We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient if you come / leave by train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
Ranked #20 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This hotel is just a few yards out of Marseille's main railway station, so this hotel is very convenient if you arrive or if you leave by train. It is also pretty central and the subway station just near is very convenient.
The hotel is clean and the people are nice.
Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable.
The breakfast buffet is fine and you can enjoy it on a quiet terrasse when the weather is good (which is very often the case in marseille).
Very good hotel for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2009

I stayed for 5 nights as a base for using the rail network to explore the area and it is the only hotel within level walking distance of the station. I had a corner room on the top floor overlooking the city with a view down to the Cathedral and the towers at the mouth of Vieux Port and also over to Notre Dame de Gard - a fabulous view particularly in the early morning and around sunset. Despite the proximity to the station, it was remarkably quiet both externally nd internally. Unlike most station areas there were few decent eating places in the immediate area. As it was a bit of a trek to and from the city centre restaurant areas, I ate at the hotel restaurant a couple of times and it was satisfactory with a large terrace. All the staff I encountered were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and me stayed at this hotel for a night on our way to the French Riviera. It was just a stone's throw away from the station and hence it is very convenient for anyone who has an early morning train or a flight to catch from the Marseille Airport. The station is also the terminus of the bus that takes you to the Marseille Airport. The lobby and the restaurant of the hotel was quite interesting with a minimalistic design and modern lighting. The reception was very efficient with the check in and check out. The rooms in comparison to other Ibis hotels are really small though for one night it did not really matter to us. The reception really helped us to get a feel of the city through different maps and brochures. Being near to the Gare St. Charles, it has good linkages through the Marseille airport with different attractions in Marseille. The toilets were clean though a bit small in area. Really loved the stay with Ibis at this destination.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ainindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Thank teague58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FionaSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TigersfanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
0.3 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.8 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#21 of 131 in Marseille
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Vieux Port
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles

Address: Square Narvik | Esplanade Saint Charles, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Marseille
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#21 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $66 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe au pied de la Gare Marseille Saint-Charles, l'hotel Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint-Charles propose des chambres climatisees et confortables. Ideal pour vos deplacements professionnels ou loisir, sa localisation facilite l'acces aux principaux sites marseillais : Le Vieux-Port, La Canebiere, le MuCEM, les Plages, le Stade Velodrome, le Quartier du Panier qui a inspire la serie>... Chambres equipees de la nouvelle literie "Sweet Bed by ibis" et d'un acces wifi offert. Pour vos reunions ou journee d'etude, nous disposons de 6 salles equipees pour seminaire, reunion de travail, formation, recrutement. Notre Hotel est ideal pour les croisieres en Mediterrannee au depart de Marseille (Terminal J4 a 15 minutes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Marseille Gare Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing