We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, poor, service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Marseille Vieux Port
Ranked #53 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My friend and I booked a studio with twin bed and we end up being served sofa bed room. We complained about this arrangement and the receptionist lady kept saying there is nothing they can do about this.
Today, which is the 2nd night of stay, they finally changed our room to twin bed room, but it was lack of towel and kitchen utensils. We called the housekeeping but the reception lady kept saying they cannot do anything with them AGAIN. We bought nice wine to enjoy over dinner, but we could not cook our dinner nor enjoy the wine.
There was no point of booking this apartment with no use of kitchen and there is no service mindset of staffs here. They don't simply feel sorry for this poor service and how they greet you is so dry.
My friend was billed twice for the room but she could not get any refund of duplicated payment from her credit card company. So we requested the ref details of cancellation to the mgmt of this apartment last night. So far, no update is given. I am still staying in this apartment, and I wonder if they will even care until I check out the day after tmrw.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Directeur général at Adagio Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am truly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Of course I'm aware about your double payment problem and, on May 13th, I asked our account service the evidence for the refund which has been made on your credit card on April the 14th 2014. I send it to you directly attached to the present email.
Concerning your apartment equipment, unfortunately, we cannot satisfy all of our guests' preferences 'cause most of our apartments, following Aparthotel Adagio's standards, are equipped with a sofa-bed.
Please accept my apologies concerning kitchen and bathroom equipment. All of our kitchens are equipped to cook throughout the stay. I'm sorry about this lack and about the considerable inconvenient that you suffered and that we haven't be able to fix immediately.
All of our bathrooms are equipped with bath towels and towels (1 per person). For all practical purposes, we have available at the Front Desk.
I am committed to the total satisfaction of my clients and I already implemented an action plan with the teams on the floors, so that this event remains isolated.
Best Regards
Sophie GALLON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 514 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night April 16th as a short layover in between Paris and Nice. It was conveniently located close to the train station (8€) and it was a short walk to the main street Rue de la Republique where there are many shops leading to Vieux Port.

The 1 bedroom apartment was perfect for our group of 4. The sofa bed in the living room was comfortable. The furnishings were modern and the room was very clean. We had no issues storing our luggage with the hotel when we got there early before our room was ready and didn't leave until much later than check-out. The staff were helpful and recommended good restaurants to us.

The only downside of this place is the location & distance to the city centre, especially for walking at night after hours. In the dark, the long quiet streets in the neighbourhood didn't feel 100% safe. The building directly across from us had weird displays of bloody hands and arms sticking out of the windows. We weren't sure if it was art? Our windows also had pretty secure metal shutters, which was interesting.

There was a Monoprix around the corner to pick up food and snacks. This was great since there was a kitchenette in our room as well.

Overall, this offered great value. For a one night stay, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked this without knowing much about it but were really pleasantly surprised when we got there. The reception area was clean and spacious with a friendly girl on the desk. The apartment was spacious with a great little kitchen, it was fitted out with a double hob, microwave, kettle, dishwasher and fridge, fine for breakfast and basic meals and given the restaurant prices in the area it was good to eat in a couple of times. Generally, the hotel was quiet apart from a couple of occasions when people in the courtyard below were talking loudly late at night. However, an authoritative "Shhh!" followed by "merci" seemed to do the trick. This hotel provided a perfect base for our stay, being a ten minute walk to the Old Port. There was also a designated indoor car park just over the main road (Rue de la Republique) at extra cost. All in all, very pleased with this hotel and I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saint_Ignatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Only one reproach to do: the staff, very nice by the way, was not able to help with tourist information (in particular public transports - except for "where to get information about public transports" or nearby restaurants). Otherwise great place: close to Vieux Port (about 10 minutes walk), bus and tram stations next door (subway stations a bit further though). We've had a double room: the kitchen part is small but very functional compared to other apartment-hotels I've stayed at; the bed is very comfortable. Clean and quite recent. Our windows gave to the court so the room was very calm, but the street should not be noisy either as the traffic is quite low.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emformail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Manager at Adagio Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

dear madam, dear sir,
thank you very much for your comment that was very helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Adagio Marseille Vieux Port.
Sophie Gallon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

An apartment hotel with everything you need to stay independent of restaurant eating every day. 10 minutes max to the heart of the old port and right next to the Le Panier old District. Supermarket just outside. Only thing we would have liked that was missing was a toaster. Thoroughly appreciated for 75 euros a night

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SpiderOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel was an unexpected surprise. An apart hotel with cozy rooms full of everything you need to liveon your own cookers, sink, dishwasher, of course beds and television.
Few disappointments in reality as the cleallness was not sterling and the place is not exactly central, 15+ minutes are need to reach the old port.

The kitchen proved to be extremely functional and efficient since we used to cook the excellent fresh fish that we used to buy at the daily fish Market.

WIFI is available but I some initial problems as my laptop was not properly set-up then it worked flawlessly.

Staff is also to be commended always nice and ready to help.

Worth booking if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night only. I had a small studio in ground floor with nice terrace in front.
Room was clean and tidy and comfortable enough for one night stay.There was a small kitchen included. Bathroom was also clean.
Wi-Fi internet was terrible and almost impossible to use.
Breakfast was basic.
Hotel is situated in walking distance from Vieux Port. The surrounding area was quite dirty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.3 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Vieux Port
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
#36 of 131 in Marseille
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
0.3 mi away
Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Marseille Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 30 rue Jean Trinquet, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#28 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Marseille Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adagio Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Marseille Republique Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing