We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a difference between the two...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Telluride, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a difference between the two...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The saint charles - near the train station - Rooms ok but all the rest terrible.no dishes for breakfast. Every answer was-)wrong -for example no shuttle to the airport even if we were told they have ...on the very day we had to arrive to the air port. Avoid it !!!

But the one in the air port -recommended!!!nice clean -buffet on supper ok. Lovely polite and supereb team. Recommended - holiday inn express of air port marseille.order this one!

Room Tip: Choose the holiday inn air port marseille not the other near the train station
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 33667Leabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear 33667Leabk,

Many thanks for your trust.
We are sorry to discover that you did not enjoyed your stay with us.
Regading the airport shuttle, there is a public one that links the airport and the train station.
We are sorry that you have not been informed about that.....We do apologize.
Moreover, We take good note of your comments about the breakfast service.

We hope that you will give another try to our hotel.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    412
    148
    27
    31
See reviews for
187
296
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent one night in Marseille and this hotel was very good. The front desk staff was very friendly, very helpful and spoke very good english. We got good directions from them for walking around town. They ordered a taxi for us to go to the Notre Dame, no problem. The breakfast was excellent...many choices and good quality. This is the only chain hotel we stayed in during our 10 days in Spain/France and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear GeorgeV3551,

Many thanks for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to read that you have liked our hotel.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again as soon as possible.
Regards,

Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

From airport by coach and train take Bvld Bourdet exit and its there!
Couple of steps but once you are in its flat.
Staff very helpful and multilingual. Rooms pleasant, clean with satellite TV.
Bar convivial and outside terrace sheltered if weather not so good.
Breakfast simple and standard.
Close to Vieux Port with loads of shops nearby.
Only downer is some of characters around the station if late night walking. Metro from station quick and easy.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms may be noisy. Non-smoking rooms sometimes used as smoking rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynnwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Flynnwales2,
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A very good hotel in a great location two minutes walk from the Gare Saint Charles railway station. Exit from the Boulevard Bourdet exit and the hotel is right in front of you. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and served in quite a wide time span. The room I had was large with a small shower/wc cubicle in the corner. it had a flat screen tv with about 60 + TV and radio channels on it. The room was equipped with a kettle and tea and coffee, the first I've seen in all the French hotels I've stayed in. At night it could be a little noisy being so close to the station but I had some ear plugs with me so it wasn't much of a problem but could be if you were a light sleeper. There weren't many eateries nearby but the hotel was a 20 minute walk to the Vieux Port and if you wanted to use the metro it was 2 stops away. There were plenty of restaurants and bars in that area. The hotel also had a bar and did snacks if you wished to eat there. In all a great place to stay and I would certainly use this hotel again if I come back to Marseille.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayraynewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear rayraynewby,
Many thanks for your stay with us.
We are satisfied to hear that you have spent a great time with us.
We lookf forward to welcoming again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt/Main
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sometimes stayed in Holiday Inn Express somewhere...
I do not expect the hotel so much and always enough to sleep well.

Price : Fine and worthy. Good as 3-star hotel.
Service : Fine (but no German TV Channels such as ARD, ZDF...)
Room : Good to sleep. Bathroom has no amenity but i always have some. So, no problem at all. Shampoo (also as body shampoo) is there.
Breakfast : Good enough :-) Coffee is very French ... well, you should not think of the good one ;-)
Internet(WIFI) : Now free!
Place : If know Marseille, it is very convenient to go everywhere. But far from the port (if you wanna stay near the port.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
dear juncool,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us to improve the guest experience. Regarding the German Tv channels, we take good note of your comment.
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A 4 day holiday to Marseille, staying at the Holiday Inn Express - just opposite the railway station - was a reasonably priced deal from BA.
The hotel is conveniently placed for the Vieux Port and the city centre.
Breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, meats and cheeses, breads and patisseries - as much as you like.
A lovely clean hotel with free wi-fi in the large rooms and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pams595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear pams595,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We have shared your comments with the team who is pleased to hear from satisfied guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Best Regards,

Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights - Tuesday to Saturday.

The hotel overlooks Marseille St Charles railway station and is literally just across the road from there. Most rooms overlook the busy road and rail station.

The hotel has 120 rooms - some rooms are superior rooms. The hotel states that 6 have a view and 3 have a terrace. We believe our room was a standard one and we were more than satisfied with our view from the 8th floor - overlooking the station and the mountains beyond.

There was some resdidual noise from outside - but none that was troublesom - in face we heard very little noise - either from inside or outside the hotel.

Our room was clean and spacious with tea/coffe making facilities and a free to use safe. The TV have almost 40 channels - some English speaking news channels as well as French / German / Italian and Arabic.

Breakfast was served from 06:30 until 10:30 and consisted of the usual continental offerings of cereals / ham / cheese / bread / croissants etc. There is a vending machine (chocolate etc) in the reception area.

We received free WiFi in our room and there is a small business centre with a couple of computers which can also access the Internet free of charge.

It would take about 20 minutes to walk to the Veux Port area of Marseille from the hotel but there is a Metro station below St Charles railway station.

Reception staff were polite and spoke good English.

The hotel was not perfect but issues were resolved quickly and it would be pedantic to mark the hotel down on some small trivial issues.

We would definately stay here again if we were in Marseille.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Skeldergate,

Many thanks for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Marseille.
We are delighted to notice that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing