We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic but clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Elen, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“basic but clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights. We chose this hotel partially because there was affordable parking space available (12 euro/day). It's located opposite the train station, were you can take the bus or metro into the old centre. Train stations usually aren't the nicest places in a city, and Marseille is no exception, but the hotel seemed to have good security systems. The breakfast is continental, but there is plenty of choice. Our room was spacious and clean. The overall look of the hotel is modern and clean. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathelijne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    382
    136
    23
    27
See reviews for
172
278
61
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We are platinum members and stayed on points! We have a beautiful corner room on the executive floor. Great view of Notre Dame on the hill. Do your research this is about 3 yrs. old and next to the St. Charles train station. Easy walk. Our room and we found this also in Nice at the Holiday Inn they really limit your supply of towels only 2 and no shampoo or lotion at all. They do have hand soap that is in containers like on the cruise ship in the shower and at the sink. Management at ck in was Awsome. They spoke great English and were very helpful. We went to dinner, and on return our room was hot. No air on! Hum!!!!! My husband said it was not working so I called the front desk, and they turned it back on full blast for me. Said that if a window is opened that there is a sensor that automatically turns off the air. We ckd and sure enough one of the windows was ajar. Probably the maid did not shut it all the way. It was very windy when we went to dinner. But they were so kind and had it on ASAP! Would we come back here? You betcha.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dave92024,

Many thanks for your nice review.
Our guest satisfaction is our priority, that is why we are really happy when we discover a comment like yours.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome yo again very soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just what we would expect from HIE. Wasnt happy to stay opposite the station, but that is where they built the hotel. We were givrn a smoking room, easioy changed to a large corner room. Generslly, all was good. Would'nt go back to Marseilles thought.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed one night here on route to another destination. The hotel was basic but clean and modern. The staff we found very helpful and the location was good to access most places as the metro stop was opposite. We had a very restful night in a quiet air conditioned room and a very nice breakfast good value for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzaburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

i see that there are pretty negative review recently about this hotel. maybe i am very lucky because i did not see much problem with the hotel and the service. The location is perfect for someone visit Marseille the first time as it's right opposite the main railway station. and can easily take metro or train for travelling in the city and outsie of city. the room is clean enough, the staffs are friendly and helpful, i consult them 3 times for getting to Casis, to old port and to the airport, everytime i get very clear answer wth marking in the map and detailed explanation. the breakfast is standard, but quite sufficient for someone who is not looking for luxious stuff, have everything people usually need, fresh Croisson and good coffee, whatelse people may ask for a good French style breakfast? i won't say it's the best hotel in Marseille, but for the price you paid, it's a good value. it meets my expectation, nothing to complain.

Room Tip: perhaps can ask for room not towards the street to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qijia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is nice for holidays , and visiting the city of Marseille but for business its just terrible , they advertise that they have internet , but connection is very very slow , and very limited , you can just browse website and read emails , nothing more , the internet is filtered and as i said before very slow, even slower than dial-up connections , and cannot work at all ! I came here for work and i had to buy a 3G subscription to done my work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Nikolas N,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us.
We are sorry to find out that you had problems with the Internet access.
Did you try to connect you with an ethernet cable or only with the Wifi Acess?
Feel free to contact me over the phone to understand exactly what happened.

Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN,Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First and foremost I need to make a very important observation. This Holiday Inn Express (HIE) appears to be another example of the HIE brand being leased to a third party. Based on the plaque that is above the front desk, this hotel is not operated by IHG, but by Saint Charles Station.

We arrived at this HIE for a four day trip to Marseille and chose this hotel due to its proximity to Saint Charles Station. As it is directly outside the station, the location is ideal for travelers to the region both for leisure or business. Breakfast was limited,though pretty standard for HIE. The benefit of this hotel however stops at the door.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed by the staff member on duty who though very pleasant, was not greatly skilled in English. I asked for a room upgrade (with full intention of paying more) but the language barrier proved to be too great and we were completely misunderstood. I said fair enough, it happens and we cannot expect everyone to speak English fluently.

Next we arrived at the room which was not the cleanest I have seen. We tried to use the kettlle and found a near liter of sour milk/tea which had been left by the previous guests and had not been cleaned by the housekeeping staff. Not to be thrown off, I simply washed the kettle out with hot water and continued on.

Then however we discovered the real problems. Blood stains on the mattress pad, (which was an issue that never got resolved), rats on the terrace (though I will acknowledge that Marseilles is a port city and therefore prone to rats), and a generally unclean and uncaring atmosphere. For example, on close examination of the mattress, sheets, and mattress pad; I counted several bodily fluid stains including blood that were both easily detectable or easily removed. When this issue was raised with the staff on duty, my concerns were not taken seriously and it was made very obvious that the staff had very little time for my concern. One member of the staff made it clear that he would just take the stained mattress pad and not replace it, and that we would just have to get over it.

Fundamentally, this is the second negative experience I have had with HIE in general and in each negative case it has been one of these third party arrangements. Following this stay at HIE, though I am a Gold Elite member and prefer IHG brands in general, I will no longer book any HIE that I have not previously stayed. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone in the area if you are looking to meet North American Holiday Inn Express standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg_Newfoundland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Greg_Newfoundland_CA ,

Many thanks for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We are really sorry to read that you had such a bad experience at our hotel
I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeper to understand what happened with your room.
Please contact me directly by phone to solve this issue.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.1 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing