We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five-star hotel but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Luxurious, modern hotel with every amenity except a proper swimming pool or outdoor terrace. Imagine the world and his wife around a postage stamp of a pool which actually belongs to the adjacent Novotel. Bit of a poor show and very disappointing for a five-star hotel in this location.
However, the rooms are excellent, wonderfully comfy Sofitel signature beds, great Hérmes toiletries and an exceptionally good buffet breakfast, luckily included in our room rate, otherwise 26€ per person. Fantastic views of the old fort and harbour from the 7th floor breakfast room, but the restaurant in the evening is very expensive and there are a lot of other options around the old port. Nice spa/gym area, but a bit on the small side.
Staff all very friendly and courteous, especially the conciegerie and valet parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,
We warmly thank you for this lovely review. We are sincerely happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us. We are glad that our panoramic view amazed you and that you enjoyed the ballet of boat going in and out of the old port…
Moreover, we are proud that our staff incarnates the values of helpfulness and courtesy which are standards of Sofitel. Your satisfaction is our best reward!
However, to make up for your disappointment regarding the pool, our concierges will be happy to guide you towards a private sports club, adjoining the hotel for a relaxing moment for a new trip in the south of France.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port,
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,294)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't normally stay in large resort hotels preferring the intamacy of boutique hotels. The Sofitel in Vieux Marseilles is an exception. This 5 star hotel really delivers. Our stunning Old Port view superior room had one of the best panoramic views I have experienced anywhere in the world. How many times have you checked into a swanky hotel to find you are facing a brick wall or have an excellent view of the air conditioning units! Not so here. Stunning views. Almost as if your window was a super wide screen TV showing you a travelogue.
Just one hotel member can make or break your visit. That sole kindly receptionist, that cheeky waiter. The converse can also be true with a rude porter being remembered long after your visit. At the Sofitel ALL the staff were truly courteous and helpful. From concierge to porter. From doorman to pool attendants. All were simply wonderful. What this shows clearly is the level of training given.
There is a world class restaurant on the top floor, but very reasonable lunches can be bought on the terrace. Large salads and big pasta dishes cost only 15 euro. For a 5 star hotel this is great value.
Although it pains me to say it my one gripe is the cost of breakfast at 22euro. I cannot review the spread because I didnt take breakfast. So it will not affect my star rating. Stay in bed longer and simply take lunch instead!
The 12 noon checkout (we left much later) lets you take an extra day at no cost. We stayed by the pool on our last day until 5pm. At no cost!

Room Tip: Insist on Port view and on right hand side so that you get the full panoramic view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markj418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

We warmly thank you for this lovely review. We are sincerely happy that you spent a pleasant stay among us and that our hotel reconciled you with large resorts. Indeed, as a big structure, we strive to provide you with impeccable standards while creating a warm and intimate atmosphere, specific to the boutique hotels. We are glad that our panoramic view amazed you and invited you to a “wonderful” voyage through the magic of sight.
Moreover, we are proud that our staff embodies the values of helpfulness and courtesy we believe in. Your satisfaction is our best reward!

Looking forward to impress you again,
Warm regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

once you find this establishment you will be rewarded with a full service hotel with great views over the harbour.
The layout of the hotel is very pleasing and the rooms are spacious well fitted and room service is exemplary.There is a good spa/gym area which is well serviced if a little small. the pool was busy in the afternoons and the sun disappears after 17.00 in August.
lobby and bar attractive well staffed and with a good car park beneath the hotel .
located at the entrance to the busy harbour area it is a quick walk to the restaurants and bars.
we avoided breakfast as the price was close to 30€ each which we consider too much.
the restaurant on the top floor is excellent with great service and very well presented tasty choices with a sensational night views over the harbour. Well managed again , with relaxed and friendly waiters.good wine list with excellent range .
Well done very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms looking out over the harbour, it's worth it
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
We warmly thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We took great pleasure in reading your nice comment about your stopover in our hotel; we are always thrilled when a guest makes the effort to report his good experience.
We are thrilled that you appreciated our home, its location and the view on the Vieux Port, emblem of our sunny city. We cannot be happier that you liked our services from your room to our parking; your satisfaction is our best reward! Our teams were also very touched by the kindness of your words evoking their professionalism as they are working harder every day to make your stay more and more pleasant.
Besides, the restaurant’s staff was elated to know that you enjoyed its friendliness, the service and the quality of the cooking, in front of the great panorama gathering Marseille’s modern and antic treasures.
We hope to see you again soon in the heart of Marseille for a moment of relaxation and discoveries.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a group for a work trip. The front desk staff was very nice and professional. One time we asked a bellman for help, and since we didn't speak French, he just walked away. All the bartenders were very friendly. Pool is too small. Restaurants are way over priced. Ate a late night dinner at place near lobby and ordered a hamburger that costs 26 euro. Knowing that in France they don't cook red meat much, I ordered it med-well. It came back raw and barely singed on the outside, so I sent it back asking they cook it all way through. It still came back raw. I could barely touch it but at least the waiter gave us a free dessert to make up for it. Still had to pay the $40 for it though. We had a 4th floor room that overlooked the dumpsters out back - that was dissapointing since I know there are rooms with good views. The location isn't great...it's about a 10 min walk to anywhere else worth going to. Our room wasn't cleaned very well, but the shower was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to read your satisfaction about our front desk staff; we always aim at creating a nice atmosphere for our clients as they walk into our hotel. Besides, our bartenders were very touched by your note evoking their friendliness as they want every guest to spent an agreeable moment at the bar Le Carré.
Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry for the unusual behaviour of our bellman as our teams always ensure availability and helpfulness for the customers who need information, even if they do not speak French. Besides, we regret the cooking’s problem you encountered with your Sofiburger. We assure you that this situation is exceptional and we sincerely apologize for this bad experience. Concerning, the deception relative about your room, we were saddened that it did not meet your expectations. Likewise, we invite you to discover, for your next stay, our superior rooms with a wonderful panorama on the Vieux Port and all its treasures.
Best regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent a night Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port while connecting from to Corsica to Perpignan. I love the mediterranean atmosphere of Marseille. I wish we could have spent two additional nights there to visit MUCEM, the new Museum for European and Mediterranean civilizations, which opened a few months ago. We wanted to dine at their award winning restaurant Les Trois Forts, but it was full. Reservation is highly recommended. The only bad experience was at check-out. The receptionists and the luggage carriers were completely overwhelmed. We had to wait for almost half an hour to check-out!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
We are delighted that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed the astonishing view of the Vieux Port that we offer.
We take heart in creating a warm and friendly atmosphere in order to insure our guests’ well-being.
In order to make you next stay in the heart of Marseille even make relaxing, we invite you to get in touch with our concierge service who will be more than happy to guide you in your visits and to advise you on your possible activities.
We also recommend that you next time choose the express check-out option to avoid any waiting at the reception desk.
We hope to welcome you at our table again very soon for your next stay in the heart of the Phocean city.
Kind regards,
Gersende GUEIT, Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank GCall2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved this hotel.
The service is one of the very best we ever had, all employees are courteous and very professional. Congrats to them.
The view from some of the rooms and from the restaurant is simply stunning.
So everything perfect?
No: the swimming pool, shared with the Novotel, is way too small.
Having only a gastro restaurant is the hotel is a limitation. The restaurant of the Novotel is clean, the view is nice but the service is a big disappointment and the food is standard Novotel Cafe style.

Room Tip: Room with view are fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZurichChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUEIT G, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

We warmly thank you for writing this lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased that you "loved this hotel" for its view and the quality of the service. All the staff members were extremely touched by your congratulations and thrilled that you were sensitive to the values we believe in : availability, courtesy and professionalism. However, to make up your disappointment regarding the pool, our concierges will be happy to guide you towards a private sports club, adjoining the hotel for a relaxing moment. As for your remark about our limited catering offer, we invite you to discover our Bar Le Carré, whose modern and refined cuisine will charm you for sure.

Hoping your next stay to be entirely perfect,
Best regards,

Margaux MOREL
Guest Experience Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 131 in Marseille
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
314 reviews
New Hotel Of Marseille
#17 of 131 in Marseille
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#3 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $208 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing