We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Le Corbu, you must stay here”
Review of Hotel le Corbusier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel le Corbusier
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed September 24, 2010

As fans of the architect, we enjoyed our night here in a sea-view room very much. The building is awesome, the period furniture very cool, it was fun to imagine the room functioning as a Mid-Century modern apartment. The view was quite nice (can’t beat the Mediterranean), with a balcony. If you are just looking for a room in Marseille, I’m sure there are other nice hotels in Marseille. But for fans of Le Corbu, a stay here is essential.

A couple of tips - There are not a lot of bars and restaurants in the area. We managed to find an awesome little soccer-themed bar about 400 meters or so walk from the hotel. No English-speakers there, but fun local atmosphere. I wish I could remember the name. The Metro is not a bad walk from the hotel and we did not feel unsafe in the neighborhood. We took a cab to the Old Port to get dinner but then took the Metro back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

Mini modulor-rooms, they make you feeling the space around you. A nice view over the see side. Colours and material are still the original ones. The roof is great, and the view absolutely unforgettable. It is an architecture icon, and you can enjoy the experimenting space design and material combinations, light experiments and social ideas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vito100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We decided we had to stay in this iconic masterpiece when we found out that this hotel still exists. Without hesitation. Reading the reviews on TA after we had committed to a reservation, I was a bit dismayed at some of the negative comments. So here is my view - and you already know that I am a fan.
The building itself is a revelation. Ok you don't need to sleep there to find that out. However it took us 2 days of noseying around to appreciate the incredibly detailed and well thought out design. The roof, alone, is stunning.
As a hotel, what do you get? OK, if you are on a budget, or alone, you'll be fine in a cabin. Cheap but "compact". A standard room will set you back 95 euros. A good price for Marseille. We didn't pay extra for the sea view as the view the other way is fantastic too. You get a large room, very minimally furnished with quite a decent sized shower room (modernised). The room is full of light as the end wall is two very large full length windows which open fully out onto a small balcony. External blinds give shade from the sun. Very little about the room has been changed since it was built. This means you might consider it a bit shabby, but for 60 years old it is magnificent. The average modern chain hotel, we read, needs refurbishing every 4 years or so.
The beds are fine and comfortable, decent sized double or 2 singles. Early September, we slept well with the windows open and without using the air conditioning.
Location, if anyone really can't find the entrance - look around the back. There is only one place where the building reaches the ground. In the lobby the signs show the way to reception on the 3rd floor.
The very handy 21 bus goes past 4 times per hour most of the day and goes to the Vieux Port opposite the Office du Tourisme. When you come to the hotel get off at the stop called "Le Corbusier"
In short, as a hotel it has much to recommend it, but if you are not a fan of the architect you might do better in the centre of town (see my review of New Hotel le Pharo) but you would be really missing something special.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capresina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Our first impression of the hotel (old, bad atmospheer) was perfectely confirmed when we entered the room (small, way to small bed for 2pp: 1.15mby1.85) and when we spoke to the owner (rude, not willing to help at all). We booked the room for 5 nights but left after 1, which was to long anyway.

A definately "no go!!!" hotel. Pleas stay out!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachtrip10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Nice bar and terras in a special building.
The reception told us where to go for the best bouillabaise in Marseille!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukas_hided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The hotel is light years away from the standard hotel experience. You get a real feeling of being temporarily part of the local community. The hotel occipies just part of Le Corbusier's masterpiece and the rest of the building is flats - residents dropped in to the cafe for breakfast & a concert was organised for one night by the residents. There is a small but excellent bookshop in the building selling architectural books. I stayed in one of the cabins - the toilet was shared with the next door room but otherwise it had private shower and sink.. The hotel is some way out of town but buses leave from just across the road or you can (as I did) walk about 15-20 minutes to the metro. In my view, the location is more than made up for by waking up in a design classic. Dinner in the "Architect''s Stomach" restaurant was not cheap but was amazingly good and service excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derbysvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed at the Unite as part of a university group in December. It is the worst place I have ever stayed in. Not just in terms of hotels, but in terms of anywhere. The management and organisation of this hotel is abismal, and whilst the price may appear reasonable for such a famous hotel, it is vastly overpriced for the complete lack of service provided. As other reviewers have said, the owner is a particularly rude lady, unlike the rest of the Marsaillaise who are lovely.

On our first day she interrupted a meeting and gave fifty students in their mid twenties a telling off like five year olds when she discovered some groceries in a room. This was not made clear to us at first, but after she had increased her volume, told us that the insects are coming back, scalded us as a group for not buying breakfast in the hotel, we were all made to feel most welcome. Later in the week whilst in the bar / reception area, she erupted once more, dismissing another member of staff in the process.

The smallest rooms are of architectural interest, but only stay one night if you must. In terms of convenience, the accomodation is basic. The bathrooms were badly maintained, some toilets are shared with the nextdoor room depending on which style room you book. There are no drinking / food facilities in the rooms, which is to be expected in France, this is only noticable in the Unite as the bar where you would expect to get an evening coffee was usually hired for private parties and out of bounds to visitors.

The biggest pain of the trip was the fact that I had to sleep in 4 different rooms in 7 nights for no apparent reason. This proved to be massively disruptive to the whole trip and will have longer lasting consequences in terms of research work not carried out. This peaked when we were moved to our final room, along with one too many students, who ended up being given a broken folding bed and having to sleep on the floor.

The Corbsier building is very interesting, but hold your visit whilst it is undergoing refurbishments. Give it a year or two and hopefully you will see it in its splendour, be able to access the roof terrace and it may possibly be under new management.....nil points!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToursDefectueux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Giniez
AC Hotel Marseille Prado Velodrome
New Hotel Bompard
#46 of 132 in Marseille
533 reviews
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
#52 of 132 in Marseille
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Giniez
B&B Hotel Marseille Prado Velodrome
Adagio Marseille Prado Plage
#72 of 132 in Marseille
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Corbusier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Corbusier

Address: 280 boulevard Michelet, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $107 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Corbusier 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unic hotel in an extraordinary place, the "cite radieuse Le Corbusier", just to live a unic experience . Small cabin room or very large room with the sea view you will enjoy your stay sharing the passion of architecture of the owners. Recently labelised for families and unable persons, they made big efforts to receive you in the best conditions. You can also enjoy a wonderfull diner in the restaurant "le ventre de l'architecte", gastronomic restaurant of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel le Corbusier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Corbusier Hotel
Le Corbusier Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing