We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for meetings at University of Marseille” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect for meetings at University of Marseille”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Right in front of the train station and few minutes walk to the University district. Very modern and friendly staff at reception desk. Complimentary internet access. Breakfast is OK, but nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: The road facing the station can be rather noisy, better ask for a room facing the back side (the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123v_i_n_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    382
    136
    23
    27
See reviews for
172
278
61
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and were quite satisfied with the clean room and comfortable bathroom (good shower!). Although the room was not very big it had everything we needed, including a table to work with your laptop. You could also boil water and make coffee or tea yourself. Our room was at the rear part of the hotel and we had no noise whatsoever. The old port is just 15 min. walking and the train station is 20 steps away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear DREY L,

This is a great pleasure to discover your nice review. Your satisaction is our best reward.
We do really hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Ideally I think this hotel would be about a 3.5 rating, but since that isn't available I'll give them a 4. I stayed several nights and can attest that the hotel is clean but very bare bones and that the area is bad. Next time I would definitely stay in Vieux Port, knowing what I know now. The best thing about the hotel is the very warm reception staff. All of the ladies working reception were excellent. I wasn't crazy about the cold breakfest selections though and would have liked at least something hot. The price was good and it was convenient to the Metro. Definitely don't wander around after dark.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear RYE,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion with us.
We are happy to learn that you liked our hotel and our staff.
Regarding the area, we are sorry that you did not appreciate it.
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN,Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was a very nice, clean and efficient hotel near the airport.
Unfortunately, we did not eat there the night before our flight home as the menu was very generic, all microave food and expensive. We went to the nearby Ibis Hotel, their van shuttled us there and picked us up. Great grilled meats and service. Our room at Holiday Inn was
really nice, i got the larger room for a little more, we could stretch out and feel comfortable.
Would recommend staying there but going to Ibis for dinner.

Room Tip: get a room with sitting area, it makes it feel larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2run2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is opposite railway station and TGV and about 2 minutes walk (google maps incorrectly says 900m) to the platforms. Excellent location, off street secure parking, multilingual and helpful staff. Family room is large and perfect for a family of four. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Steve B,
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us.
We are happy to discover that you did like our hotel and that you find our family room spacious.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow/Poznan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in September 2010 just for one night, as we landed in Marseille airport and were heading to friends wedding in Montpellier. We wanted to visit Marseille and after reading reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay in this hotel. That was one of our favourite short-term stay hotels ever. When we arrived from airport by bus to central station in Marseille, we didn't need to travel anywhere. The hotel is just opposite the station! It is both train and bus station so it's very convenient! We had a very pleasant check-in. Until now I remember that staff was extremely nice and helpful and they spoke English very well. When we got to our room, we were very impressed. The room was very fresh, new and stylish. It was very clean and I remember there were some trendy lights in the room and bathroom. But the most memorable thing that we remember until now and haven't had it since in any other hotels anywhere, were the pillows! Yes, the pillows! There were two types: softer and harder and they were so comfy and the bed too! We slept like kings. I think that was one of the best sleeps I had. Must have been if I remember it so well even after 1.5 years! In the morning the breakfast was really delicious and a good choice. There was a nice terrace on which you could have your breakfast too. The hotel's location was very convenient for sightseeing too. We check out but left our luggages in the hotel and they were very helpful with that. We walked everywhere from the hotel. We walked around the city, to the port and alongside the coast. We spend the whole day walking and it was a lovely day. To the port it was about 10-15 minutes walk. It's easy to see the city in 1 day, but we regretted we didn't have more time to stay.
I remember it was excellent value for money at the time too and that was also one of the reasons we booked it.
We will definitely be back to this hotel, when come to Marseille again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear azmira1,
This is a great pleasure to discover your lovely review. We are truly happy that you enjoyed our hotel and its services.This is true that the location of the hotel is very convenient, very close form the city center and just in front of the train station.
When do you plan to come back to our great city?
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is just footsteps from the train station; also you can get to the bay in 20 minutes’ walk. The room was small, but this is the norm for France 3 stars hotels.
The bed was comfortable and clean, so was the bathroom. If you want to avoid some noise from the road ask for rooms not facing the train station.
The French breakfast was adequate.
Value for money is low, note that French hotels are expensive.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid some noise from the road ask for rooms not facing the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAFLANNOUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear FAFLANNOUDE,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you found our hotel well located, comfortable and clean. Our guest satisfaction is our best reward.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.1 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing