We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time isn't the charm”
Review of Hotel de l'Ariana

Hotel de l'Ariana
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Ariana
Ranked #114 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd time isn't the charm”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our second time staying at hotel l'ariana. First time was wayyyy better. We noticed, as pointed up by the latest reviewer, that the streets around the hotel are not as safe as used to be. First day there and we saw young teens shooting up drugs and leaving needles all over ( first time I had EVER seen that up close!!! they didn't even stop as we were passing by). We also noticed that coming home late meant we would have to walk by all the homeless as the small street has a bit of a shelter cover for them. The rooms were also not as clean as I remember them. The place was just more run-down than it used to be 4 years back. Location/proximity to vieux port and train station is still as excellent obviously, as was the young guy at the front desk. He let me make long distance calls from his cell phone when I couldn't get my phone to work and he would wait downstairs by the door when we were coming back late ( we told him we didn't feel as safe walking through the alley way ( it's only about 500 metres, but still quite intimidating for 3 girls! lol).
There are only narrow stairs up the 4 storeys of the hotel so heavy bags were a pain to drag up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundtheglobe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    13
    6
    16
See reviews for
6
21
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We made a big mistake booking this hotel. It looked to be in a very dangerous area of town, outside the hotel was drunks, druggies, and ladies of the night shall we say and we arrived in the afternoon. Almost impossible to get to by car and even harder to get out, as the road is destroyed at the other end, luckily we were on an adventure bike. The hotel did look on the lower end of the 2star rating but as I did not actually stay here I would not like to comment. I would just like to warn travellers of the hotels location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leefaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

London UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's basic but it's clean and cheap and on a nice pedestrianised street. Very friendly and helpful man on reception. No good if you have heavy luggage and can't cope with steep stairs, but that apart, it's just fine, and reasonable value for money.
AB

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This 2 star hotel is located right next to the French theatre and was excellent in its location. For the rate paid it was what I expected. Decent beds, washroom and toilets were tiny but clean and sheets were changed for a small fee.
The reception was open 24hrs and the man behind th desk was very nice and helpful. Walls were thin which means you gotta keep it down but for the service and location, this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Palais-de-Justice
Sylvabelle Hotel
Sylvabelle Hotel
#116 of 131 in Marseille
223 reviews
Hotel Lutetia
#113 of 131 in Marseille
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#82 of 131 in Marseille
109 reviews
Préfecture
Hotel de la Prefecture
Hotel de la Prefecture
#105 of 131 in Marseille
99 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#90 of 131 in Marseille
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ariana

Property: Hotel de l'Ariana
Address: 12 rue du Theatre Francais, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel de l'Ariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing