We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for exploring the Marseille waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette
Ranked #77 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring the Marseille waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you arrive by train, La Joliette Metro station is only two stops away from Gare Saint Charles and a very short walk from this relatively new hotel (it's a building site on Google street view!)

Modern design, uncluttered, comfortable bed, air conditioning and free wi fi (but time limited so you have to repeat log in after a while, which is a bit of a nuisance)

Although called B&B, breakfast costs extra. We eat out in the cafe round the corner which had a bit more atmosphere that the hotel "dining room" with its vending machines.

Good location for visiting the regenerated waterfront (Les Docs, Frac, the Silo, Hanger J1) and an easy walk to muCEM and La Villa Mediterranee near the port. 20-30 minutes stroll along the Rue de Republique gets you to the View Port, with lots of eateries. Not much open around La Joliete on a Sunday evening though!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter; the higher up the level, the better the view of roof tops! No keys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaW848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    90
    55
    13
    18
See reviews for
11
82
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in the hotel during off-season, so prices were OK. The hotel is easily accessible from the train station (if connecting from the airport) or one can take the 1 tube stop ride, it's just over the corner. Also close walking distance to the old harbour and shopping centre of Marseille. Eventhough it's close to the hospital not much noise can be heard.

There is an option to buy a buffee breakfast, it's quite simple, but tasty overall. Shame there is no fruit selection.

My room was quite small and simple, but I knew what I was paying for. There was a desk, small wardrobe, TV, reasonably sized bathroom (no problems with hot water) and wifi is accessible everywhere.

Staff is nice, but not very aware about all tourist attractions, don't expect the kind of knowledge reception people have in typical hostels, etc.

Would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barashek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is hotel only for sleep and nothing else. Breakfast is terrible. Room is small but ok. Soom of rooms look at the other building and thats is bad. No other facilities in hotel. location is quiet good. 20 minutes to center by the foot. For this money hotel is ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljubomir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, we realised that we had booked a room with one bed only. The staff changed it to a 2-bed room. Unfortunately, the only one left was a smoker's room. However, our worries were for nothing because other than walking through a smokey aile to get to the room, the room smelt fine (except for the bathroom, but that wasn't a smell of cigarets but of toilet). It was surprisingly clean (used to a lot worse from Paris). Though the room was very small and the way it is decorated is very much like in other cheap hotel chains (blunt and practical rather than beautiful). The staff was very helpful, always kind and offered their help whenever we needed it. The hotel is about 20min walk from the center (Vieux Port) but it takes only 5min by tram or metro which are both around the corner from the hotel. We did not have breakfast at the hotel (as we wanted to sit by the port and enjoy the view) but the breakfast room is very clean and they had a buffet with various things.
It is not the best hotel I have ever stayed in but the price for value is very good. I did not give 4 stars because when going to Marseille again, I'd probably try another hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SchowiidrideFerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on May 16, 2012 for 1 night and had a very pleasant experience. I was traveling with a group and when we arrived, the staff was extremely helpful and nice getting us checked in and answering our questions. Our room was very clean and so was the bathroom. Be warned that you only get one bath towel per guest, and no hand towels or wash cloths, but I found this to be true in other French hotels as well, so I would not penalize this hotel for that point. The shower was clean and the water strong and hot.

Breakfast is above and beyond the normal French breakfast of coffee and croissants and was served with a smile by the staff. There were several types of coffee (American style, espresso, cafe au lait, etc.), breads, yogurt, and cereals. I understand they did serve eggs but they ran out. Eggs are not a normal part of French breakfast, so I assume they are limited in supply because demand for them is not high.

The only real complaint I had was with the WiFi system. The only way to access WiFi in the hotel is by putting in your cell phone number and receiving a text message that gives you the password. However, most of the people in our group did not have their cell phones active due to the high cost of roaming outside the U.S., so we were unable to access WiFi. The front desk staff tried valiantly to help us, even providing their own cell phone numbers so we could get a password, but this seems a very odd way of providing access for guests that may or may not have cell phones with them.

Overall, for the price (60 euros per night) this hotel was a bargain. It is centrally located in Marseille and the staff alone made the stay worthwhile. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3girlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I spent three nights at this place and was left very satisfied. It's part of a chain, and feels like it, which isn't always a good thing. But this particular hotel seems to have opened recently, and its standards were pretty high. Everything worked properly, the hotel as a whole and my room in particular were very clean and neat, the shower was modern and had good pressure (not always a given in France) and the bed was comfortable and felt fresh. I was also lucky to dig up what I thought was a very good rate on the chain's website (37 euros a night for a single person in a double room).

For travellers familiar with the UK, this hotel had the feel of a well-maintained Premier Inn, but with a little bit more individuality - it's up to you to decide whether that's a recommendation or not.

Any drawbacks? If you absolutely must be at the centre of the action in Marseille, this is probably not the place for you, as it's 10-15 minutes' walk from the Old Port. Perhaps more importantly, there is construction work in progress out the back, which when I was there started around 7.30 or 8 during the week and looked as if it was long-term. I think most of the rooms face out of the back, so if you're going any time soon, you may want to ask for a room in front. And we'll have to wait and see how well the hotel ages, once it is years rather than months old.

PS - don't be misled by the B&B - that's the name of the chain - it doesn't mean you get breakfast included

Room Tip: Try to avoid having a room out back - there's a big construction site and it's noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.5 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#78 of 131 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
#35 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Marseille la Valentine
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#20 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#48 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette

Property: B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette
Address: 52 Rue de Forbin | Quartier La Joliette, 13002 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotel MARSEILLE Centre La Joliette B&B Hotel in Marseille Are you looking for a cheap, well-located hotel in Provence Alpes-Côte d'Azur? At the B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette you can stay in the heart of the city centre. A city centre hotel near Marseille's Vieux-Port Have you planned a trip to Marseille? Our hotel is near the city centre and the Vieux-Port. Notre-Dame de la Garde, the Joliette docks, and the Prado museum are all only a few minutes away. Just like our prices, this hotel in the Bouches du Rhône is more than accessible: it is located just over a mile away from Marseille Saint-Charles train station, 15 miles from Marseille Provence airport, and only a few metres away from the Corsica ferry terminal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, B&B Hotels France, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing