We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious mediterranean food in a modern setting”
Review of La Table du Fort

La Table du Fort
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
La Table du Fort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 2,129 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $56
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Saint-Victor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious mediterranean food in a modern setting”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We reserved in advance via the internet. Once inside the staff was attentive and pleasant. We took the Menu Plaisir, which was a delight on the palate. Hope to return there anytime soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    256
    37
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and delicious meal”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food was savory and memorable. I had the squash blossoms with one prawn (19 euros) and the risotto with langustines entree (24 euro). I would order these again. My husband had the rabbit appetizer, lamb duo entree and the chocolate banana split (menu 35 euros). Enjoyed the food but the service was alittle off for the level of food. Perhaps it was a language issue because our server had to constantly ask the other server to assist us. I thought it was odd that they didn't clean off the bread crumbs from our table before dessert (maybe this is not the custom in France). We spent about 130 euros including wine for the dinner. We have one open night in Marseille and are considering going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtzdwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food for not hungry people”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I will try to keep it short. Pluses:
+ Food was really good. I've eaten better, but I believe it is a matter of taste
Minuses:
- The staff DID NOT understand us almost AT ALL and was not that friendly and helpful. I felt awful, I was barely able to communicate
- If you are ready to spend around 130€ (with a wine) for a menu for 2 people and leave hungry do it. I do not eat a lot but the portions and aperitif served in a vodka-glass was very disappointing
-The atmosphere of the place-terrible. I felt there not comfortable the interior hmm...cheap and cold. It tries to be posh and classy, but the effect is hard to achieve by placing IKEA lamps and waitresses looking like from student pub.

To sum all up: I definitely won't go there again. The place does not attract, food is delicious but it is not enough. Prices relatively high. If you are curious - do it, but i believe you can find a better place to eat in Marseille.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlaPerpetua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Bon appétit”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely food, wonderfully presented. Contemporary and interesting decor. I'd go there again and recommend this place to anyone visiting Marseille and looking for a top notch meal. The selection of wine was great, and there's something for (virtually) everyone on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeraintLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top table for food and service!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

What luck to find this lovely restaurant just down the street from our B and B near the Vieux Port. We arrived 10 minutes before opening without a booking but were welcomed to take a seat and have a drink while perusing the menu. We chose the 35EuroMenu - a small but interesting choice which was beautifully cooked and presented. My husband is not a foodie but everything looked so tempting, he ate things he had never tried before and pronounced it all delicious. The restaurant filled up quickly, mostly couples, but the service remained excellent throughout, friendly and efficient with knowledgeable and helpful staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarilynCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table du Fort also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Table du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing