We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Expedia.com
$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
ZenHotels.com
$112
View deal
Hotels.com$135
Priceline$135
Destinia.com$147
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveler rating
489
325
92
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
489
325
92
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vieux port separate shower large bedroom hotel bar first floor long weekend excellent breakfast an upgrade duplex
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 946 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2019

Room large with bathroom to match. All that you needed i.e. shower gel, shampoo etc.
Breakfast was amazing, great choice and healthy too.
Staff very helpful.
All in all a great stay, handy for sightseeing

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank MargaretB2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights in June so that we could use this as a base to day trip out to the surrounding areas and experience some of the region.

We originally booked a duplex room on the 5th floor. We were travelling from Italy and it was really late when we checked in. When we got to the room we were not impressed about the layout. Up a REALLY narrow set of stairs was the main bathroom and bed. There was only room to fit one suitcase not both our suitcases, so one had to  stay downstairs, which was not ideal.
Upstairs had a wardrobe built into a wall. This appeared to be an afterthought with only the capacity for a few items. Also outside the main bathroom there appeared to be an old really large bleach stain on the carpet. This room was not optimal for me as I have a knee problem at the moment and going up and down the narrow stairs all the time would be an issue.

We arranged for a superior single level room on the third floor which was much better, clean, spacious and all on one level.

This hotel is centrally located in old port where it's easy to get to boats and cruises.

Unfortunately the entire road out the back of the hotel,  the main entrance to the hotel is there, is being dug up and relaid. Each day there was a new pedestrian walk way laid out, but this was only a minor inconvenience...

The breakfast at the hotel was nice but they didn't appear to restock items regularly during the day,  so if you were late down to breakfast  (10am) then you might not get everything you like (fresh fruits,etc). It was a large assortment, but unfortunately if you don't like a lot of carbs then your options are quite limited.

Also we found that a lot of the tours didn't actually start until late June, early July. Almost everything we tried to book didn't actually start until after June 20th. Even though in the tour brochures from the office of tourism showed that the tours started on March 1st.... so beware WHEN you are booking Marseille for if your hope is to do some touring in the region.

So key take aways:
1. Don't go for the duplex room if you have knee, leg or hip problems (or if your a larger person) because the stairs are small and narrow. You'll have to climb them alot due to the overall room layout.
2. Road works should be completed in the next few weeks (after July 2019?)
3. Breakky is nice but gets a bit boring if you're staying for longer than a few days.
4. Get your dates right if you want to do touring or book tours from your travel agent before you go to ensure that you have them confirmed.
4. No gym or fitness center to speak of. So there's no where to burn off the excess calories consumed in breakky. So get walking around thise streets people!
5. No pool or anything else that you can swim in
6. Balcony space is a little limited
7. Mantenance of the balcony shutters (yeah only decorative, but still detracts from the overall impression of a recently uplifted hotel) is sadly lacking.
8. The room safes are simply screwed onto a board into their housing. The safe can be removed completely by removing the hinges to remove board and safe. This should be secured properly!!

Lastly, this is a Sofitel chain hotel. I would have expected more in terms of amenities and facilities management.
Even though the foyer and the floor common areas appeared updated, there were somethings that left me wondering why they hadn't fixed them or updated them. E.g. hand rail in the main lift was almost falling off. This may come completely off if someone grabbed it in an emergency......or the rooms themselves. They don't appear updated, just patches applied to the older room layouts. Illoical placement of writing desknin our room. Mirror over the writing desk didn't allow anyone to actually use it.

All in all an OK stay. Here's hoping that they update the rooms and broken facilities soon...!  I think damages like this should be detected and fixed by the hotel staff and not wait for customers to raise the issues.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank hanch02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay this is NOT it. We arrived and could not physically get to the hotel due to the street being completely torn up. (See pictures). The hotel knew this to be an issue. Why would they not have sent an email to give us a heads up and instructions on how to handle our arrival? There is NO outdoor space whatsoever so the view of the port matters not at all. The port view room was smaller than most NYC hotel rooms. Of u want to see the port then you have to suffer with the sun beaming into your eyes and subsequently heating the room up and it’s very hard to cook it down. This is a very noisy area and VERY crowded. We planned to stay 3 nights but left after 1. We moved to a wonderful hotel called C2 just a 5 minute walk away and it was fabulous. I plan to post more on their page. Also see pictures of our morning stroll this next am outside our hotel!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Brandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelBeauvau, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux-Port-MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Dear guest,

First of all, we apologize for the inconvenience. We are very concerned to offer quality services to our customers. Your comments are very precious to us.

About the public work, again, please excuse us but it is the public work of the city. We depend on our city and we can't handle that. This public work will be finished for the summer period. An email is sent to inform you about that and explain how to access our hotel. It may be that you have received this email in your spam or if you have booked via a website we are not always in possession of your email because it is about respect of your data.

About our hotel and his rooms, indeed we have no outdoor space but the view of the port and the sea is still nice and essential during a stay. In addition, we have the most central view of the harbor.
The area of ​​our hotel is central, it is surrounded by restaurants, shops, tourist places and transport stations such as bus, metro and boat, so it is very lively. I will check the soundproofing of your room but according to several customers, they are not disturbed by the noise.

Finally, each room has air conditioning so that our guests do not suffer from the heat. During the day, the exposure to the sun changes and you do not have the sun in your eyes throughout your stay.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Superb location. Very comfortable room with great view of the port. Excellent staff at reception, breakfast room and cocktail bar. Food was great in terms of quality and variety. Bar tender in cocktail bar made great drinks and was very knowledgeable about local wine.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelBeauvau, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux-Port-MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback ! It's always a pleasure for our team to read that.
Your appreciation will be share with the Grand hotel Beauvau's team.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay stay and we hope to see you again very soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandHotelBeauvau, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux-Port-MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews