We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of New Hotel Bompard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Bompard
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A bit far from centre, roughly 25 min walk, bus can also take you to the vieux port. I went there with a friend in February and we had a lovely time. We stayed for three days and did not have breakfast there as it was a bit expensive for us. So we had breakfast in other places. The quality of bed was good, room nice and clean, bathroom was of a good size. There is a lovely terrace and we were thinking of it would be nice in warmer weather, although the weather was ok between 12 and 15 degrees, very sunny. There was a nespresso machine but unfortunately the capsules were two euros I think , they could have offered at least two coffees, but this did not prevent us from having a lovely stay. There are different types of bedrooms and range of prices.
There is swimming pool which again can be really appreciated in summer times! Staff is very good, and helpful! I will recommend it for sure and will go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear customer, thank you for your comment. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you during summer time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 520 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was the first time that we stayed at the Bompard Hotel and we were very satisfied. Our room was vey comfortable and we appreciated its equipment and quietness. We will certainly try to come again at a warmer period of the year to enjoy the nice garden and the wsimming pool which was not yet in service. It was certainly one of the best hotels I experienced recently in terms of price/quality ratio

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear customer, Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come back during summer time to enjoy our swimming pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have read some good and bad reviews on this hotel yet my stay was wonderful. I really liked the Hotel I wasnt over keen on its location. It was qite away from everything but my room was clean and comfy, staff were very nice and helpful and the food was fantastic the pool was really nice aswell so overall I would say that the hotel gets top marks but its position isn't great. They do however have a hotel closer to the port and the next time I visit Marseille that is were i will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Directeur at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you had a good stay even thought you found it too far from the city center. However it is very easy to reach it by bus, and the corniche Kennedy is about 5 min walking. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille. New Hotel Bompard staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over a weekend at the hotel and I must stay we were very happy with our choice especially for the price we payed. The staff was very helpful especially those at the reception. The room was a good size and the facilities provided were far than enough (central heating and good-sized bathroom). Situated in a quiet residential area which was a ++ for us and it only took us approx 35 mins by walk to the town centre. If you prefer to catch a bus there are 2 buses which pass near the hotel. B'fast was enough with delicious croissants and served in a room overlooking the garden. Would definitely choose this hotel if we visit Marseille again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizaAgius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear customer, Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you during summer time so you could enjoy our swimming pool and our terrasse. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Located in a very quiet residential area. Nice garden in a Mediterranean style. Rooms are clean and functional but small and not well heated. Even after adjusting the heating system to the maximum level, I was still freezing. Had to pay 2€ to use the coffee machine in the morning. At check-out, they asked for a small extra tax, it had not been included in the price. In my view I find such details a little bit annoying. This hotel is supposed to be 4-star. Nothing was screaming 4-star about it. No special services, no room service, no sauna, no spa, no gym. Overall comfort was normal, not more. While not far from the city center, it still requires a car drive or other transport to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear customer, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. Did you inform the reception desk about the heater? For sure we could have helped you out and if the problem was really unfixable we could have provided you an other room. The coffee machine is part of the mini bar list, the rate is on it in every rooms, that's why it was charged on your bill, the city tax is never included in the rates and is an extra on the room price, as in most hotels. Our room service is working everyday during restaurant opening which is from 7 am to 10 pm. Our garden, free carpark, swimming pool and the quiet area are some special services that you will hardly find in other hotels in Marseille. We really hope that you would give an other try to our hotel, maybe during spring or summer time, so you could enjoy all our services. Whishing you a Happy New Year, Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is designed around a courtyard with a lovely garden. Breakfast was fresh fruit, steed fruit, lovely yoghurt and breads, cheese etc. - much variety and designed to either sit down or eat on the go. The dinner and room service menu were the same I.e a set menu with either 1-2 courses. This means that one can't have just a small sandwich or salad for dinner, and I would suggest that the hotel changes that.

All staff were friendly, efficient, helpful and courteous - going the extra mile to find where I could buy soap, directing the taxi driver etc.

Rooms are small but impeccably clean with lovely Hermes bath products and bed linen to sink into.

The hotel is a short walk down to the promenade where restaurants are, and also close to the World bank, CMI etc offices.

From the airport once can get a bus to the train station €8.00 and then a taxi to the hotel €20.00

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear customer, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We take note of your comment about the room sevice menu and will try to improve this service. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good service, clean, and pleasant staff. Somewhat remote from the center of town (whihc is annoying for tourists), close to bus stop for visit to downtown, remote from restaurants, Sometimes erratic WIFI which mostly did work fine. Taxis to and from airport exp[ensive, so if you want to save $$ take bus to town and then mover to taxi...

Room Tip: Prices vary from one day tot he other... strategize!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Fontana, Director at New Hotel Bompard, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear customer, thank you for your comment. Our hotel is in a residantial area and that what our customers usually like. But you can easily reach the Vieux Port with the bus next door. Hoping to welcome you during your next visit in Marseille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
New Hotel Of Marseille
#15 of 132 in Marseille
883 reviews
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 132 in Marseille
1,485 reviews
Petit Nice Passedat
#33 of 132 in Marseille
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Le Rhul
#55 of 132 in Marseille
155 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 132 in Marseille
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Bompard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Bompard

Address: 2 rue des Flots Bleus, 13007 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#25 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $110 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Bompard 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Bompard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing