We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad neighbourhood”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel seems brand new and as such was really nice. Staff freindly and helpful. Rooms nice and if you get the right room you can have nice views. Breakfast was included but I would recommend having it elsewhere as it was very ordinary and considering we were in France on a holiday we wanted to experience nice French bakery breakfast rather than a poorly made, stale croisant.

The worst thing about the hotel is the location as it's right near the cetral railway station. The fact that you need to walk through a dark and dodgy neighbourhood to get to and from all tourist attractions and restaurants (meaning the port area) where you could see men only after 7pm who looked upon women as if they were a piece of meat (i.e. prossies) made it really uncomfortable for my wife.

Not going to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Ch0gi ,
Thank you for your trust.
We are sorry that you did not like the neighbourhood of our hotel and that you felt incomfortable
The location of our hotel is very handy to discover the area thanks to the train station and the metro.
If you want to give another try to our hotel we will explain to you how to reach the city center with the metro or by car.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    408
    146
    26
    30
See reviews for
183
293
66
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Firstly, the disclaimer - I am in no way associated with any person/company which owns this hotel.

My wife and I chose this hotel because of other favourableTA reviews and the fact we were visiting Marseille by train - the hotel is right next to Gare Marseille St. Charles. On the night we arrived the SNCF train was 45 mins late, so we checked-in late, after 9.45pm. Joy of joys, the reception person spoke English and explained how to use our room key to access the lift, and how to access the internet. While the hotel has no restaurant, she explained that they do offer a 24 hour "snack" service for people like us who arrive late and who don't want to venture out because it's raining outside!

Our room on the 8th floor was clean and modern - we liked the handrails in the shower, and the faint blue light we could leave on so we could find out way to the loo in the night. (We're not young anymore.) There were also indivdual low power reading lamps on the bed so that if you wanted to read, the lamp's glare would not keep your partner awake. The bed was equipped with firm/soft pillows so you could exercise your preference for a good night's sleep!

The internet speed was terrific and we clocked 48Mb/s in our 8th floor room, and yes (!) there was a kettle in the room where you could make yourself a tea or coffee - this was a real bonus. ARE YOU LISTENING FRANCE?

Breakfast was included in our tariff and was the normal French cold collation/carbohydrate affair. But being fair, there was a good choice of meats and cheeses and yoghurts, and the serving staff were always on hand if the fruit salad or anything else required replenishment.

A last word about the staff. The housemaids, staff at reception, the bar, and breakfast - all proved to be really helpful and very pleasant. Reception staff (and we spoke to at least 4 different persons) were also able to speak good English. This hotel is a gem. If we were ever to visit Marseille again - we would stay here. Marvellous, 5 stars!

Room Tip: Being a new-ish hotel, all the rooms are "good" rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear OnceBittenMelbourne,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We are happy to learn that our hotel and our services met your demand.
Our guest satisfaction is our priority.
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Located across the street from Gare Saint Charles (the main train station from which you can go almost anywhere in France or the rest of Europe), several car rental agencies and with fairly fast access to a main highway, this Holiday Inn Express obviously adheres to the chain's boast about being ideal for serious travelers. That said, the location is still within walking distant of many of the great sites and features of Marseille, although hilly Marseille is not for the faint of heart. Walking down to the old port from Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles is real easy because it's all down hill, but walking home at night uphill through the slightly seedy area which surrounds the hotel is a small chore. Taxis abound, so no worries. The rooms are clean, with truly wonderful views in all directions. This very modern Holiday Inn Express has double-glazed/sealed window units so traffic and street noise is almost non-existent in the rooms. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and have all the usual Holiday Inn Express features - iron, ironing board, plenty of hangers, pant/skirt hangers, toiletries, etc., etc. No drawers - only rather shallow handing space with some lower shelves in the wall unit. My room faced southeast, so I had a view of the old port, sunrise and part of the sunset - very nice. Hotel staff were very personable and very helpful. The lifts are surprisingly large for a European hotel - but this Holiday Inn Express is a new building, not a repurposed older building, so it makes sense. The hotel restaurant for breakfast is perfectly decent, but there is no fresh coffee - only a push-button, multi-selection, self-serve coffee machine which spits out awful stuff. It's the only downer in an otherwise great value. Wired Internet access was included in my room rate, but the speed is only moderate. Still, bring a short ethernet cable with you because access, while only moderate speed, seem quite reliable.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the old port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agitater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Agitater,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your detailed review about our hotel, its location and its range of services.
Regarding the coffee, we take good note of your comment and we will do our best to improve this service.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Stephanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in late October. Honestly, I originally booked this because it was across from the train station, and I didn't think I was going to like Marseille, so I would be taking day trips to Aix-en Provence and Arles, and this was across the street from the train station. As it turns out, I ended up loving Marseille and I had a good experience with this hotel. Check in was great, the staff were always very friendly, free wifi, good breakfast, clean rooms, great bathroom. Only one suggestion, maybe an in-room safe, they seem to have the space for a small electronic safe in the room. Is the area around the train station sketchy? Yes, of course, we all know areas around the train stations are not the best. That said, I never felt any type of danger or even remotely feared for my safety. On the contrary, I found the people of Marseille to be extremely friendly. However, I was travelling as a single man, I do appreciate that others may not be quite as comfortable in this area. I can't tell you how nice it was to only have to walk across the street with my 2 pieces of luggage to catch the train back to Nice. The walk to the Vieux Port area was also probably only 10-15 minutes, which is likely where most of the tourists would spend their time. Overall, really good experience here and I appreciate the helpfulness and service of the staff.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room that doesn't face the train station. I could definitely hear the noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear leclerc ,
Thank you for your trust and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are satsisfied to learn that you enjoyed our hotel, its location and its range of services.
Regarding the in -room safe boxes, we will set them up before the end of the year. At the moment, they are available at the reception.
Regards,
Stephanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a sea view room and were not disappointed. We were able to look out over the city, and at night it was breathtaking. The staff at this hotel was professional and courteous. Its location was a little bit further from the Vieux Port than we thought, but it really wasn’t a problem. I was nursing a sprained ankle and was still able to walk to many sites. We’d stay here again because it was so pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Fran0812 ,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are satisfied to learn that you enjoyed our sea view and all our services.
We hope to have the great opprtunity to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN ,Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We received good, pleasant service from all hotel staff. Our room was on a high floor with a sea view and was clean and pleasant. We enjoyed the fact that we had a kettle and tea making supplies - not always providided in European hotels.
We enjoyed a good continental breakfast.
There are a number of small restaurants close by and we had an excellent meal at the place opposite the steps to the station.
Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy using the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear M-and-H10,
Thank you for your stay with us and for your nice review.
We are very happy to hear that you liked our hotel and its location.
This is true that the hotel is right in front of the airport shuttle, of the train station and at 10 minutes by walk from the city center.
Do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay in Marseille.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Despite being a bit "out of it" it was a clean value for money hotel with a great breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rawSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear rawSurrey,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our hotel.
Regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing