We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location at the sea, needs a touch up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Marseille Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pullman Marseille Palm Beach
Ranked #12 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Ratingen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location at the sea, needs a touch up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I really liked the location of the pullman palm beach directly at the seas with nice views to the water or sea. It is of modern design, which I liked as well, bright room, comfortable bed and bathroom of good size with bathtub, though no seperate shower, which I would have preferred. Apparently the hotel was refurbished in 2002 and you can see this ... so a touch up would do good. Cleanliness as typical, superficial clean but if you look closer ...
In regards to the fitness & spa area, I was disappointed. There is a sauna and a whirlpool, with some gym equipment around. Completly missing: an area to relax. Also the sauna was only between 60 to 70 degrees, should though be around 80 degrees.
Front desk staff is very indifferent. Am an Accor Gold member, was not given a a welcome drink voucher though. Late Check Out though was given, however despite having the card reycoded I was locked out of the room at 13:00 and had to have it rekeyed again. Kind of an inconvenience.
Had a glass of wine and a salad at the bar. Quality and prices are ok, so not a good value, but neither a rip off.
The guest ignorance seems to be though a management issue. I filled in their survey and got an answer from the quality manager. It was they typical we're sorry, big mistake not giving the voucher and please give us another chance. Though no concrete action taken, nothing proactive, eg. some extra points credit as a guesture or something.
So next time in Marseille, I will go back to the Sofitel. Staff much more attentive there, closer to the city and a nicer spa area. Ah, I was there in off season paying around 150 Euro for a night. Skipped the breakfast, as at 20 Euros too much for me. A croissant and coffee suits me well, so I took a nice walk to the boulangerie artisanal about a 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atomde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    525
    172
    67
    22
See reviews for
217
647
78
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff is friendly and helpful. Front desk English speaking skills were very good. Room was comfortable and clean. View was terrific. Typical modern European hotel. Great breakfast with stunning view of harbor and sailboats...as well as kids learning to sail. Wife came on this business trip and was able to arrange great day tours staged out of this location...tour companies picked her up at this hotel, no problem. David's restaurant is within walking distance and is WELL worth the effort...near the intersection by the Casino grocery store. I love scallps and David's were as good as any I have ever had and better than most. The raw oysters were also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are vacationing in Marseille (I can think of far better, safer places to have a holiday), then The Pullman Palm Beach is a good alternative. Because it is a little way out of town, it is safer, and you don't have miscreants sauntering outside the premises.
The hotel/resort is not cheap but then it is worthwhile as the facilites are great, the place is spacious, most rooms look out onto the bay and all in all it is a very good place to stay. The views at sunset is stunning.
However, keep in mind that it is about 30 minutes from Marseilles, even when traffic is light. If you get the urge to go into Marseille itself (I would advise against it even though there are areas that are very interesting) and if you have to use a cab because you don't have a car then be very careful that you don't get ripped off. Marseilles cabs are notorious at 'not knowing the direct route', or, 'oh, I didn't know that this road was closed and we'll have to take a roundabout route', etc. (What, no communication between cabbies in Marseille?!)
I don't know how to advise you to stop you being ripped off, as this is a way of life in Marseille.
Driving is also hazardous in Marseille and another guest at the hotel had an awful experience of a passenger in his car having a handbag ripped from them whilst sitting in the backseat of the car! Door closed but not locked. The thief rode off on the back of a scooter ridden by his accomplice. Crime is very well organised in Marseille!
Let's get back to more pleasant things - the food at the Pullman is tasty, well-presented and served by friendly and efficient staff. The swimming pool and spa are a delight and there is a nice atmosphere prevailing. Sometimes, however, at low tide, there is an awful smell given off by the seaweed and rubbish in the cove.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

A beach holiday in Marseille might seem rather an eccentric choice, but it is definitely a possibility if you stay at the Pullman. The hotel occupies a fabulous position between the Corniche road and the sea. Reception is on the top floor, at street level, but the restaurant, bar and pool are two floors beneath, with a fine view of the sea, the Chateau d'If and the Calanques headland. Most of the rooms seem to have some sort of sea view , and essentially the hotel is built so as to turn its back completely on the the heat, noise and traffic of the city that surrounds it. It is convenently located close to the Prado beaches, with their incredible array of (largely ethnic) restaurants, and the 83 bus takes you to the Vieux Port in about 25 minutes.

The hotel is modern and comfortable. Our room had a balcony and sea view, although the room itself was not particularly large. It did have a Nespresso machine, however, which was a nice touch. Our room rate included breakfast, which is otherwise a very expensive option. However, it was worth every penny - it was one of those breakfasts that carried you through the day without needing lunch!

The pool is large and fed by spring water, so it is a pleasant temperature. The restaurant overlooks the sea, and dining on the terrace, with the sun setting over the Chateau d'If, was very atmospheric. We had the set menu which was perfectly adequate and not too pricy.

The hotel staff were polite and helpful. We were leaving Marseille by a late evening flight and the management had no problem in allowing us to keep our room until late afternoon without extra charge.

Although the Pullman is probably full of business meetings and conferences during the season, it is a great place to while away a few summer days on the doorstep of one of the great Meditterranean cities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank owen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived to have valet parking, our luggage taken to our room, excellent and professional service at reception, a heart made from rose petals on the bed, a complimentary half bottle of champagne and fresh fruit delivered to our room and a personal note and gift from the General Manager offering his congratulations. We've stayed here before and know Marseille well, preferring to be away from the Vieux Port although close enough to drive. We always eat out and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance although as we always do, a quick drive over to Cassis is a great spot for one night for dinner by the sea.

Our experience and the service provided throughout our stay at the hotel was excellent and made us really feel like we were on honeymoon. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a few nights away and it's a great base for seeing Marseille. As with most hotels of this standard we received a very good rate by booking well in advance. If you have breakfast included in your rate, it costs no more to have it in your room and the selection is great.

Thanks again for everything!

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony and sea view. It's not much more money but definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for a weekend away. The location by the sea is superb, with great views of the islands and of the mountains surrounding Marseille. The room was comfortable, with a pleasant small balcony, and the service was very friendly, from reception to restaurant to general housekeeping. The restaurant in the evening was quiet, but the breakfast was excellent. The swimming pool is really beautiful and a pleasure to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,603 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel for a quick business trip and while it seems to be well located and with good facilities, it does not seem to be a 4 star hotel and at 325 Euro including breakfast it is completely out of propertion in comparison with the Hotel (as a reference a paid less for an stay in Chicago in the Trump Hotel, which is one of the best hotels I have stayed ever and it is real a 5 star hotel.
My recommendation, do not pay this price to be in this hotel, it is not worthy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Hotel 96
#1 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Marseille Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Marseille Palm Beach

Property: Pullman Marseille Palm Beach
Address: 200 Corniche Pdt J F Kennedy, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#4 Business Hotel in Marseille
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#10 Family Hotel in Marseille
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Marseille Palm Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 rooms and 10 suites with breathtaking views of Prado Bay, the Pullman Marseille Palm Beach is located by the sea, 10 minutes from the city centre and 28 km from the airport. The hotel offers an auditorium with seating for 320 as well as 12 meeting rooms for up to 600 people. Our Mediterranean restaurant specialises in delicious fish dishes. Our swimming pool with sauna and Jacuzzi offers total peace and relaxation. Guests can also enjoy jogging, tennis, water sports and golf nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Pullman Marseille Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Marseille Palm Beach Hotel Marseille
Accor Marseille Palm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing