We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubuski, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You won't regret staying here”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is great. In a quiet street but very close to the shops (Lidl and bakery just around the corner), restaurants (cheap ones as well as exclusive ones), caffes, clubs, taxis, basicly everything you need while in Marseille.
Only 200 meters from the port and really a safe and nice place to stay. Interior is decorated modern and nice. Common room and kitchen are extremely spacious. Rooms are clean and OK - stayed in 4 bed room with bathroom (you have bathroom and shower seperatly in your room), air conditioning, free WIFI and 3 computers. Breakfast was not bad - cerials , butter, jam, honey toast. Staff was helpfull and working 24 hours speaking good english. It's not extremely cheep but comparing to other similar accomodation and for this location - surely worth it. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slobodan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    87
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
6
18
87
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was my first trip hostelling and by myself. This hostel was so much better than any of the others I stayed at. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and nicely done. The breakfast was average (pretty much what I expected for a free breakfast). The security there was pretty good. There was always someone at reception ready to open the door late at night. I also walked to the hostel from the train station (on the advice of the guy at the information desk). It took me about 30 min (with my baggage) but on the way back I took the metro. Overall, a great place to stay! I would definitely stay again if I went to Marseille.
*One warning I would give is that this hostel is not very accessible if you have big luggage. I only had a small backpack but several roommates had big suitcases to lug up the stairs to the beds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia_m_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

There is no need to spend a bunch of money on a hotel in Marseille when you can stay here. If you are traveling solo this is your best bet. Clean and decorated nicely. The place is young and modern with lots of travelers hanging around. If you are traveling with another person you can easily stay in the double room with one set of bunk beds and have your own private bath for half the price of a decent hotel. The location is great and right on the port. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ligwa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The rooms are big, facilities great and the common room has a fully equipped kitchen which made budget travelling so easy! The staff were friendly and very helpful - the speak English too!

The hostel is a bit of a hike from the main train station, which was hard when youve got a bit of luggage. The breakfast is very plain - cereals, bread and some tea/coffee/juice.

When we stayed there we were kept awake by some late night party-goers in the common room and were worked up a few short hours later by the fire alarm being set off. We left pretty tired with headaches, but we didn't pay much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidema90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This a very stylish hostel. The kind you want your home to look like. I love everything about this hostel especially the nice gentleman at the front desk, he went out of his way to help us. Many thanks!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underwateraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Honestly, I have to admit that I stayed only one night in this hostel, but I really enjoyed it, I especially liked the fact that it is only 2 minutes walking distance from the Vieux Port. The receptionist was polite and also offered us to put a fifth matress in a room for four if we wished to. The breakfast is nothing special, you should be there on time but it's for free and not bad at all. The room was clean, cosy kitchen, a little bit louder than usual but it's a hostel not a hotel, isn't it?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickkk187153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

On arrival the hostel lulled us weary travellers into a false sense of security; the receptionist was neither overly friendly nor rude, both the facilities and room appeared clean and spacious.
However, we soon noticed the smell of urine that sporadically wafts through the hostel, perhaps coming from the air con? Despite of this unpleasant waft, the room was the cleanest I have stayed in!
A further and by far the largest criticism was the number of under age groups, who shrieked, banged doors and generally made pointless disruption on all night on all 4 nights. Hostel staff did nothing to prevent or stop this behaviour, despite the fact that this is not advertised as a party hostel.
The breakfast is nothing special, but get there early to avoid disappointment!
All in all the room was great, however the ambience was that of a slumber party and there were no opportunities to meet people who were interested in more than childish horse play.
I certainly will be looking elsewhere next time I visit.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpingjasper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 131 in Marseille
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port

Property: Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
Address: 38 rue Fort Notre Dame, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best hostel in France for 2011 by Hostelworld customers! As for Vertigo Centre that opened in 2007 , you can find the feeling of a second home here. We're located in the Old Port area, walking distance from beaches, bars, clubs, the central market and the famous Notre Dame church. We offer charming two-, three-, four-, five- and six-bed rooms. All of our dorms are very clean and equipped with comfy wooden bunk beds, private shower and toilet facilities. The five- and six-bed dorms are equipped with two private bathrooms. Every room in our hostel is carefully designed and decorated by local artists according to the unique character of each room. Our building was renovated from two typical buildings which makes for a modern cosy atmosphere, while at the same time it has the feel of a typical Marseillean house. We offer a ton of free amenities, such as breakfast, Wi-Fi, linen, a fully-equipped kitchen with free spices, city maps, personal travel info, use of our travel guidebooks, luggage storage, book swap and a valuables safe at reception - all for free! Our friendly, caring and multi-lingual staff are here 24hrs a day to answer all your questions. We'll try our best to make you have a memorable stay in our hostel and in Marseille. And of course there's no curfew, no lockout and no stupid rules! We'll make sure that you feel like you're home here. After you have been either on the road all day, or walking around in the city, you'll be able to relax in our cosy and friendly common areas, have a drink, talk and make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing