We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Miramar

Le Miramar
Ranked #133 of 2,112 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $52 - $148
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bruges Belgique
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ou first impression of the restaurant was not very positive!
We were welcomed by a lady who wanted to dump us on the first floor in a dark corner. We refused and asked for a table in the main restaurant. Again we were offered the worst table in a corner. As we expressed our intention to leave it became suddenly possible to get a table at the window!! We decided to take no aperitive and no appetizer and this was visibly not what the waiter wanted to hear. The wines on the wine list are very expensive. We choose a côtes de Provence which was really not good and which we got the vening before for much less in an other restaurant. The fish of the day (rascasse) and the morue was excellent. Also the desserts were very good. The waiter was friendly but cool.
The total bill (175 euro) for this type of meal was too high. Although we had a good meal we left with mixed feelings and would not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    377
    233
    166
    189
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food But......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food is very good - Le Miramar is famous for its bouillabaisse and it was indeed truly good and while the food prices are high they are justified by the quality of the food.

So why not five stars? I offer three reasons.

First the restaurant is staggeringly crowded and you eat cheek by jowl with your neighbours (and this is preferable to the outer Siberia of tables in the overflow outside the restaurant).

Secondly, the service is very poor with the staff being rushed and chaotic but nonetheless managing to convey the impression that the diners were not worthy of being in the restaurant. I would add that you are asked to order desserts before the meal and this is always a sign of a restaurant that puts its own convenience ahead of its customers.

Finally the wine prices are nose bleedingly high with just about the highest mark-up I have ever encountered - as a rough guide, Le Miramar's prices are about 5 times UK retail prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Galahad_Threepwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service at a very high price.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Your paying for location. There are many restaurants that serve excellent Bouillabaisse for less. The service was poor at best. We waited a long time because we did not have a reservation that was to be expected. After seating is when everything went wrong. They did not acknowledge that we were there, did not get drink order or bring bread to the table. After a very long wait our order was finally taken but still no drinks or bread. One of the waiters knocked over a wine bucket full of ice water soaking my clothing through. They said they were sorry, but continued to laugh about it. My husband and I left after that. Friends who ate there the same evening stated that the food was good nothing special and complained of the poor service also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very bad and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very poor service.
Boullabaise was made from fish that were cooked in advance.
Very expensive.

Not worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annuska h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well, I had a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Yes, expensive, yes, formal service but as expected. We wanted to try bouillabaisse so (as per Marseilles TA forum advice) expected to pay E50 + for a decent meal. We booked in advance and it was a good plan as the restaurant was very busy. We has two complimentary pre-starters; the first - well, not too sure what it was - almost a pizza - thin bread with cheese and truffle but delicious, really got the taste buds going. Then another complimentary amuse bouche - a small glass of courgette caviare, iced gazpacho topped with a little fresh pesto. The bouillabaisse was perhaps a little to infused with saffron for my taste but the theatre of it all was a great experience. I will never do it again so made the most of it. A really good bottle of white wine went down a treat with out meal.
For dessert (in for a penny) was a Grand Mariner (hot) soufflé with a sorbet layered with fresh orange compote flambéed at the table. THE BEST DESSERT THAT I HAVE EVER HAD. Taste, theatre...just lovely. My son had a compote of berries...with lots of extra bits (can't remember it all but delicious). Then we thought - what the heck and ordered an Irish Coffee, Now, I can make an decent Irish coffee but I've never seen one with 3 distinct layers - just wonderful to drink. Our bill came after many wonderful hours of eating and drinking with a selection of 5 or 6 petite four's and chocolate.
Our waiter, Sebastian made our evening - answering questions and explaining things we didn't quite understand. All the staff ( and there were more than a few) made us feel welcome and special. So yes - it was expensive but will I remember it as an exceptional (never to be repeated) meal ? YES, YES AND YES!. I did take some photos so will try to upload them later if I can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Miramar also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing