We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for onward travel by rail or air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location for onward travel by rail or air”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Agree with other reviewers, location is extremely convenient for both the TGV and airport shuttle which is called a 'navette'. From the railway station, it's just a walk down the escalators and across the road. Liked the ramp for luggage at the hotel entrance.
Area: Quite a few down and outs in this area so we were sure not to eat out late. Not far from the main street in Marseilles and harbour. Good walking distance to restaurants (about 10 mins in low heels).
Things to watch out for at the hotel: 1. The hotel website says that it has an airport shutte. It doesn't. You have to go into the station, find the 'caisse' and pay 8.50 euros. The airport shuttle is sort of opposite McDonalds and not at all signposted (which is normal for French railway stations). You may have to ask if you can't find it. Buses leave every 20 mins. 2. Our room and bathroom was FULL of mosquitoes which ruined an entire night's sleep. We didn't understand this because the room had air conditioning and in hotels of this type, the cleaners don't need to open the windows. 3. The bed in our room was a drop down (from the wall) and the sharp edge of the bed was painful to both shins and ankles . Poor design for a small narrow room like ours. 4. The front desk was reluctant to deliver a single extra towel which they shouldn't have been as you are entitled to ask for extra towels. 5. If you're a backpacker, the breakfast is above average. If you're a 4 or 5 star traveller, it's pretty average and the coffee is the most dreadful I've ever tasted. I live in France and. believe me, I've tasted lots of terrible coffee. Avoid the fruit juice and stick to tea is our advice.

Our overall opinion was: A great place to stay for an onward journey. Basic/good value for a city and above the normal French standard of hygiene. Unfortunately, the nice pillows were completely negated by the sheer number of mosquitoes in the room and bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, we had one of a brick wall/dump, but we were out most of the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaijournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Dubaijournal,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations.
First of all, regarding the mosquitoes, be sure that we will do our best to resolve this issue.
Then, we are sorry if you did not appreciate our beds and if you did not get the extra towels requested.
We take good note of every single comment that you have made to improve our services.
Regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    404
    142
    26
    29
See reviews for
179
290
65
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very nice hotel, just opposite the train station, though it is quiet, and a short walk to the harbour through little streets that had lots of atmosphere. Nice, clean and air conditioned, very friendly staff and a little bar where you can take your drinks outside to a veranda area, which is great after a long trip. Breakfast was included which was great, the usual lovely continental thing of nice breads, juice, hams and cheeses,cereal etc. The room was clean and nice with tea and coffee which is always a must after a long hot journey. Marseille is lovely and take the little tourist train which gets you acclimatised to where everything is and takes you up to the lovely Basilica. Walk through the local market for atmosphere and ambiance, busy but great to feel the ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear LIZ C,
Thank you very much for your trust
We are happy to learn that you spent a great stay with us and that you liked Marseille.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Hotel is opposite rail station and Metro. It offers a comp buffet breakfast-not great, but not bad. Beds were extremely hard. Rooms good size for Europe, and they were clean. Staff not to fluent in English, but pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Nancy M,
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to share your experience with us.
We take good note of your comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again ver soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is located right next to the central railway station, making it great for a one or two night stopover while travelling, but it is not very handy for the rest of the city. Our 'Sea view' room didn't actually have much of a sea view, but at least we had a nice view of the rest of the city.

There are very few restaurants or decent places to eat (that we found) in the area. The surrounding district also appears a bit dodgy.

The hotel is by no means a bad choice, but I'd perhaps recommending staying in a more central location if you came to see the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear HandMBrisbane,
Thank you for your complete review.
We are sorry to find out that your seav view bedroom did not meet your demand. Did you ask the reception for another bedroom?
Regarding our location, this is true that the hotel is very handy if you travel by train. But the city center as well is very easy to reach by metro : 2 stops, 5 minutes or by walk: 10 minutes.
In the city center, there are a lot of great restaurants. Next time, you come to Marseille, if you decide to stay in our hotel, do not hesitate to ask the reception for the right itinerary to go downtown and to find a nice restaurant. Moreover, we provide a 24 hour light meal service.This is not a restaurant, but if you do not want to go out, this is another option to spend a great night on our nice terrace.
Best Regards, Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is right across from the Train station . The hotel included breakfast that was good. The rooms are clean and simple. Though it is right in the busy city , with the windows shut you don't hear much. Service was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Nicky4477,
Thank you for your recent stay with us.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our hotel.
We do hope to welcome you again very soon,
Best Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Short stay in this hotel due to late arrival at night, but frank at the reception contributed to make it simple, quick and easy. The room was confortable and quiet.
My departure was very early, and once a again frank helped me to get a cab for the airport. I will recommend that hotel to my friends

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashimbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephaniemerlin, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear ashimbay,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are happy to learn that you spent a great time with us and that Franck welcomed you very well.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards,
Stéphanie MERLIN, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

After good reviews on TA decided to stay here with friends.

Hotel: Very new and spotless. Cool terrasse.

Rooms: Average hotel room. Beds were ok, not the most comfortable ones. No decent closet for your clothes, nor a fridge or in-room safe. Bathroom amenities are only available on request.

Location: Very convenient, across the main trainstation Saint-Charles. It's a 15min walk downhill to the Vieux Port. It's not the safest or cleanest neighbourhood, as we saw a lot of rats and garbage on the street, but maybe that's just Marseille. Wouldn't recommend this hotel for families!

Breakfast: was a real issue. The breakfast area is too small and not enough food is laid out. People are actually waiting for the bread to come out of the kitchen and then almost fight over it. Saw a lot of frustrated people. Forget a decent cup of coffee as all the hot drinks are suspended by 2 machines, where an actual line of people formed every morning. Other than that, the assortment consisted of bread, cheese, meats, cereals, lukewarm milk, fruit from a can, no warm food. The tray system for your plate and cutleries should be abolished. It takes up too much space when sitting down at a table.
Made a complaint at check out about the breakfast, and got a lame excuse from the front desk that there was a big group that morning who ate a lot.

Wifi internet: is complimentary, while a sign in the room said it was EUR 4.95 for 24 hours. Very confusing. Not a stable connection at all. I literally had to be close to the door to have a connection. Lost the wifi when trying to sit down on my bed.

Marseille is a beautiful city, but would not come back to his hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioNesiaNSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#20 of 131 in Marseille
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Address: 15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing