We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Castellane Marseille
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Bad neighborhood, not very safe and is a very long walk from the train station to the hotel but we didn't want to take a break on the street, as it was so dodgy.
We had to sleep with the window open in the middle of winter, due to other guests smoking, that then filled our room with cigarette smoke, which you could see in the room.
Breakfast is 9.50€ per person and to use the washing machine was 9€ for one wash and one dry.
I would recommend that if you must go to marseille, choose a hotel in a good area and stay safe.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Castellane Marseille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Don't be fooled! The photos are not real depictions of all the hotel rooms! Maybe some of the rooms look like the photos but the ones we saw did not! The rooms we were given smelt of smoke, had worn carpets & a 'sofa bed' instead of a proper bed, also NO a/c!
We left there straight away despite it been almost midnight!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A4JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The good:
- The internet is very good (I got 10mb).
- The rooms are very large,
- The staff are very gentle and helpful

The bad:
- I stayed there in the summer, the room was VERY hot, and the room didn't have air conditioning.
- The rooms is not cleaned everyday
- The rooms have a stove, so if someone in the floor is cooking, the whole floor smell it.
- For me, the location was a problem, since my company was in the harbor and I had to walk a little.

In summary:
You should go to this hotel if you are going in the winter and don't mind the lack of service cleaning everyday and the location is good for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitor_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Where we can, we like to stay at places that have kitchens as it gives us more flexibility. So for that reason, Citadines apartments are normally pretty good - the kitchens have everything you need and we've found the rooms so far to be fairly spacious. However, this Citadines is a bit tired and could do with some added sound proofing. We had a pretty sleepless night with noise around the building. They also gave us a room with two single beds - handy when on a honeymoon trip! We thought about asking for another room but neither of us could be bothered asking the disinterested girl at reception. One other poor guest tried to ask her where the carparking was and she helpfully replied, "here". He said, "where here?" and she replied, "it's here". This went on for a few minutes before the poor guy wandered off to do his own investigation seeing as reception clearly wasn't located in the car park.
It a reasonable walk from the hotel to the port area so it is handy that it's close to the metro stations. It's also close to one of the main shopping areas so easy to get whatever you need.
All in all I'd say it's good for basic accommodation but I'm not sure we would stay here again. We were pleased to leave and move on to our next stop... and hopefully a better hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SStar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us on March 29, 2012. Thank you also for your compliments about location and facilities.
We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay with us. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.
For your information, we are pleased to inform you that we have planned to renovate the residence at end of 2012. We hope to see you again once the residence has been renovated.
Concerning your information about the Reception, we have highlighted your remarks to the receptionist concerned and we are assisting her to improve her method of communication with guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Citadines are a good choice for friends and family travelling together who would prefer to each have their own bedroom. Much more cost-effective than renting two hotel rooms. The apartment we stayed in had a small kitchen area with three doors giving access to a bedroom, bed / sitting room (with small terrace dining area) and bathroom, so it worked perfectly well as a 2 bed rental.

The Citadines Castellane are on a quiet road 200 yards from the attractive Place Castellane which, although out of the centre and tourist areas, has a metro stop and at least two decent mid-price brasseries. There's also a range of useful shops, a top-quality produce market and a cinema showing films in English.

What leads me to mark this down is the grotty decor. The carpets and walls had marks and stains, as did the sofa cushions. It certainly wasn't unhygenic - the bathroom was as clean as any I've been in - but it does feel run-down. However, if you just want a base to explore Marseille and have no intention of spending much time in your room, I wouldn't put you off.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romance_for_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I must tell you that I was very dissapointed!! The hotel has appartement rooms for 2 or 4 persons. I stayed in a room for 2, and guess what: IT DID NOT HAVE A BED!!! I was supposed to sleep in tha sofa they had, using the instructions on how to turn it into a bed. The sofa was old, worn out and not very clean, the sheets were also of very bad quality. The room had a small kitchen and bathroom, which were ok, but the carpets were full of stains and generally the smell in the room and in the corridors of the hotel was not very pleasant. My room also had no coller or air-condition, it only had a ventilator which didn't do much, as the heat and humidity in Marseille in the summer reaches high levels. There was no cleaning service, no change of towels during my 3 day stay at the hotel. The breakfast was not included in the room price which was 87 euros per night, and if you wanted to have breakfast (a very simple breakfast because there was no variety of things to choose from) you had to pay 8,5 euros!!!! The hotel was close to the subway station which was good. The second and last thing that I could mention as positive was that the girl in the reception was very helpful and polite. So overall, I am sure that you can find much better hotels in Marseille in the same price!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzepoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

My 3 friends and I originally booked "Citadines Marseille Centre", and they confirmed it. However we gave them a call a day before we arrived just to be sure, and we were shocked to hear that they didn't receive our booking! We were told their rooms were all fully booked. We argued with them since it was too late to book another hotel (we were in St. Emilion in Bordeaux by then), and they said if we faxed them our hotel confirmation they can give us a room in their other hotel in the same chain - Citadines Marseille Castellane. We had no other choice, and luckily the owner of a wine shop was kind enough to help us fax the email confirmation, free of charge.

Besides from the expensive roaming mobile phone fees (from London) we weren't that concerned, since Citadines Marseille Castellane was cheaper anyway.

We arrived to find our appartment with a living room and two sofa beds, and another room with a double bed. There was a shower and a separate bathroom. There was a balcony which we used to air our shoes at night. The kitchenette was very convenient, we didn't cook but used it to prepare simple breakfasts.
The location was pretty convenient from the Metro and we felt the neighbourhood was safe enough.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneworld_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
1.4 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.5 mi away
Citadines Prado Chanot Marseille
1.5 mi away
Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
#57 of 131 in Marseille
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Marseille Castellane
0.1 mi away
Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Velodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Castellane Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Castellane Marseille

Address: 60 rue du Rouet, 13006 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Castellane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $70 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Castellane Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Castellane Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing