We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment”
Review of Le Miramar

Le Miramar
Ranked #129 of 2,181 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $52 - $148
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Where do I begin? I booked the Miramar because we wanted to try bouillabaisse in Marseille and had heard of their 'pedigree'. It was such a shame that the evening was one big disappointment. On the plus side, the bouillabaisse was wonderful. Unfortunately, that was it because the service was atrocious. We reserved a table, specifically asking for one outside. They forgot - or couldn't find our reservation. We said we were prepared to wait for an outside table and could we have a drink inside. We were kept waiting for nearly an hour, because they forgot we were waiting inside but seated other couples who just walked in and asked for a table in the meantime. And all we were offered by way of an apology was some breadsticks. Once we were seated the service was exceptionally slow and they forgot our drinks order, twice. The bill at the end of the night was very expensive but the worst part of it was that it was not discounted in any way, given the manner in which we had been treated. There was no acknowledgement of the appauling service so whilst the food was good, we did not enjoy the experience. We will be returning to Marseille next year because we fell in love with the city, but certainly not to Le Miramar. It is trading on past glories and could do with a few lessons in Customer Service 101. If you want a special experience and are prepared to pay that little bit extra, stay clear of Le Miramar and head for Le Petit Nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank StoneRoses83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    404
    240
    170
    196
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sublime meal”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We came for the bouillabaisse and were warned that it was expensive but we were so impressed with the service, wonderful food and the additional tidbits offered gratis by the chef. It is an experience worth having.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank xtinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Only go there if you are French, not too hungry (or; a big money spender...)!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were two adults and one child visiting the restaurant because it was recommended to us by the receptionist of our hotel. We ordered two local fish-plates by the chef waiters suggestion at € 36, - each and asked the waiter if the rations were big enough to split with our child, which he confirmed. By receiving them, we realized this was not the case and had to order a ration of pasta for him, meaning that he had to wait for his food while the parents were eating and visa versa. The food was tasty, but the rations were far from large enough to satisfy a hungry Scandinavian male who had to finish his sons pasta as well… The house red wine (served by glass) was excellent. The chocolate desert – as well! One ration to share was plenty for everybody. My main complaint about this restaurant was the level of service and attention received by the staff. We had to ask for even the most obvious things, such as; napkins, a fork, more water, more wine and so on during the whole meal, while the French speaking group of people on the table adjacent of us seemed to have a large staff of waiters circling around them constantly. The Germans to our right looked to be suffering from the same lack of attention. Le Miramar pretends to be in the prestige/ luxury class with a large number of waiters serving different purposes at high prices. As a foreigner I expect to be treated equally and be paid the same level of attention as everybody else. As this surely was not the case here; I can not recommend a visit to Le Miramar/ Marseille.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelalotOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Expensive but exceptional!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our special treat and at over £200.00 it ought to be. Service was impeccable from the very start. Truffle on thin toast was our first taster, then an amuse bouche of saffron rice, which was really lovely. Smoked salmon with all the trimmings, with stuffed squid as a starter, then grilled sea bass with provencal sauce for partner and lobster fricasee for me - this was exceptional, tender and buttery and very rich. A wonderful red wine to accompany. The desserts were fantastic, a lovely raspberry tart and a red berry compote with sorbet. A final complementary digestive and we left satisfied and replete. The service throughout was friendly and efficient with the staff appreciating being asked about different dishes on the menu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Overpriced and then we got ripped off on top of it!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Here you have a restaurant that supposedly is one of the best in the world for Boullebaise. Hah!
It started off well, in spite of the dust, dirt, noise and general ugliness of the Vieux Port renovations. Waiter was attentive, drinks came quickly..
We had heard about the Boullebaise and three of our party of four decided to try it. As we were about to order three Boullebaise, the waiter in broken English said to us that there was a lobster Boullebaise special. Mmmm, we thought, yes, we'll have that even though it was a bit more expensive, but what the hell, when you are paying 59 Euro for a dish!
We were first served a plate of broth, then we were presented with a full plate of fish Boullebaise and then the waiter arrives with a full plate of lobster Boullebaise for each of us! We thought, hey, that's a LOT of food, and struggled to even finish the second plate before even looking at the lobster!
Imagine our shock when we got the bill for 514 Euro for four people, one of which had just eaten a salmon dish only and didn't even partake in the Boullebaise! We had been charged FOR TWO MAIN DISHES EACH!. We protested but our French is neglible and the restaurant's personnel's English was as bad as our French. We had a ferry to catch so couldn't prolong the dispute and paid the bill under protest.
I subsequently sent emails to the restaurant but got no reply. What do they care, they had our money.
Now am I wrong in thinking that this is a rip-off. Does the Miramar really believe that we wanted two main courses EACH? I don't think so.
So everyone, watch for this ploy, I haven't come across this one before in my extended travels. The Hungarians rip you off on the Budapest Metro, the Russians rip you off by fining you when overstepping too close to an exhibit in the Kremlin, but here's a new one for you!
Miramar, you proudly say that you are a founding member of the Boullebaise Charter. After this episode, I wonder what other members think of you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Miramar also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing