We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketch on the outside, but nice on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #36 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you really have to go to Marseille, which I can't in good conscience recommend, this is a good spot to stay. Not far from the train station, though the cab driver may say otherwise, it is right off the old port and near the morning fish market, the Galerie Lafayette, a subway station and several restaurants. The entrance is in a small street (an alley really) where there are sometimes young men hanging out. It feels a bit sketch. You have to climb stairs to the small reception area. The elevator is small, but takes two average sized people and two pieces of luggage (unless you stack them). There is a nice breakfast room, though we did not have breakfast there, as there are several bakeries to choose from, as well as McDonalds (hey!--inexpensive and good tea and coffee) and the grocery store in the Galerie Lafayette nearby. We stayed in a beautiful room, with an Indian/ East Asian theme that had a small balcony over looking the street/alley.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel Vieux Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 724 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2009

My fiance and I only stayed in Marseille for 1 night but it was a great experience. We stayed in a basic room but it was gorgeous to us after having stayed in a tiny room in Paris for 5 nights prior. The room is very spacious and clean. The bathroom is big and well equipped with towels and toiletries. The toilet has its own room. The bed was very comfortable and air conditioned can be controlled. It is literally right by the metro station and less than a 2 minute walk to the water where there are tons of restaurants. It was a perfect choice for us as we had to take the train out the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We saw many good reviews of this Hotel and hoped that it would come up to expectations and it did! We booked a long weekend as a package and I emailed the Hotel directly and requested a superior double room and we got it, a huge room, with king size bed (very comfy) with a separate dressing area, with a double wardrobe, and safe. The large bathroom was kitted out with a large bath and shower above with toiletries galore and in good shape. The view of the Marina is wonderful from all our balconies, (3 of them).

Great central location and no more than 5 mins walk in any direction. Place Thiars, where most of the best restaurants are located, the marina for boat excursions, the metro and shops just round the corner and the trips to all the different parts of Marseille in easy reach. Also on Saturday there is a terrific market right outside, great gift ideas.

The only negative and this isn’t with the Hotel at all is that a bottle of Malibu got nicked from our suitcase from Marseilles airport luggage handlers! A padlock for next time...for sure

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Very friendly welcome, especially as we were upgraded to room with a terrace. Lovely room with wonderful view over the harbour. Very comfortable bed. Really good toiletries. Really good location in heart of city. Best thing was excellent breakfast, including freshly squeezed (do it yourself) orange juice. Only downside was the refurbishment work on top floor - which I'm sure will be finished soon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingUKWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

What can I say? Some good stuff, some bad.

We flew out of London on a 6.30am flight into Marseille on Saturday morning and spent a gloriously sunny day exploring possible wedding venues in Provence. This is the life! Needless to say at the end of what was a very long day, we were looking forward to checking into the hotel and freshening up before heading out for the evening. I had orignally queried with the hotel whether parking was available and was told there was a car park opposite - unfortunately this turned out to be rather more expensive than I was led to believe! This aside, we were efficiently checked in and soon made our way up the creaky lift to our room, which was very small but cute (if not a tad dark) with an african style theme. The room faced the street but was very well sound-proofed as we didn't once hear any noise from from either the street and/or our neighbours. This is always a big plus for me in any hotel! The bathroom was lovely; small but very clean and with a great power shower and nice shower products.

That evening, we were given the name of a fantastic restaurant by the receptionist/conceierge(?) and had an excellent meal with even better service! Unfortunately the area itself was not a pleasant experience - I am sure parts of it are OK but the car park opposite was disgusting and the streets around our hotel were dirty and very busy. Despite our restaurant being within walking distance, we were advised to get a taxi as the concierge was concerned for our safety. Sure, every city has elements of this but it wasn't nice to feel as though we couldn't safely wander outside of our own hotel. Back to the room that evening, unfortunately our air conditioning didn't work - in fact it pumped out hot air instead! - and hence the room became very stuffy overnight. Breakfast was quite poor, this was served until 11am and when we we got there at 10am the only hot food left was scrambled eggs. There wasn't a lot of variety and the service was average to say the least.

Anyway, to summarise I would say the hotel was reasonable and had some good and bad parts. Whilst I would probably recommend this hotel given the value (although only at one of their special deal rates) and would most definitely eat again at that restaurant (!) I don't think I would ever choose to stay in the centre of Marseille again, especially given there are such beautiful places to stay just a short distance away. I definitely don't agree with it's current status on TA.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomKat_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in Room 402. Lovely little balcony with superb views of the town and the port. Good sized room. Excellent large bathroom. Well decorated. Staff very pleasant. Metro right outside. Would definitely stay again. Had breakfast across the road at La Samaritaine - cheaper than hotel; sit outside and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beef61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We had checked Marseille hotels on trip advisor and chose this one because it had a high rating at a reasonable price.

We were made very welcome by the receptionist when we checked in and the room was great. The bathroom certainly had the wow factor and everything was spotlessly clean.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we are thinking of trying other in this small chain.

We didn't eat in the hotel but be noticed that the breakfast room was pleasant and sunny with a good view.

We ate our breakfast at the 'Glacier Boutique' nearby on the Place de la Bourse which served coffee and pastries which were excellent as was the the service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Louis
#37 of 131 in Marseille
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 3 B rue de la Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $96 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing