We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to overnight near the train station in Marseille.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good place to overnight near the train station in Marseille.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a decent place to stay if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel right near the St. Charles station.
The property is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and WIFI is free.
All that said, our biggest disappointment was that the rooms are very, very tiny and HOT. Unfortunately, The AC wasn't working in our room and we sweated all night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    391
    140
    25
    27
See reviews for
178
282
62
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The neighborhood is rough and unpleasant at night. The Hotel was somewhat as expected from reading the reviews but as said in the title we got someones room.

Sort of friendly but the receptionist only said the most necessary things. Got a a room on the first floor. We open the door and the room smells. This was due to 1) The Hotel has poorly ventilated rooms and 2) Dirty socks and underwear, wet towel etc on the floor from someone. That person also had valuables lying around but was not present and we excited as fast as we could!

Back to the receptionist who looked shocked when we told him and he did said "Sorry" and started typing on the computer, reading stuff from drawers, running way (to the room?) and whatnot. We waited there really tired for a good 25 minutes. During this time they could have said something. Actually they should have said; please sit down in the reception and I'll call our bartender over for a complimentary drink.

However we stood there and once they managed to solve the issue and gave us a new room key they said sorry again and showed no will to show some good will and we just wanted the room you know?

As we both prefer the stairs over the elevator we took the room key and walked the stairs to our new room in darkness (stair lightning was one of those with detector but was broken).

Our new room smelled less damp then previous room had but during the stay I did notice that the ventilation was poor.

We slept in and came down late to breakfast. Be aware that they started to clear away pretty early (about 20 minutes before breakfast ended at 10.30).

We forgot paste and shampoo and the reception could help us with this something we appreciated. The checkout went smooth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Karl K,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

.The hotel is quite new and a typical Holiday Inn Express, clean well maintained and adequately furnished, A continental breakfast is provided which was perfectly adequate with a reasonable range of choices. There is no dining room in the hotel standard for [HI Express] and unfortunately there are no reasonable restaurants in the vicinity, a bar nearby offers meals but only on certain evenings for some reason. Perhaps because of this the hotel has a small range of frozen meals that are available in the lounge and can arrange take out meals from a city restaurant

Despite the absence of restaurants in the area, the location is directly opposite the Marseliie Train Station, simply exit the station, cross the road and you're there, for Train an excellent location for train travelers although persons travelling by other means may find other hotels to be more convenient

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

New hotel, next to train station, with good value, large rooms etc. Very helpful staff, goog internet connections, FROM OUR ROOM. Breakfast, average for this level of hotel. Great having train stn so close for day trips.

Room Tip: South side city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Crest, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles from May 20-May 21, 2013. We were coming off a cruise and decided to stay one night before traveling back to Chicago. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00 a.m, and our room wasn't ready, we were told the room would be unavailable until 3:00 p.m. which technically was check in time. We decided to go to the airport to check on our rreservations since we had a slight problem before we left
Chicago. The shuttle bus runs every 15-20 minutes and runs 24 hours. We left fot the airport around 10:30 am and returned around 11:45 am. We were told a room was ready and we could go in. Standard room, very clean nice size and nice size bathroom. Plenty of towels, and extra bonus the television had an english option. We were able to watch the news and movies on On Demand. The hotel offered dinner in the evening for a price, they did not except the dollar you had to pay in Euros. Dinner was a little pricey for what they offered, but I didn't see any other restaurant in the area, so you are kinda of stuck. Food was good, though. Staff very friendly and accomodating, the hotel also offered a free breakfast in the morning which was nice. An upgraded continental breakfast that offer bacon. This is the perfect hotel for those travelers who need a good nights rest and not looking at a long or extended stay. The hotel is located between 10-15 minutes from the airport and is set in an industrial/residential area. It also has a pool. The pool area was clean and well maintained. I would stay there again, for a short or overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Some reviewers of this place must have unrealistic expectations !!

Found it entirely pleasant; modern; clean; well-staffed and well-located. Good complimentary breakfast too.

Ideally rooms with private terrace overlooking the city are to be preferred, although services of a keen rooftop gardener would add to the ambience.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

HUGE family room, very clean, everything seemed brand new still.

Unfortunately, the area is rather... unattractive, considering the people you see hanging out. For an "obviously American" family it was rather disheartening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRuffcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MrsRuffcutt,

Many thanks for your trust.
We are happy to read that you have liked our hotel.
However, we are sorry that the hotel location did not meet your expectations.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#30 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing