We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near the Gare Saint-Charles and the old port” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Petit Paris Marseille

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marseille
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Petit Paris Marseille
Ranked #123 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Moscow
Level Contributor
899 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Near the Gare Saint-Charles and the old port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel has a good location - in Canebiere district, near the border with Belsyuns. The train station Saint-Charles and the old port is approximately in the same distance - 8 minutes on foot or so. But the hotel is located in a short street aside, so there's plenty of quietness for such a busy and bustling city like Marseille. If you go down from the hotel to the Cour Belsyuns, opposite you can see three high buildings. And to the right side from them a small bus station, to the left - Rue Canebière. Turning to it, you reach the port in some two or three minutes. Of course, hotels, shops, restaurants are there in plentitude. And the Mediterranean sea without doubts.
The hotel ia normal, I had no complaints about its amenities, rooms and equipment. At the reception I was given a map of the city, although in Canebière tourist office there are lot of them (even in Russian). Receptionist let me even open my mailbox using his notebook, and make in order my new letters mail. It took for me about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentbrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    13
    15
    25
See reviews for
5
15
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Placed in the worst neighbor of marseille (we even attended a purse snatching just in front of the hotel) it has very old rooms, small, smelly, no air condition (very important in marseille in summer), broken shower, dirty, ridicoulos staff (the owner opened us the door dressed with a bath towel) you can t call hotel a place like this. Stay away from there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Semperxx85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We got there in the night and it was scary looking. It was difficult to get a hold of the owner to let us in. Luckily we found some gentlemen at a close by fast food place that kept calling and calling until we finally got let in.

We went up about 4 flights of stairs with our packs on and entered a rugged, old room. I slept with all my clothes on.

I guess if you're roughing it, it can work. It had a private bathroom. I only used the toilet.

Location was about 15 min walk from the train station, mind you, we got lost for over an hour after 12am which was not a good impression on us of Marseille.

All in all, if you need somewhere to rest your head, this can work, it was 40EU for the night, which i found a lot.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allenacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were looking for a cheap hotel in Marseille and found "Little Paris"... Very modest room, but don't expect 5-star luxury for such low price. Service was amazing, but you'd better speak French or Arabic to get along.

If you're on a budget, you can try out this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry_O999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights. Our main reason for booking was cost. Granted it was cheap, and Im fully aware that you get what you pay for. I wasn't expecting five star luxury, but this hotel was dreadful. The area is shocking. The rooms at best can be described as poor. Live wires on the wall. On suite means a shower in the corner of the room. Tatty beds and sheets. I felt unsafe here. I wouldn't recommend staying here. Definitely pay a little bit more for somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Hotel du Petit Paris is a no-frills hotel near the St. Charles train station in Marseille. My room was clean, relatively quiet, and the staff decent. Don't be scared away by the hotel, it's a solid, safe, value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
New Hotel Of Marseille
#21 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Massilia Hotel
#77 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Paris Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Paris Marseille

Property: Hotel du Petit Paris Marseille
Address: 33 rue Tapis Vert, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing