, in order to improve the quality of our services.

We hope that you will renew your confidence and your next stay will meet to benefit your expectations and wishes.

Best regards,
Camille V, Directrice Expérience Client

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews