We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality Restaurant”
Review of La Table du Fort

La Table du Fort
Reserve with
La Table du Fort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 2,181 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $58
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Victor
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good quality Restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Service:
Female boss(?) is friendly and goes to length to explain the menu in English, interacts with customers. Thin male waiter who replies "Lamb/Tuna/Pork" when asked "What's this?". Obviously the female boss do a better job. However, both were polite and know English.

Atmosphere:
Soothing atmosphere. Tables were not too close to each other.

Food (35euro menu):

Pre-starter: A small cup of soup to start the meal. Tastes awesome, but cannot remember what it was.

Starter: Asparagus with Crab cake, accompanied by salad. I like how the asparagus go with the crabcake. The crabcake by itself is also tasty.

Main: Tuna. Tuna is nicely cooked. Outside layer was fully cooked and inside is semi-cooked. The taste is delicious. Must have had good control when cooking it.

Dessert: Pistachio Cream with Fresh Strawberries. Pistachio Cream is yummy.

Overall food is above average and value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phua_Zhengjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    262
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

1.. ..2.. ..3.. Happy sigh. What an amazing meal. Having read the many posative reviews we followed suit and everything they say is true. The couple that run the place are so lovely, the wife helped us out with the menu, offered us tap water rather than force mineral water on us, and helped us choose our wine. The food? Totally delicious the best meal we've had in ages. Really we can't reccomend this place enough. Happy times :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JesBreslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Of the the restaurants I've tried in France, this was the best one. The staff was friendly and very attentive. Overall, the ambiance of the restaurant was a bit quieter and more formal than I preferred, but nothing detrimental to the dining experience. The one dish that stood out was the Carpaccio. It was excellent. I wish I had a chance to go back, but we were in the area for only one night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The reviews are right, this place is good. We stayed in Marseille for 7 nights and ate here twice. Both nights were completely enjoyable.... from the first sip of champagne to the last crumb of the chocolate praline layer cake... delicious..
The ravioli de foie gras was excellent (rich), asparagus & crab was light & tasty, the boeuf cooked rare - perfect, the St Pierre also cooked perfectly. A 3 course meal for 2, bottle of wine & 2 glasses champs was approx 100euro... great value for money!!! We would recommend to everyone visiting Marseille. We made our booking on line, an easy way to do so if your traveling around alot. The staff were very friendly too!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Little Restaurant”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This restaurant was so good that we went there twice in our 5 day gastronomic tour of Marseille... and I had the same meal two days running!!! It was superb, thank you. The menu heralded a modern French cuisine which was beautifully presented by a very talented chef. Do not be put off by it's slightly odd location, this restaurant is definitely worth a visit. It's decor is a modern but a very comfortable space, it's staff, few, but not lacking in attention and were just great. It's wine menu was great with my favourite champagne being their 'special' champagne. But it's chef was superb... On top of all of this fabulousness, it was very reasonably priced... I think this husband and wife team are really going places, and I just hope it's in my direction! No wonder it is Trip Advisors no 1 restaurant in Marseille.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table du Fort also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Table du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing