We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel London Connection
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“run!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I was so disappointed when I read the reviews on this place AFTER I booked it! I was hoping people were just exaggerating. Lets run through the positives: 5 minutes from train station. That's all. Kind of not positive though because it's in a rough area. The hostel was WAY overpriced. It's pretty dirty, the rooms are tiny! Crammed three story bunk beds in each room. No lockers, wifi costs €3, you can't walk around in shoes, 12am curfew, no food in rooms, no alcohol on the premises, I could go on and on. The toilets flush button is broken. There's mould on like everything in the bathroom. The guy who runs the place is iffy. Please don't stay here it's not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brookearchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    9
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
1
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night...too long. One of the few hostels I could find in marseille which had space so thought I'd give it a go. As other reviewers have said, this place is about a 3 bedroom apartment filled with bunk beds.

No common areas, really cramped hallway and rooms. If you like space then this hostel is not for you. 3 euro for wifi.

Sheets are obviously not changed too often, I chose to sleep with a sleeping bag. The air conditioner was great for most of the night before it was turned off (I suspect by the owner as he keeps the control in his office). The bathrooms are disgusting. Algae or some organic scum growing in the toilets and I recommend avoiding touching any of the shower walls.

I avoided spending any unnecessary time in this hostel. I suggest checking in, leaving straight away, and returning to sleep late at night.

I think the owner sleeps in one of the bunks in the 16 bed dorm, but slept in his office the night I stayed... Kind of weird.

25euros is too much for a hostel of this standard, should be more like 15

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyageur203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Awful !! Not to go !! We were welcoming with a rude guy telling us that he might not accept us since we were a group of 4 ! ( pretending that this clause was written in the hotel description). The hostel is totally crap (actually a flat turned into a hostel). Three tiny rooms with up to 16 beds and insufficient air conditioning. WC and shower in the same place and only one shower working properly (the second is just a pipe). We found this hostel totally not worth the price paid!! Honestly not to go!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinoVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Pros:
Near rail station
Within walking distance to the port
Cheap
Meet lots of people

Cons:
Sheets don't get changed between people, no pillow covers
Extremely cramped rooms (triple bunk beds)
Bathroom/toilet without any ventilation, looks like under construction, one shower doesn't work
Not allowed to walk with shoes, only barefoot (see who wins foot fungus lottery), also as a result foot smell everywhere
Wifi not free (3 euros)
Bag storage not free (3 euros)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Semi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the owner, he is friendly and helpfu also its close to the main station.

The rooms were over crowded with beds leaving no space for luggage, hostel is a 3 bed apartment converted into a hostel that sleeps 24 people! You can feel the springs in the triple story bunk beds. Zero privacy in the bathroom if ur planning on having a shower and no room for anything. The kitchen was ok but there is no communal space. Not worth €22. There r much nicer hostels around for that price.

Location is close to charles station which is great if ur arriving by shuttle bus from the airport just 10min walk.

Wifi is not included, extra charge for it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazTheFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

It's a comfortable place, clean and quiet. Beds are big and cozy :P
Really close to the train station: Gare Saint Charles, and 15 min walk from the port and commercial area. I thought the neighborhood wasn't very safe when I first arrived but then I realized It's a very nice place, there's a school around the corner (ecole des abeies). Max is a great host and he'll probably speak to you in whatever language you speak in. I stayed there for about a week and I'd defenitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuenosAiresVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Kitchen and Wifi facilities, really friendly owner Max. Had a great time and met really cool people :)

Room Tip: there is 1 double bed bunkbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raako71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#104 of 131 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
Hotel Vertigo - Vieux Port
#2 of 44 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel London Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel London Connection

Property: Hostel London Connection
Address: 22 boulevard Camille Flammarion | 3rd Floor Left Buillding, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Marseille
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide free breakfast Free WIFFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel London Connection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing