We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect layover, lovely people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to Provence. We arrived via airport shuttle to Gare de Saint Charles and it was literally on the doorstep of the hotel. Reception clerks were English speaking and cheerfully answered all our questions. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean with tea making facilities which is not the norm for European hotels. The vieux port is a short walk way. Continental breakfast was excellent and could be taken on patio.
The next morning we set off to visit Notre Dame Du Gard and got hopelessly lost in a non touristy part of the city. Amazingly, our dilemma was noticed by first an old man who didn't speak english but tried to assist by way of gesticulations,etc, then later, a young passing couple engaged in an intense discussion how best to direct us. During our short stay, these small kindnesses kept happening.
Yes, Marseilles is a gritty, non glamorous city, but the friendliness of the locals blew us away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boomer-Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Boomer-Nurse,
Thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are satisfied to learn that we spent a great time and that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our nice city.
Best regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 852 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Agree with other reviewers, location is extremely convenient for both the TGV and airport shuttle which is called a 'navette'. From the railway station, it's just a walk down the escalators and across the road. Liked the ramp for luggage at the hotel entrance.
Area: Quite a few down and outs in this area so we were sure not to eat out late. Not far from the main street in Marseilles and harbour. Good walking distance to restaurants (about 10 mins in low heels).
Things to watch out for at the hotel: 1. The hotel website says that it has an airport shutte. It doesn't. You have to go into the station, find the 'caisse' and pay 8.50 euros. The airport shuttle is sort of opposite McDonalds and not at all signposted (which is normal for French railway stations). You may have to ask if you can't find it. Buses leave every 20 mins. 2. Our room and bathroom was FULL of mosquitoes which ruined an entire night's sleep. We didn't understand this because the room had air conditioning and in hotels of this type, the cleaners don't need to open the windows. 3. The bed in our room was a drop down (from the wall) and the sharp edge of the bed was painful to both shins and ankles . Poor design for a small narrow room like ours. 4. The front desk was reluctant to deliver a single extra towel which they shouldn't have been as you are entitled to ask for extra towels. 5. If you're a backpacker, the breakfast is above average. If you're a 4 or 5 star traveller, it's pretty average and the coffee is the most dreadful I've ever tasted. I live in France and. believe me, I've tasted lots of terrible coffee. Avoid the fruit juice and stick to tea is our advice.

Our overall opinion was: A great place to stay for an onward journey. Basic/good value for a city and above the normal French standard of hygiene. Unfortunately, the nice pillows were completely negated by the sheer number of mosquitoes in the room and bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, we had one of a brick wall/dump, but we were out most of the time
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubaijournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Dubaijournal,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations.
First of all, regarding the mosquitoes, be sure that we will do our best to resolve this issue.
Then, we are sorry if you did not appreciate our beds and if you did not get the extra towels requested.
We take good note of every single comment that you have made to improve our services.
Regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very nice hotel, just opposite the train station, though it is quiet, and a short walk to the harbour through little streets that had lots of atmosphere. Nice, clean and air conditioned, very friendly staff and a little bar where you can take your drinks outside to a veranda area, which is great after a long trip. Breakfast was included which was great, the usual lovely continental thing of nice breads, juice, hams and cheeses,cereal etc. The room was clean and nice with tea and coffee which is always a must after a long hot journey. Marseille is lovely and take the little tourist train which gets you acclimatised to where everything is and takes you up to the lovely Basilica. Walk through the local market for atmosphere and ambiance, busy but great to feel the ambiance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear LIZ C,
Thank you very much for your trust
We are happy to learn that you spent a great stay with us and that you liked Marseille.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Hotel is opposite rail station and Metro. It offers a comp buffet breakfast-not great, but not bad. Beds were extremely hard. Rooms good size for Europe, and they were clean. Staff not to fluent in English, but pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Nancy M,
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We take good note of your comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again ver soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is located right next to the central railway station, making it great for a one or two night stopover while travelling, but it is not very handy for the rest of the city. Our 'Sea view' room didn't actually have much of a sea view, but at least we had a nice view of the rest of the city.

There are very few restaurants or decent places to eat (that we found) in the area. The surrounding district also appears a bit dodgy.

The hotel is by no means a bad choice, but I'd perhaps recommending staying in a more central location if you came to see the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear HandMBrisbane,
Thank you for your complete review.
We are sorry to find out that your seav view bedroom did not meet your demand. Did you ask the reception for another bedroom?
Regarding our location, this is true that the hotel is very handy if you travel by train. But the city center as well is very easy to reach by metro : 2 stops, 5 minutes or by walk: 10 minutes.
In the city center, there are a lot of great restaurants. Next time, you come to Marseille, if you decide to stay in our hotel, do not hesitate to ask the reception for the right itinerary to go downtown and to find a nice restaurant. Moreover, we provide a 24 hour light meal service.This is not a restaurant, but if you do not want to go out, this is another option to spend a great night on our nice terrace.
Best Regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is right across from the Train station . The hotel included breakfast that was good. The rooms are clean and simple. Though it is right in the busy city , with the windows shut you don't hear much. Service was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Nicky4477,
Thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our hotel.
We do hope to welcome you again very soon,
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Short stay in this hotel due to late arrival at night, but frank at the reception contributed to make it simple, quick and easy. The room was confortable and quiet.
My departure was very early, and once a again frank helped me to get a cab for the airport. I will recommend that hotel to my friends

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashimbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear ashimbay,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are happy to learn that you spent a great time with us and that Franck welcomed you very well.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $88 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing