We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic 3 star, no frills” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel Saint Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Charles
Ranked #107 of 129 Hotels in Marseille
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“basic 3 star, no frills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The other reviews are right, the air conditioning here was very weak. The walls are also paper thin, but that seems to be a general trend in Europe. The breakfast was basic but satisfactory, some cheese, ham, dried and fresh fruit, cereal, and bread. The breakfast room is like a greenhouse and so is extremely hot, so I would recommend eating breakfast elsewhere.

Service was fine, bed was comfortable, room was a reasonable size and there were a surprising amount of excellent pillows in the wardrobe. The room felt clean and modern, and overall a satisfactory 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: The lift is small and slow so try to get the first floor so you can use the stairs easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank po123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comment. The exceptional heat of the last days made the feeling of the air conditionning a bit weak. We are sorry for that. We hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    130
    121
    84
    99
See reviews for
41
195
55
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

5 minutes to rail station as long as you exit the right side. About 10-15 minute walk to Old Port which has plenty of good restaurants. The service at the hotel was great and the air conditioning worked perfectly. Don't be upset if reception seems cold. It's not the French way to treat you like you are the center of the universe. If you have a question, they will answer it for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyA445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your kind comment. Hope to see you soon again. Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel needs renovating, much like the rest of Marseille. The air conditioning barely cools the room so it was very difficult to sleep. Breakfast was quite good though.

Service was fine, although each day we had a different number of towels in the bathroom. No hair dryer in the room either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir.
First , I would like to thank you for your comment. We're really sorry for the inconvenience encountered during your stay. Please be sure, we do our best to satisfy our guests. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is good, it takes about 10 mins of a slow walk to reach the rail station. The reception is good, he reminded us to watch out for pickpockets and we appreciate his advice.. The elevator was small but no issue with that, it could still fit 2 persons with 2 x 28" luggages in.. If there's an elevator in Europe, just be thankful.. The room is spacious and very clean, the bed is very comfortable, and the bathroom is well maintained.. There are tonnes of restaurants surrounding the hotel, and a laundry just opposite the hotel.. We don't really need to travel on commuters, everywhere was reachable within walking distance.. Vieux Port is only about 10-15 mins on foot.. We had our morning beers and coffee at a famous old place Cafe La Samaritaine, overlooking the port and later took a boat trip to the Ilf Castle- an old prison in the middle of the ocean.. Overall, it was a good short stay..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen the New Hotel Saint Charles for your visit in Marseille.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel for your next visit. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Angry and careless old receptionist. I really hope he is not the hotel manager. I'm writing this review only three hours after check in. First impression is the most important, and nothing will undo the cold welcome from this unpleasant receptionist.

However, the rooms look tidy and clean, but just behind the curtain lies big particles of dust. Looks like cleaning has been done the easy way. This hotel is placed near the city centre, and that is all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First, I would like to thank you for your comment.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. We'll do the necessary to our staff. Be sure this problem does not happen again. We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was quite pleased with the hotel and I have stayed in 4 different ones within 100 metres the last few years, as I needed to be near the Canebiere and near St Charles. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious (see photos). Staff was particularly helpful and friendly and I shall single out the deputy Manager Tien , who is both tireless and always smiling , even when he is at the end of a 15 hour shift. I have not tried the breakfast , but I could not fault this pleasant hotel in any other aspect , except the pricing (very slightly on the expensive side)

Room Tip: As usual go for top floor rooms. They tend to be quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We're really happy that you had a pleasant stay at the New Hotel Saint Charles. We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille ! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#102 of 129 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#64 of 129 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 129 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Charles

Property: New Hotel Saint Charles
Address: 4 allee Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 129 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations; multilingual staff; located in the downtown area; 25 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing