We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Hotel Vieux Port
Ranked #40 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wanted a decent room on the port at a good price and this hotel delivered. It's not new, but it's clean, my room was away from the port view and had a sitting area, and the staff was friendly and very helpful with buses, metro, museums etc. It's not the Ritz, but you walk out the door and onto the port. My room is quiet and cool, what more can I ask for 110 euros?

Room Tip: If you don't need the view, the rooms facing the pedestrian area are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the New Hotel Vieux Port. Please don't hesitate to come back to our hotel when you are back in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 742 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was a bit wary of travelling to Marseille, given the bad things i've read about it, but this hotel was great - safe, in a great location, and very close to the Metro (two stops away from the train station with the Metro entrance right around the corner). The hotel is in a pedestrian only area, right across the street from the port. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating, and the room was excellent. Alot of space, big bed, clean and designed in a Japanese theme. The bathroom was large - it was seperated into a room with shower and sink area, and another room just for the toilet. The safe worked - which was good :). Air conditioning worked, and did not make alot of noise, there was a fridge in the room which was convenient and a small seating area. We were only there for one night, but our experience was very good - we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itravel82376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We would be happy to welcome you again when you are back in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked to stay at the New Hotel when we arrived and when we departed as we travelled by TGV and we stayed here before a few years ago. On arrival we was updated (don't no why) to a superb room with a view, clean fantastic and as usual in the morning we went across the road for Le Petit Dejeuner which was cheaper than 12 euros each the hotel charges.
On return a few weeks later we was given a room we thought was for one person with two glasses and two towels added and it was uncomfortably hot which later we realised the air conditioning was put on only late in the night.
We wanted to enjoy Marseille so didn't have time to complain and change rooms as check in was 3.00pm so we ignored the hole in the bath that was filled with putty and the whole in the wall near the bed .......what a shame we wont stay here again as we do not want to take a risk by given a good room or a crap room......we will get in touch with the Hotel and maybe suggest dropping the name New Hotel to Hotel Vieux Port.

Room Tip: If they tell you that they are upgrading you for no apparent reason you are in luck.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ang578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. We have taken note of your remarks as we do our best to improve our services constantly to make sure our guests are satisfied. We would be happy to welcome you again to the New Hotel Vieux Port or one of the other hotels of the group.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

New Hotel Vieux Port is more than adequate for its 3 star rating. The location could not be better, right in the old port. Our room on the 4th floor was a bit small, but quiet, with big bathroom and comfortable beds. We even had view of the port from the balcony. The fridge is very handy too. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on that. We dropped our bag on arrival to the reception as we were early, and the receptionists were generally friendly and helpful (except the early morning guy didn't understand english). I would recommend this hotel if you don't want to spend a lot of money for a luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments. It is true that the location of our hotel is ideal. We hope to welcome you again soon during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a wonderful three days at the New Hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and provided great travel tips. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. We booked direct with the hotel well in advance and the value for high season was great. The shuttle transfer from Marseille airport was first class and the hotel could not be better situated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for writing a comment. Indeed, we are so lucky to have such a central location right in the heart of the city centre. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very good location, nice hotel and room.
We enjoy our stay in New Hotel Vieux Port; it was practically at the Marseille port and we can easily join city's most important attractions and museums.
Many restaurants around the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Pippi221 B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for writing a comment. It is true our hotel is very well located. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good location that is the only positieve one can say about the Hotel...
for the rest very cramped dark rooms invested with mosquito's,
awful and expensive breakfast,
check in only posssible after 3 pm !!
Unfriendly reception man in the morning.

Overall more a bad 2 star than 3 star Hotel will never go back.
The 2 star in Aix (Hotel Globe) the days before was better by many miles...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline_Labit, Director at New Hotel Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. We have taken note of your remarks as we do our best to improve our services constantly to make sure our guests are satisfied.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hermes
#21 of 132 in Marseille
307 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
#41 of 132 in Marseille
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Vieux Port

Address: 3 B rue de la Reine Elisabeth, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $87 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, situated in the city facing Vieux Port; 35 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing