We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware: Bed Bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Charles
Ranked #107 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Who thought bed bugs were a thing of the past, only found in urban slums!!? I didn't believe earlier reviews about an insect infestation at New Hotel, but am now full of regret and covered in bites. Conveniently, the hotel "pre-charged" us for our three-night stay, so we were effectively trapped after spotting the suspicious bites after Night 1. Alas, the front desk folk were about as friendly as the local bug population, unable to answer our questions regarding airport shuttles or about the heavy police presence outside for riot prevention. I don't know if I'm angrier at myself for having booked this place after reading so many negative reviews or if I'm angrier at the management for not having addressed issues (like the bed bugs, staff, claustrophobically small elevator) that have been raised over the past couple years of customer feedback. I'd like to remind the management that before they post a response denying culpability (as they did to a previous post re: bed bugs), it IS their responsibility to ensure that basic conditions are sanitary and hygienic. (translation: Don't bother writing some bland response to this about how bed bugs are brought in by other guests, etc. Use the time to call pest control!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newhotel013, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

We are very sorry for this bad experience. We always take time to answer because we sincerely consider your remarks. But unfortunately, bed bugs can be transported by any body at any time. It is a real problem for any hotelier all around the world and whatever the category. Pest control is done very frequently and part of our concerns. Yours truly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 500 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
newhotel013, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had read some reviews about the neighborhood and the hotel, but it was not as bad as some said. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large and quite good standard, even if the tv was small (so what!). From the outside it looked a bit broken down, and yes, the stairs needs some fixing, but the overall rating and experience is still good. We never felt scared in the district and everything still felt close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newhotel013, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thanks for your comments. For your information we renovated the stairs completely and are actually proceeding to a face lift of the facade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were concerned about our booking here having read some adverse reviews. All our fears were unfounded. The reception staff were friendly and multi-lingual. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. One of us was ill while we were there and so we returned to our room early one day. Although our room hadn't been serviced, the chambermaids worked speedily to tidy it for us and asked if there was anything else we needed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newhotel013, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for your kind remarks. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

3 days I spent in Marseille. I’ve chosen the New Hotel Select, which is located in the centre of Marseille, a 10-minute walk from the Old Port. It offered me soundproofed accommodation, an interior garden and free Wi-Fi in public areas. Besides Saint-Charles Train Station and Metro (lines 1 and 2) are 500 metres from New Hotel Select - Gare Saint Charles. Noailes Metro station is just 150 metres away and the historic high street in the old quarter of Marseille, La Canebière, is 300 metres away. My room was equipped with a private bathroom and satellite TV. Gare Saint Charles Hotel served a buffet breakfast each day in the interior garden, beneath the glass roof.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chernova_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND BOOKING THIS HOTEL. I received a confirmed booking on October 1st for a night on the 19th. On the 16th I received a welcoming e-mail. We arrived soon after noon on the 19th and were told the hotel was full and they had reserved us a room at another hotel. Since this was five times the distance from where we needed to be, we were not happy but set out in our rented car to find the other hotel. After nearly two hours of frustrated navigating, we decided to cut our losses and take a room elsewhere. Despite the best efforts of our desk clerk, we were still charged the full rate for a non-cancellation.
Later, we were invited to comment on how our stay with them turned out.


Duh!!! What a bunch of morons!!!!

To me, this represents a big zero in customer relations. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
4  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Finding a cheap hotel or hostel is not easy in Marseille, so we found a very good deal going for this hotel and booked it without checking the reviews. Once I saw some of the comments previous visitors had left, I was quite concerned as it has definitely had some very tough reviews...

It is clear that this hotel has had a refurbishment since some of these reviews were published. The corridors are particularly dingy, covered with grey carpet on the floor and walls and smell of cigarette smoke, but the rooms are a lot brighter (promise!). Even though a double room is small, it is white-washed with a large double bed which is incredibly soft and really comfortable to sleep on which wasn't expected! There are two side tables, a desk, two cheap looking plastic chairs, a large wardrobe (which was too dark, so we never used it), and a television with a fairly selective choice in channels. The bathroom is decent enough, however the shower shows signs of age with cracks and scuffs here and there. Rooms are very clean, with the cleaners coming every day. I have noticed some previous comments that the cleaners never changed the bedsheets - ours were changed 3 times in 6 days, and towels were replaced every day.

The staff are not very friendly but will answer any questions that you may have, they also speak English. Internet is available by reception and WiFi is only available on the ground floor. The computer has an awkward logging in system and we had to try a few attempts, but we got there in the end. I wish I could comment on breakfast, but we never had it at the hotel. From overhearing other guests, I gathered that it was 'trop chèr' - too expensive. I think it was advertised at about €9 per day for each person, however there are some beautiful Brasseries and Boulangeries to buy fresh croissants and coffee all around in town, so I would say ignore the breakfast at the hotel and go see what Marseille's restaurants have to offer.

Another good things was that the hotel was very easy to find. In the directions, it says to get the metro to Noailles from the Gare Saint Charles. However, it is a three minute walk from the Gare, maybe five with suitcases, but be warned that there is a big amount of stairs (but I'm pretty sure there's disabled access somewhere or a lift or something, we just didn't look very hard). If you're strong enough to carry your suitcase, go from the Gare and save a few cents, it takes longer on the metro!

There were a few flaws with the hotel which brings the score down. Firstly, the lift was possibly the funniest thing I've ever seen - it will barely hold 2 people and 2 suitcases. If you are on the fourth floor, you will have to go in separate trips up to your room!

The building as a whole is very run down, and doesn't look like a hotel at all but inside makes up for it.

When we were leaving, it was advertised on hostelworld (where we booked the room) that travellers cheques could be used to settle the fee. However when we went to pay, it appeared that they have never accepted travellers cheques and that was that... So we paid with a debit card. They were very dismissive and made us wait for our receipt whilst serving other customers for 5 minutes! It was like he didn't want much to do with us after that.

There was blood on the shower curtain.

And now for the biggest problem... if you end up staying in room 209, I do feel for you. Behind the wardrobe in the corner is some kind of water closet or something. During the day, and at random points in the evening, we would here a crashing splashing sound, as if someone was pouring a whole bucket of water from a height onto the floor. Honestly, it was really annoying, and it carried on until about 11 each night. Luckily we were always back late so it never disturbed our sleeping, but sometimes it was so loud we did debate on asking to change rooms. Beware, we're not sure if we were put in this room due to a cheap rate but if you get an experience like that - ask to change rooms immediately.

If you are on a budget this is good enough, but if you have the buck to spend, find a nice hotel by the Port!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#65 of 131 in Marseille
241 reviews
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#109 of 131 in Marseille
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Louis
#43 of 131 in Marseille
456 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
Adonis Marseille Vieux Port
Adonis Marseille Vieux Port
#105 of 131 in Marseille
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Charles

Address: 4 allee Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $67 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations; multilingual staff; located in the downtown area; 25 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing