We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    569
    191
    62
    41
See reviews for
253
1,183
114
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The room was too small not what we usually stay in at this property, the receptionist was not responsive to our request to move us to a larger room even if it wasn't the same room that we normally stay in. We offered to pay more if we had to but she was ice cold with her reply. Our next trip to Marseille might be staying at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Your comments are very useful for us in order to improve the quality of our services. We are truly sorry to hear your stay was not as nice and pleasant as usual; we deplore to read that our receptionist had not been helpful, which is one of our most important value. However, during this season, our hotel is often full, that might explain our inability to upgrade you to a bigger room. We would love to have you stay in a room that matches your expectations.
We hope that in spite of your disappointments, you will give us another chance and that we will be pleased to welcoming you under better conditions.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked this hotel in advance through expedia, so got decent rates (still far expensive). However, the hotel, the location, and the service is top class.

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from Port Vieux metro and right next to Le Pharo.

We chose the non-port facing view (as it was additional 50 euros per day), the room was decent size, but the bath was enormous. Nice welcome gift for our daughter.

All staff without exception were smiling, courteous, and extremely helpful. Really made us feel very very welcome. Would love to stay again.

Two complaints though
1. The swimming pool wasn't working (it is at next door Novotel), but the reception wasn't aware. We went to Novotel and came back dry!

2. My wife wanted to book for a spa, but there were number of miscommunications (not because of language), between concergie, the spa attendant, and wife. My wife had to cancel the appointment once and then go back and forth twice the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated our location on top of the Old Port allowing you to discover Marseille. It is also truly a pleasure to read your words concerning the kindness of our staff; your satisfaction is our greatest reward. Nevertheless, we regret you didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy our swimming-pool, indeed it usually opens on mid-April. We also deeply regret the misunderstanding with the SPA which caused an impair to the quality of your stopover among us.
Your feed back is very important and very useful to continue to offer high standards to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you again under the beautiful sun of Marseille.
Best Regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The view from the top floor restaurant is outstanding - having breakfast on a sunny morning, it's difficult to tear yourself away. Location and service are very good, and the breakfast spread was excellent, with top quality bread and pastries, cheese, meats etc. The bed was also super comfy. So why only three stars? Other than the bed, the room was very average - pretty small, not much in the way of furniture, and while the bathroom had a huge bath, the decor was tired and the shower pretty poor. Wifi was patchy, and v little English language TV. If this was reflected in the price I would be more forgiving, but it's not - even a basic room is pricey for Marseille. So, if I come back, it's most likely to be for breakfast and the view, and I'll skip the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penangites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you so much for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled that you appreciated the location of our hotel giving on the magical panorama of the Vieux Port. It was also a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our staff’s helpfulness and the breakfast buffet which offers to our guests the French culinary experience with high quality products from the Mediterranean region.
However, we regret our room as well as the bathroom, didn’t match your expectations.
For your next stay, we invite you to take a look at all of our rooms categories. Indeed, some of them are specially designed with more space and a sophisticated decoration which may suit better your needs and desires.
We hope you will give the resort another chance next time you make your way to Marseille.
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Sofitel Marseille on a cold and rain drenched day. fortunately, we were upgraded to a beautiful room with a view of the port. Nice location..about a ten minute walk into the old town, shops and several great places to see. Breakfast was bountiful and the panoramic view was wonderful. Especially liked the shower with numerous sprayers!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bongomoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated your "beautiful room" with the spa shower as well as our breakfast buffet, both providing you with a wonderful panoramic harbour view. Moreover, we are pleased that our location in the city center allowed you to discover all the hidden beauties of the phocean city.
Hoping to welcome you again, under the beautiful sun of Marseille this time,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I echo the majority of the reviews. The staff were without exception most charming and helpful. When la télé went on the blink it was attended to immediately. On the last evening we had room service food which was well presented and generous. Our room had a most charming view overlooking the old port . However, perhaps a second armchair might be provided as some spend more time in the room than others. The bathroom was very well thought out and equipped and faultless.
Breakfast in such establishments is a problem for those who want a cup of coffee and a croissant only. I had that on morning 1 for €17 but felt a bit shortchanged the magnificent views from the 7th floor notwithstanding.
I would not hesitate to return on my next visit to Marseille(s).

Room Tip: Because of the site of the hotel, reception is on the 3rd floor. Our room with terrace was on 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georges G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you appreciated the location of our hotel giving on the magical panorama of the Vieux Port. We are also pleased to read that you appreciated the service offered to you. We want every guest to enjoy real moments of relaxation and I will speak about this additional chair in the room with the management staffs, make sure that we truly consider this comment. Your feed back is very important to improve the quality of our equipments.
Nevertheless, we regret that the breakfast’s price did not match your expectations. We offer a large choice of French food and beverage to our guests, inspired by the Mediterranean tradition. We deplore that this situation caused an impair to the quality of your stopover among us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port, for your next trip to the South of France,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It's about 10 minutes walk to the old port. Hotel is close to a supermarket and you can park the car underground. Hotel staffs are helpful. Room space is a little too small. Breakfast is a little expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all, thank you very much for posting this review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you appreciated our location on top of the Old Port allowing you to discover Marseille and its hidden beauties by walking. Moreover, we are pleased that you were sensitive to the staff's helpfulness as we strive to make your stay unique and unforgettable. For your next stopover, we invite you to take a look at all of our rooms categories ; some of them are more spacious and may suit your needs and desires better.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#4 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Property: Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing